About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 10 hours, 21 minutes, 11 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 10 hours, 33 minutes, 11 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 11 hours, 21 minutes, 11 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Fallen Outside - DDDBOMBER - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play a character from a video game who has somehow fallen into a different and confusing world. You must travel through the world in order to find your way back home. Collecting the hidden potatoes and visiting simplistic realms along the way.

    NOTE: I didn't really explain it in the game it self, but the portals between levels on the map are mini-games too

    EDIT: Fixed music not stopping when you close web version, fixed bug showing a mysterious level 17

    View DDDBOMBER's journal. | View all entries by DDDBOMBER

    Ratings

    Coolness92%
    #190Fun3.45
    #279Graphics3.47
    #344Overall3.39
    #492Audio2.80
    #557Humor2.22
    #626Mood2.80
    #1162Innovation2.18
    #1277Theme2.49

    Comments

    Parabol says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

    Interesting, has a slow-mo meatboy feeling to it. One problem I did encounter when playing the web version, was that the music kept playing when I closed the browser tab.

    frr171 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

    The controls are amazingly tight and accurate, and graphics are pretty good too. Keep up the good work!

    Broxxar says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

    Pretty neat little pixel art platformer. It was frustrating that when you're on the ground but touching a wall you do a wall jump instead of a normal jump, especially since many levels start you in that position so hitting jump instantly throws you into a green ball.

    spiral says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

    Music still playing!
    Fun tho. Well done.

    Zillix says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

    nicely done. great stripped-down meatboy gameplay. I occasionally felt like the wall-jump mechanic was working against me, where'd I'd stick to it unintentionally, resulting in me jumping off horizontally when I intended to jump vertically

    Alec Von Arx says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

    Web Version: Controls are very unresponsive(?)/confusing... Could not get past level 2 because I could not control the character with left/right/space.

    gregdevice says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

    Like the music! A little sluggish to control. Nice concept!

    karsyf says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

    I really liked this! Lot of fun and good gameplay, the animating feet were a really nice touch. One bug(?) if your character is on the floor AND next to a wall, youll wall jump sometimes rather than jumping straight up, which is what I would have expected. That one caught me a few times.

    avidgamerNino says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

    love the art, love the music, that jump I think could have been made better.

    aeveis says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

    Yeah the music kept playing when I closed the tab, I had to end process for chrome. Controls were a bit floaty but it did remind me of Super Meatboy with the walling jumping and platforming.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

    The player motion felt a little too floaty, but that might be personal preference. The graphics were nice, I thought it was gonna be easy but the level progression in difficulty was good. Also, POTATO.

    Misael.K says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

    At first, I didn't like the graphics nor the music. After a while, I got used to them. The repetitive music has a "don't stop going forward" feel to it, and the graphics are easy to understand (maybe the pastel-colored palette needs a bit of a tweak).
    The levels are not easy, but they are not too hard either, and the controls work great (except when trying to jump up next to a wall).
    Also, the game stopped responding (hang) after level 17. I assumed there were no more after 16. :P
    All in all, good job.

    raincole says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

    It's a good game, but the web version's control is crappy...

    Magnus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

    Pretty simple, but I wouldn't call it minimalist. Fun gameplay though.

    Orni says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

    this was the first game I played and it's already awesome

    as someone who has played super meatboy a lot I can see where your inspiration is from - however, that also means that I was kind of bored for the first half of it. the later levels are great though.

    I love the fact that you implemented so many different level object features and the excellent controls

    very well done !

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

    Reminds m of super meat boy (which I love) and the potatoes are a great incentive to immerse yourself a lil' more.

    VDOgamez says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

    This is very reminiscent of meat boy, although a lot floatier than I'd like in the controls. Especially when you're touching a wall and you don't want to be hugging it. I also felt like the walls that shoot blobs at you were a bit too unpredictable to avoid well. The mini games in between levels were a nice touch to break up the game, although the tron one seems to be bugged a bit in its AI. You've really made a lot of game in this short a time, I'm impressed. One thing of note is that when you beat level 16 the game gives you a button to go to level 17. I pressed it, hoping for secrets, but it just crashes the game. Also, when you've beaten all the levels and collected all the potatoes, it doesn't seem to say that you have 100% completion. It just says something like 91%. Nice job.

    Mekuri says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

    This was a very good game, I enjoyed it fully. I even played the minigames between missions, sadly though the game bugged on one of the later mini games - The game I assume you go snake vs snake- I went off screen, and the AI worm, stopped moving, and nothing happened from there on. Apart from that, this game was really great! Good job.

    thristhart says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

    My first idea for this theme was a collection of simplistic minigames all using boxes for the art. I told myself I didn't have enough time for the scope I wanted, though - glad to see I was wrong! Not only that, you built friggin' Meat Boy around it! Well done!

    Tiny annoyances: the music would eventually get very... "clangy"? towards the part that I assume is the end of the loop. When I first heard it I assumed it was my computer freezing, the way it repeated dissonant sounds.

    Still, high marks from me! Excellent note for me to end the night on. However: I would like you to punch yourself in whatever part of your body you feel is most responsible for the double fireballs. Screw those.

    Suese says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

    The music would have been sweet with some drums in it, like it sounds like grunge music to me. You have a good eye for colour and line styles. Keep at it.

    kyyninen says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

    I liked the minigames best! Personally I'd prefer if game had featured frequent checkpointing as seen in VVVVVV, later levels caused me to rage quit. Then again, I never finished Super Meat Boy for similar reasons.

    johnste says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

    Great game, very frustrating and Super Meat Boy-esque. Collected all potatoes but the game froze when I started the last (secret?) level 17. :(

    The music gets a bit repetitive. I like the controls and the general platforming, except for accidental wall jumps.

    Brian Corr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

    This game is fun. I think the controls need to be tweaked - more acceleration on the ground.

    great look and good levels, imo.

    gmaker says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

    web applet does't work(

    Jerm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

    I really enjoyed this game. Fun and not too difficult.

    The controls were a bit sluggish and I also had the sideways jumping thing when you were standing next to a wall which was a bit annoying.

    Also for some reason the game didn't seem to fit together very well. The main character seemed to be some walking office printer and the game world felt very generic and uninteresting and the music didn't really fit the game. Personally, I think I would have preferred if you had spent time making a story for the main game instead of making the minigames.

    The levels were good and thank you for making the player have unlimited lives. I would have hated this game if there were limited lives :) I played as far as I could get (16 levels, 9 minigames and got all 12 potatoes), but when I went to play level 17, it crashed with: Exception in thread "Thread-5" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 16 at com.dylan.ld26.menu.LevelSelectMenu.playButton(LevelSelectMenu.java:141)

    LrdKzrth says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07am

    I really like this!

    martijn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

    Awesome game, reminded me of super meat boy. love the mini-games. Got stuck on the tron minigame, then lost my progress

    Selliato says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

    Music still playing !

    Nice game, a super-meat-boy-like with a oven-shaped character ^^

    manabreak says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

    Super Meat Boy, anyone? :D

    josefnpat says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

    Very nice! Very reminiscent of super meat boy!

    rujo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

    nice one and cool graphics!

    hughsk says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    Nice game :) I did feel the movement was a bit difficult though.

    AngelDE98 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    It looks like it's one of my favourite platformers (yet).

    BTW, for me, the music sounds like if composed and played in LittleBigPlanet2 and then recorded via a low-quality microphone.

    JaJ says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

    Great! The walljumping is bit easily abused. In level 5 I got to the top left potato a lot easier than it seemed intended. The music can get a bit annoying, especially the part with the chords.

    kewry says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

    The game looks really nice and the music is pretty cool.
    However it doesn't fit my skill set so it's impossible for me to get past level 3

    mortus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    I liked portals the most.
    And music still don't stop when you close the game.

    Mythalore says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Nice collection of gameplay with a good variety of minigames, well done.

    Drabiter says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

    Nice jump concept, although it's quite hard to learn.

    bobiniki says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    The game didn't run. Here is the error it gave me.
    Java Plug-in 10.17.2.02
    Using JRE version 1.7.0_17-b02 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
    User home directory = C:\Users\Viktor
    ----------------------------------------------------
    c: clear console window
    f: finalize objects on finalization queue
    g: garbage collect
    h: display this help message
    l: dump classloader list
    m: print memory usage
    o: trigger logging
    q: hide console
    r: reload policy configuration
    s: dump system and deployment properties
    t: dump thread list
    v: dump thread stack
    x: clear classloader cache
    0-5: set trace level to <n>
    ----------------------------------------------------

    NuSan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

    Great game that push you to finish him ! But i havent yep because it's not that easy ! One portal was unbeatable, i could only fire at straight angle while enemies comes from angles ^^

    MinionStudios says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    Great game! It is similar to other wall-bounce platformers, but I liked it a lot

    multitude says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    This was done pretty well. loved to play it. but kind of like super meatboy

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:45pm

    Really cool, the wall jumping is nice and smooth and fun to play around with. Some cool level design but the ending levels were a bit harsh. Other than that really well made!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]