April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Energy

by scorder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play an exotic lifeform (the blue one!) made of Energy. Everything is Energy, and only Energy!

Each turn you choose one of the following actions

Exploring.
This costs you 1 unit of Energy, but allows you to see what the world around you is like. You like it because you can start planning how to take over the world.

Expanding.
This costs you 1 unit of Energy, but you can take control of a spot you previously Explored. You will have to fight for it, spending as many units of Energy as there is Energy and Generators on your target.

Generating.
This one feels good. You will generate 1 unit of Energy for each Generator that you activated. Mmm, yummy!

Additionally at the end of a turn, you will have to offset your current actions by either spreading your new Energy across your body or consuming Energy from your body.

The game will continuously hint at what items are currently available.

You and your two enemies will take turns until either you die of a shortage of Energy, or both of your enemies suffer such a sad fate. Fortunately, these two guys are currently very stupid...

This has only been vaguely tested in Firefox...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#231Innovation3.56
#827Audio2.23
#954Overall2.79
#1036Graphics2.39
#1056Humor1.35
#1158Fun2.23
#1188Mood2.04
#1231Theme2.63

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Too complex for my tiny brain.

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Lots of potential, but really hard to figure out. Needs a tutorial to ease you into it.

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

It's very hard to figure out how to play. Some more prompts would help matters. "Click sector to take energy from," etc.

bleating says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I had a little trouble at first until I figured out that you have to click on your own squares to expend/spread energy. Once I figured that out everything else fell into place. A good minimalistic take on exploration/colonization games.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47pm

It's an interesting concept but a tad too complicated to understand. With a few tweaks to perhaps make the concept understandable from the UI alone, so it's implied rather than explained in text what you have to do - it'd be more in keeping with the minimal thing.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

You made an interesting and unique strategy game in three days. My compliments to the chef. You should polish this and try to sell it.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Very entertaining concept. I think it would be better if you can activate generators from your entire empire instead of a single case. It would bring a more strategic case. Actually, if IA plays perfectly, nobody should win.

scorder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Thanks for your remarks, I appreciate :)

I wish I had had more time to work on the UI, to understanding the game better and also to get rid of all those useless clicks...

As usual, it is very hard to balance the different aspects of the game on top of making it. I will have to work on it...

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:39am

Intersesting!
But it's really so hard for me...

pearcev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Maybe some more text on what the heck is going on? I understood it eventually but good god man it took awhile

Milktoast says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:50am

Although it didn't register a win, I'll always know that I conquered the universe! Started out slow, but I eventually steamrolled my enemies. Fun!

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14am

Tough to understand. Once I figured it out, it was fun conquering the world, I'm thankful the AI isn't smart, or else I would never finish.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Agree with some other posters that this needs a simple tutorial, and to be sure that it is working properly.

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very hard to figure out how to play. Did get into a bit but it is a really complicated piece of game, takes a while just to get started in understanding, but still very interesting in term of design.

Ryusui says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Clever concept, but the UI is just too obtuse.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:04pm

A simplified 4X, brilliant. Some of the mechanics need tweaking though.

Generation is OP. You can generate power anywhere on the area and distribute it right into the frontlines. This means I never had to used a 1 point generator and steam rolling was way too easy.

I'd fancy a mechanic for having to transfer energy through the owned tiles. One would have to use the generators closer to the frontline to get reinforcements faster.
This could be automatic via some path finding or manual by setting up the transfer route in before hand.

The exploration could be toned down too. Now multiple tiles can be revealed at the cost of one energy and turn.

It could be an exchange of one energy for one tile once or many times per turn instead.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I understood it eventually. Hard to tell if it would be more interesting playing against a human/smarter computer, but I can see the idea. AI is a crazy thing to try in 48 hours though, so it's understandable.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I have no idea what to do. Too complex. I play it, but do not know what I am actually doing.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:48pm

As others have said, it is very hard to figure out. It would be good to at least explain what the icons mean. The game however is fun and interesting. A very minimalistic strategy game that works very well and I took over the universe (I was expecting the game to tell me that, though! :P)

Congrats on making a game for the compo!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]