April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Schokoffel

by hirsch - Jam Entry

You work in a fictional potato chocolate factory.

Made in 3h, please don't judge bad code.

EDIT: Now the paper will move together with the chocolate
(One missing If; Removed code that crashes the game.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#122Humor(Jam)2.86
#242Innovation(Jam)3.07
#307Theme(Jam)3.17
#462Graphics(Jam)2.48
#463Fun(Jam)2.31
#486Mood(Jam)2.16
#491Overall(Jam)2.50

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Hahaha, I was so confused at first but then I figured it out. Pretty cool. I noticed that when putting it back on the belt, the wrapper doesn't move, but the potchocolato does.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

i like your minimalism sir! ;) cool idea. the paper doesn't go with the schokoffel.

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Original, but not really motivating idea. For a game made in 3 hours it is awesome :)

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I have a mac and thus cannot play.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Minimalism indeed. And quite a nice title. :D

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47pm

very cool, really got into it :)

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I guess this is what it's like to have a job that's a monotonous daily grind.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09pm

hahaha, very nice! ultra minimal. paper gets left behind

BleuLlama says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I feel like I'm actually in a potato-chocolate factory! SO REALISTIC! ;) :D

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I want chocolate now :-(

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I like the idea a lot. Right, it sure is simple but
it can make you think about several things in real life, if happen go down that route.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19am

I shouldn't be able to do the big flaps without doing the small ones :(

I'm curious: what is the blur effect there for?

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Hah! Awesome. And now I want a chocolate bar. =(

TheCze says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:46pm

mmmh lecker Schokoffelade....

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:27pm

HMmm... chocolate! Good art!

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:59am

Notes:

- Partial screen clear on rendering is a bit strange.
- Ah, you have to wrap them by clicking each of the flaps. Schokoffels!
- Highscore: 9, 0.31 money. Tough business.

Things I would change:

- Make it so the potato chocolate moves with the wrapper if at least two of its flaps are down. At times I would accidentally grab the entire wrapper and the potato chocolate would stay where it was on the screen even if 3 flaps were down. It would go right through the wrapper!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:28am

I loved working at the "potato" chocolate factory. This is awesome you may be on to something... speed it up just a bit and add some more chaos and this would be super super awesome.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nice idea! The fading numbers were a bit strange. A higher framerate would have made the controls a lot easier. Gute Arbeit! Bonus auf Humor für leckere "deutsche" Schokolade :P

free_napalm says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I packed 8 in one game, then it felt too repetitive, as I felt there is not much left to improve on my playstyle (I learned that the finished product could just be pushed down the screen, for example).
Add different chocolate types and wrappers (e.g. Weisse Schokoffol) and it could be great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]