April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cross

by AstroEngiSci - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cross is a game about crossing gaps. It was inspired by the KISS principle in engineering: Keep It Simple, Stupid! Obviously, the simplest conflict is to cross a gap. So go cross them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Theme3.64
#566Mood2.86
#603Humor2.17
#721Overall3.00
#855Innovation2.73
#874Fun2.64
#1142Graphics2.23
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Sorry, but my browser (IE9) stops responding when I visit the site provided.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Pretty innovative,

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

The actual platforming/movement wasn't very fun, but the storytelling and initial feelings of exploration were enjoyable. I guess this is a unity thing, but the mouse isn't constrained to the window and gets free even if I go fullscreen.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

@Crefossus:

Yeah, I've had more than one person point out the mouse thing. I'll learn how to fix it, and then integrate it next time.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

@guestcheap:

When you use IE for your Internet browser, webpages don't work right.

When webpages don't work right, you hate the Internet.

When you hate the Internet, you realize that you actually hate IE.

When you realize you hate IE, you download a different browser.

When you download a different browser, webpages start working right.

When webpages start working right, you stop hating the Internet.

Stop hating the Internet. Get Mozilla Firefox.

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I like the mood of the game, and the almost story with the green cube, but it's almost unplayable because of how the aiming is handled.

When doing a First Person game, you should hide the cursor and every frame re-set it to the center of the game window. Then when you want to move it, check the cursor's offset from the center to get the direction you should rotate the camera in. This will effectively capture the mouse, and give the camera a nice smooth turn, allowing the player to turn full 360 without the cursor leaving the window.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

@NAMKCOR

Thanks for the advice, I'll apply that next time. I don't think that would really count as a typo bug, but next time I make a first-person game, I'll keep that in mind.

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pretty good and innovative, except the ultra-sensible mouse look really annoys me. Are you using the Character Controller prefab from Unity's Standart Assets?

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

@bentog Yes, I am. My playtesters told me that a look speed of 15 was far too fast. I experimented with different speeds, and this one just felt right.

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

AstroEngiSci, I recommend you to try making your own MouseLook script. You might find it useless, but once I did it and learned a lot from it. (actually it is pretty easy, all you have to do is rotate the camera according to the mouse axis)

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Alright, bentog, I'll try that sometime. Thanks for the tip.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Great game. Very minimal. I must say though that were it not for the green cube, I would never have made it to the end :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Cool game, nice dialogues! I agree with the mouse look being a little too fast, I'd also appreciate if it could be locked to the center while playing as left click is used for interaction. I think I encountered a bug when I was supposed(?) to follow blue, but instead I went back and clicked on green. I respawned somewhere, but beneath the level, and just fell into nothingness.
Cool events, jumped a little when "it went dark". Nice atmosphere for a minimalistic art style.

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:52am

Simple but enjoyable. Especially the platforming in the dark. Is there an actual ending? I found some orange thing that vanished when I clicked on it and found no way to progress from there.

AstroEngiSci says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

@Nanolotl

Yes, that was the ending. You should have seen a message where the dialog shows up saying that you won. If you did not see the dialog, try putting your browser on fullscreen so you can see the entire game window.

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:02am

The controls are quite quirky, and the mouse clicking caused unfocusing a lot.

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:17am

Aside from the mouse not being hidden, it was very enjoyable. The text placement was kind of awkward, but not that big of a downside. I like green a lot more than blue. Blue didn't care about me; he just left me to platform on my own. Good platforming though, regardless of blue's lack of assistance.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Like it. It's very minimalist :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:42am

Great use of such simple geometry! Character, animation, lights, all of it is excellent!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]