April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SpeedJumper !

by Nakato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is an AutoRun game.

You control a small square which must reach the exit of some levels within a certain time.

To do this, you can only use the space key to jump and accelerate a little the velocity of the character.

Some blocs up your speed, some other blocs slow down your speed.
You should be able to play with them to achieve level more quickly.

On this pretty basic gameplay, I found interesting to add various effects to enhance immersion. Thus, speed boost colors and gradually apply a blur effect on the level.

I built some level of testing for this participation. Maybe I'll add more levels in the in the future if I decide to continue a bit after this weekend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#459Graphics3.17
#839Humor1.86
#950Audio1.98
#1097Fun2.33
#1120Overall2.58
#1135Theme2.83
#1156Mood2.15
#1157Innovation2.19

Comments

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Very good and very frusterating game

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

doesnt work on my os. could you port it to ms-dos 6.40? :(

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

Couldn't run on my machine, as my graphics card does not support XNA HiDef profile =[

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

First of all, using music from other games is against the rules, I believe, and I'm pretty sure this one isn't public domain. The fact that you can't see what's coming makes this very trial and error, which made it a bit frustrating.
I do like the look of the game!

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Thanks for comments.
I will upload a lowDef profil version !

For the music, i'am pretty sure it was a public one. I just have take on from my download folder without check more ... but i think i've downloaded from a public music website for my last game ... i will try to found it ..
Sorry for that :/

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

And for the view part, it's a part of the gameplay, you have to retry again and again to discover what's happen next ... and anticipate it in the next try

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

A lil' bit hard and the music was stolen from megaman,one of Nintendo's games..

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00am

Ok .. I have remove it.
it was a mistake, so i don't replace it , and like that, no audio to vote

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice concept, I like the challenge! It can be frustrating though :p.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Really really hard. Like the style though.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Cool game! Exactly the right amount of challange IMO

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I did not have fun playing is game. I can't see what's coming which makes it challenging, but that's because of the way the game was designed. However, you do have some nice graphics, and I do like how there is a trail after the player character when he jumps. Overall, not my type of game, but good graphics.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Be aware that the counter starts as soon as you launch the game! Try to make the view larger next time, because the concept is good !

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Tough game. Love the visual style.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Tough time limits! :D Nice motion blur effect though.

Also sometimes when hitting the ground the game decided that I died

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

AAAAAHHH! It's so frustrating!!! I hate this game!!!

Good job though! ;)

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Thanks for feedback.
Yes there are some collision bugs ...
But they can help too, in level 3, with collision double jump exploit ... it's possible to finish 1sec before the timer !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

The art is really nice; I love that the screen color changes with your speed, really emphasizes how important that stat is. The levels are very difficult, but short so the large number of retries I had didn't bother me. Good job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Could not launch the game.
Using windows 8, tried compability mode, no luck, sorry.

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Pretty frustrating gameplay. It'd be nice if you could control the height of your jump somehow, and introduce some other obstacle-avoiding methods other than perfectly timed jumps.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Man, it's hard, even frustrating I'd say.
Good job on graphics and character trail.
But I died far too often, sometimes for no apparent reason.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

A bit too difficult for my taste but nice concept. Would be better if you could see more.

evoker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I really liked the graphics but I couldn't get past the 1st level at all! Maybe tune the difficulty a bit or allow the player a better view of the blocks in the sky.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10pm

A bit monotone and not rewarding, but very cute and well-designed game. The death screen could contain some more feedback though, like "You can't touch dark blocks"

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

A fun (and very hard) one-button game ! Congratulations !

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Fun. The style is great! I like the effect on the main character!

You gave a target time so you can't make a slightest mistake.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice blur effect and the timing is super tight, I managed to get to level 4 but got tired of the trial and error aspect(maybe my reaction time sucks :)), might be more fun zoomed out. Still, enjoyed learning the mechanics.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

Pretty tough game

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Is this a little hard? O.O
Good!

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Cool idea coupled with some neat visuals. Sadly, I had a hard time beating the first level because I'd often slam into the walls at the end, even if I was mere pixels away from the door. Maybe you could make it so they don't kill you like the obstacles do?

The second level actually seemed a lot easier than the first. I wasn't able to process after that, because that jump you have to make off the ledge in the third level nearly guarantees you won't be able to jump again without colliding with the walls at the end (and you need the extra speed to beat the time limit.)

Nakato says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:47pm

For the level 3, just have to jump 2 times before the last platform, jump at the end of it, and at the bottom, just one jump on the "-" bloc, and some slide time, normaly it's ok.

To increase this time, with some perfect jump on the corner of platform, you can double jump, and accelerate more :) ( it's a bug ... but a base of new level gameplay with some friends :) )

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Cool. I'm no good at it, but the game is good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]