April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Jellyfish

by [-BipolarDesign+] - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game you play as the magnificent Space Jellyfish, and soar across the vast unexplored sea of the universe.

Theme:
1) Minimal control scheme (mouse only)
2) Minimal graphics
3) Minimal gameplay elements
4) Minimal time spent coding (I guess that's pushing it)
4) MAXIMUM FUN (oops, my bad...)

Gameplay:
- Click and drag the mouse to move
- Eat green JellyMeal[tm] Pods
- Don't touch Mines or Robo-Cyclops
- Lure Robo-Cyclops into Mines

Your performance and choices affect your "title," which is displayed under your score after you die.

Post your Title and best Score after playing! I'd like to see how you all play the game :D

Enjoy!



Note: To download the Source or the EXE, you may need to click File->Download from the Google Drive link (if you do not see the Download box in the center).

5/2: Added alternate download through Mega.

Follow me on Twitter @BipolarMike
:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#65Audio3.70
#94Fun3.64
#162Overall3.65
#219Mood3.33
#327Humor2.61
#370Graphics3.31
#451Innovation3.25
#505Theme3.58

Comments

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very good Audio!

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24am

The best game I've played so far. Maybe the audio just put me in the mood.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Funky :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Well, that was awesome. Really loved the control scheme.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

really tense. loved the weird, random enemy movements. fun kind of push-your-luck feel trying to get close enough to attract the green guys without the diamond guys catching up to you

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58am

That was really fun. A good concept, well implemented.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Wonderful game with a good background music!

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

This game is so cool ! I really love the feeling of the movement, the sound design and the non agressive game concept.
It may lack a little diversity, but it's a very coherent game !

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very nice little game. I thought you did a great job on the animations, controls (multiple control schemes!), and enemy movements in particular. The audio was simple but effective. This isn't exactly a complaint, but I kinda wished the stars were parallaxed in the background. I'm a sucker for a good parallax.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The audio design rocked! It was occasionally hard to find Cyclopses though.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Cool atmosphere :)

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Really like this. Great sounds and minimalist graphics packaged together nicely. Well done! :)

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Thanks everyone!! I'll be back later today to try all of your games :)

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Fun. A bit hard to control, although perfect control would hamper the feeling of this game more than help it. Hectic and out of control were the operative words. The sound design was excellent. I got "kamikaze" each time, but I spent most of my time (once I figured out how) collecting pods of enemies to lead into the mines.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Very Cool

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

AAh I like the setup but it's too hard for me!

Logan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:39am

I love the feedback that the layered audio gives. It really makes a difference.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:44am

Hunter, 510.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Really good audio and controls. One of the better games I've played so far :)

Yoni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

290 Omnivore (Omnomnomnivore?)

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:24am

Not sure what's going on but I can't download it. I keep getting sent to Google Drive.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

mattperrin: There should be a download button in the center of the page? I'll upload an alternate download location anyway... check back in 2 minutes :)

mungoman1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:57am

It was quite fun, I was Kamikazee and omnivore :)

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:04am

The alternative link worked. Really enjoyed playing it and all the little details were nice (trailing effects, jellyfish motion). Great work!

magnpeas says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:19am

I liked speeding around in space!

plash says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

Notes:

- JELLYFISH! OH YES.
- I can make smiley faces!
- The music appears to grow with the jelly's speed? Maybe the loop is just weird.
- I got slaughtered by those robo-cyclops! Score: 220 / 10, 5, 5, 2.
- Another round!
- D'oh! 270/13, 5, 6, 1.
- "That robo-cyclops you blew up? He had a family." Love these.
- I want the space jellyfish to make an adorable space-jellyfish-ey sound when it moves about.
- Ha! Take that you nerfherders!
- Becoming annoyed by the music. 'M' also mutes the sound for the robo-cyclops. Turning back on, I want that feedback.
- Woo! Omnivore! 1260 / 40, 46, 7, 2.
- I like this.
- Going kamikaze just to read more of the hooks on the main menu. "[KILL ALL JELLIES] // End Robo-Cyclops Transmission 456004886335.772".
- If I zip past the map, I can group together a TON of robo-cyclops. I AM A PREDATOR JELLY OF SPACE!

Things I would change:

- Make the 'M' key only mute the music!
- Use a better font for the stats and main menu. The in-game score font is nice.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:52am

SPACE JELLYFISH IS THE GREATEST THING SINCE SPACE AND FISH! ALL 5. LOVED IT. YOU'RE AWESOME. I NEED TO GET BACK TO PLAYING SPACE JELLYFISH NOW!

Apologies for caps. :D
My score/title is 760/Gatherer, but I'll make another post if I get anything significantly higher :P

May 3, 2013 @ 2:02am

Aaahhh, thank you so much ^_^

I've played almost everyone's games who've commented here (anyone I haven't I promise to soon!), so much variety and cool ideas!! I love this community, wish I had started participating earlier than last year <3

naufr4g0 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:16am

Love controls and music! Really good entry. =)

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Absolutely loved the simplicity of everything here from the mechanics (there's a real sense of risk and reward when trying to lure a robo-cyclop or two into a mine) to the graphics. Also,the background music fits the mood of the game quite well.

ramoncb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:00pm

really fun, quite addictive and well polished! good job!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Well, I said I'd post again if I got a higher score :P
Score: 2190
Title: Omnivore
Pods Eaten: 75
Cyclops killed: 86
Cyclops Kamikaze'd: 7
Mines ran into: 3

:D

caranha says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Wow, this is a pretty good game!

It is minimalistic, but quite fun! I like how many little tricks, such as leading the enemies into the mines, there are!

The audio is pretty swell as well!

Thanks for the cool game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:31am

Nice! Space Jellyfish are freakin fast

Gungnir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:39pm

That was a completely awesome experience. Thanks, Space Jellyfish.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:42am

Wonderful! Delightful animations and sprites and great mix between fast-paced searching/running and precise collection.

dannycalleri says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Wooo! I liked it! :) nice particles ;)

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:12am

Kill cyclops ! I'll be the space Jelly-queen !

May 19, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Been working on perfecting the game, here's my progress so far if you are interested:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/18/gameplay-video-of-space-jellyfish/

KEFIR says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I think I found a bug. After death screen I was able to move without draging. Jellyfish just follow my cursor what makes game much easier.
Despite this. Very nice, fun and innovative game! I think this kind of controlls will work perfectly on touch devices.

May 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Oh! You must have chosen Drag the first round and then Click the next round. This is intentional, having multiple control schemes :)

note: Dragging as a control scheme was kind of a failure, but I left it in because, well, meh :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]