April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Ruins

by TiDitto - Jam Entry

----DO NOT PLAY LEVEL 8 AND 9 AS THEY ARE APPARENTLY NOT FUN----

Left and Right Arrows to move
Up to fly
---------PRESS ENTER TO "SKIP" THE LEVEL. DO IT. JUST DO IT.----------

Music: garageloops.bandcamp.com
Game Maker: www.yoyogames.com
Twitter: @tiditto
Credits:
Thanks to @slushy_ for his support
Thanks to /u/Axelhein for the publishing to pc
Thanks to YOU for playing my first game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#219Humor(Jam)2.35
#228Theme(Jam)3.39
#305Audio(Jam)2.79
#338Mood(Jam)2.73
#418Graphics(Jam)2.68
#459Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

I love it, simple yet challenging.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Can you give out some compiled version?

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

@superlevelsebastion sorry, only have the lite version so... no can do.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

The lite version of gamemaker can compile games. What version are you using?

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@Axelhein mac gm7 i think, it literally says that the ability to publish games is not available to lite version

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Ok. I have 8.0 lite for windows. I can upload a compiled version for windows if you want one.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

yep load up plz

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

couldn't play. no gm

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Ok. Here is a build for windows.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28886348/RocketRuins.exe

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Decent game. Next steps would be enemies and jet packs, but i like the idea

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Is there anything to differ real walls/spikes from fake ones? I found it kind of annoying having to try which is false...

Other than that, nice game.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Thanks Axelhein for the windows build, wouldn't have been able to play otherwise.

]I enjoyed it up until the "final boss" room, then it was just trial and error of guessing which pit wouldn't kill me. Nothing fun in that. :(

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I like the core mechanic. The decision to kill most of your momentum makes it a lot more controllable than most "lunar lander" style games.

The "faux blocks" mechanic isn't really fun though. The final level is literally about guessing. and the exit was in the absolute most annoying possible place too.

There just isn't any skill to guessing what blocks will be real or not.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Played Axelhein's windows build. Enjoyed it enough, but you lost me at the fake spike/wall levels. Found the per-pixel collision detection funny, hanging on walls by my head. Final level ended with a potato stuck in the D, I probably collected 10 of them :)

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Thank you so much Axelhein! HERO

TiDitto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Eh, come on guys, first game, but maybe will change faux blocks after LD, my whole purpose for those was that you were supposed to guess which one was real since the level was so small. And the Head thing was gonna be an idea, but ran out of time... Anyone want to make a mac/linux copy for me? :D credits will include you (crappy incentive)

Dax says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I quit at the level where you can't reach the exit at the top right of the screen. The game was fun until invisible passages and fake spikes appered.

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16am

Solid controls, puzzles were tough but not impossible, and there were lots of tasty potatoes.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

You weren't kidding about level 9

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

I was prepared to give the game a graphics score of 1 but the graphics were actually great!

Everybody else has said it before, but the whole fake spikes/walls was annoying. Still, fun little game.

TiDitto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

Please read the top before commenting on level 9-10.
thanks guys!

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I like the overall feel of the game. :) Not gonna lie, the screenshot provided gave me bad expectations for this. The actual game was fun, though!

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Lot of good gameplay/plateform fun idea.

But simple ? I think it's very hard for me (I have lost at lvl8 : faux wall, how many level have you did ?)


PS : (few colision bugs...as always with gmk)

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

Simple, not very original, but very fun.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I did it without skipping any levels MUHAHAH

potatoes!

TiDitto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:50pm

@saggiosoft i know what you mean, pretty much every platformer is the same...

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Lots of fun! Need to stop playing now, so I can rate some other games... but I can't :P

Beldarak says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:26am

Nice game. I found it less frustrating than other games like that. Definitely a good thing ;)

Mesene says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Nice entry :)

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Simple rules for a challenging game. well done!

paulopn says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Challenging game, I like it! Too short, though.

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:58am

Made it through to the end. I think I got lucky on the last room as I went straight into the correct pit on my first go :) Only thing I'd suggest is putting some slide into the collision detection as you get stuck on blocks too easily.

May 19, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I enjoyed level 8 and 9 great game :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]