April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RedShot

by Jellycakes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So this is my game Redshot. I started out wanting to make a challenge game where you could select which small challenge you'd like to take, but that was a bit too ambitious. So I decided to go with a shooter.

I went with the shooter because I thought of my favourite genre, then applied minimalism and subtracted the stuff that didn't matter and left the stuff that did, aka: enemies and shooting.

I haven't tested the Builds that much so if you like you can leave any information about bugs and things.

Also be wary of the source. The unity project is full of things that aren't used so don't be too confused if you go looking in there.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#607Graphics2.96
#643Fun2.89
#781Audio2.31
#782Mood2.66
#800Overall2.94
#863Humor1.83
#984Theme3.06
#1129Innovation2.23

Comments

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Camera is very sensitive, but an interesting play. Nice sound. Runs nicely for me.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice, I liked :)

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Is very hard I not managed to win even once :(! but very funny game! I really hate the bluemans xD

Webravenz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

very beautiful score room and fun game, these boys are scary :p

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Love the transition from arena to score room.

The idea of an arena shooter is pretty cool. Those guys are creepy as when they just appear on you. Nice minimalistic shooter.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Cool concept on this one!
The beginning scares the hell out of me!!

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Not sure why I lost, what the score means really, but it was fun, and you did the camera well ( which I'm noticing some games aren't ). Great job, scene transition was cool too. 3D Robotron.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Yeah, the camera is very quite sensitive. I love the arena theme of the game. The design of the level does make it really really easy if the player just camps in the corner though. The transition animation was a blast, I kind of anticipated something like that the first time I hit that button. :P

Great little game, could've maybe used some sort of soundtrack.

dem0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

A nice arcade shooter, overall. The stats room is cool and so is the environment. The arena was perhaps a little too small, though.

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I like it! I loved the level transitions. I had a problem with enemies spawning right behind me, it was hard to keep track of everyone of the map. Good job!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Hard! Frustrating when the guys spawn right behind you. Runs well though.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

Wow, nice for 48 hours! Yeah, the camera is sensitive, as people have said. Really like the level intro/exit effect, stunned me for a second!

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Pretty fun game, I liked the walls moving away animation it was cool.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

I loved the transition between the score room and the arena. I don't understand what it takes to get a win.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

I think the mouse is way too sensitive, but it's a good game! Great concept.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

You need a campbot check :P i passed easy stayin on the corner.

ANyway everything went great :D

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Seems to be best to back oneself into a corner and jump up and down, holding down the mouse.

Entertaining anyway. GJ!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

That got frantic rather quickly. I couldn't win a round either, it was fun, but I felt like I lost most of my life because the enemies kept spawning right behind me and attacking. If there was some warning of where they were appearing it would make things a bit more reasonable.

Azykial says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50am

Very cool minimalist shooter! Mouse is super sensitive when I was playing it. Loved the difficulty myself but then again...I love hard games so what can I say.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17am

Nice shooting game, was kind of hard to play with the touchpad but it was still a nice experience

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

Oh Jesus, those guys sure do creep up on you. Even though I knew it would happen it kept making me jump when it did. :D Awesome reveal at the beginning too. Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

Beautiful game! But real hard. I like the futuristic feel to it. Like I'm on some sort of alien planet competing in a tournament of some sort. But I gave it my all, and couldn't even win a single round.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

The room concept was really cool and helped add a lot to the experience. The shooting mechanics were fun, and I do enjoy crowd-management in shooters, but I felt how the enemies randomly phase into existence in the arena took a lot away from the experience. I felt if you saw them coming it would add a lot more to the game. That all said, I had a fun time with it, and think if it was expanded it could be something very fun in ones past-time. I think maybe expanding both the shooter and 'waiting room' elements could strike a great balance.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Kind of repetitive, but a fun idea!

kivifreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

KILL them ^^
I like it.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Love how you handle the arena walls moving in and out with the scoreboard.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

The exploding room is a really cool idea! I think the best strategy is to just sit in a corner.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I like the changing room, reminds me of the matrix. Sadly I won only once.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Solid game! Love could have used some music and more variation... but it's nice for an LD!

metaldemon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:42am

awesome fast paced shooter! I really like that you spawn enemies behind the player, this kept me on my toes! :D

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58am

An interesting concept, I liked how confined the game space was.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

That was extremely amusing!

7Soul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:57am

Why is it that every unity fps that I play feels like I have 9999 mouse sensitivity? But anyway, this game could use some sort of power up system, or different levels and enemies.
You said you removed all elements of an FPS to fit to the theme, but by doing so you removed most of the fun. Next time consider adding some kind of twist, for example, removing parts of the body of the enemies by shooting them, which would fit the theme pretty well.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28am

Love the idea and effect of the room. Would like to see those other challenges!

ecool377 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24am

Awesome game, saw mine in the livestreem.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:20am

Love the transition to/from the stats room

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:48am

Fun game, those inexpressiv enemy look's like robot and are a bit scary! I also like when the room explode to reveal the ring ^^. I won, but only 3 to 1. Great job.

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Hm, can't get it to run on Linux (dies on start up) - I don't know if that's the reason but it seems to be a 32-bit executable. I'll try it on a 32-bit system later - but maybe there's also the option to export for 64-bit Linux?

bentog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Simple and fun shooter. I like the mood. TIP: It looks like you are using the default Character Controller from Standart Assets, which has a pretty bad MouseLook script. I made my own character controller (which is also a Rigidbody) and I learned a lot from it.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:21am

Whoa I like how the environment rearranges itself between matches, very cool.

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:42am

Imagine how fun this game would be if it were an asymmetrical party game. 3 vs 1. 3 people controlling blue guys, one red guy trying to win.

Michael Hall says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:52am

Simple, but still fun. I really like how the room just goes away when you start.

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

Hey thanks for the comment! Yea I realized level 4 was too hard when I struggled to beat it for half an hour last night haha. Fun game you made! Really good controls and graphics great job :)

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very cool the way the walls pull back. I started off feeling kind of cramped then WHOOOOSH! It's very challenging, and I sort of hate how they spawn so close to you without warning and chip away at your health. But it's also very satisfying to blast away at the blue restroom logo dudes! I lost 2 games to 3. :(

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

Cool game. Congratz!

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:43am

Challenging. Nice work!

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:52am

The game was really solid as far as controls and the objective. If felt somewhat lacking, but what it did, it did well.

I almost lost at the third level!
Keep it up

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nice game ^^

LTyrosine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:38am

I liked this game and the transition from the menu to gameplay. Nice graphics and effects for given time. Sometimes the enemies appear from behind turning things impossible but nothing that hinders fun.

Nice job!

May 3, 2013 @ 12:35pm

The graphics are pretty cool, but the game itself just feels a bit incomplete. I get that you're trying to be minimalist but just holding down the left mouse button and aiming at enemies just doesn't quite cut it in my opinion.
I don't mind the fact that you have to play several rounds, I do mind the fact that all the rounds are pretty much the same (there may have been slightly more enemies in later rounds? I'm not quite sure.)
The aesthetics, environment and 'menu' are all really cool though, so good job on that.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Cool game. Nice job!

Entity2D says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Fun, simplistic game. Well made!

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Decent gameplay, great transition. Different enemies would have been cool, but it works as a minimal shooter like this.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Good job! I like these cinematic effects!

patrickward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice job! I particularly liked the transitions and the lighting. Controls were intuitive, but I would dampen the camera sensitivity a little. Also, when the round ended, I always lost the target board (wasn't sure what I was doing at first). It might be good to reposition the player in front of the target at the end of round, so they can see it and start again. Beautiful graphics and sound effects. Great job overall.

mortl8324 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I jumped everytime one spawned on me

Shugor says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:39pm

I liked the idea, but it could be kind of annoying at times. My main problem was how the enemies could spawn almost on top of you without warning. The way the camera moved made it hard to spin around to face them properly. I did like the score room, as well as the transition. You did a good job of staying to the theme, too~

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:05am

Notes:

- Mouse sensitivity is a bit high. Might be due to my disabled mouse acceleration? Guess not, others have noted the same thing.
- This laser shoot sound effect hurts my ears.
- I like these screen transitions.
- Player: 0; enemy: 2. How does this work, exactly? Ah, there's a timer.
- Gah, web player decided to not capture my cursor.
- I lost. Replaying. It captured my cursor this time.
- These guys keep sneaking up on me!
- Good, they spawn in all corners. No camping for player.
- I've got a strategy now. Constantly rotate until you find an enemy, then charge at it until it dies. Rotate quickly and repeat.
- I won. 3/1.

- I like the idea here. Challenging due to spawns and limited play zone.

Things I would change:

- The laser sound effect. It hurts.
- Make the enemies more menacing.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:40am

Finally got to play your game! It was pretty fun, I liked the arena and it plays smoothly. The transition at the beggining was surprising, great effect!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:27am

Cyberbullying AI! :D
I like the whole concept of isolating the place with walls to give the sensation of being in another room ,nicely done.
It's funny but a little bit hard inmo

FaBrito says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:18am

I'm not really a shooter fan, but it's really nice and simple. I enjoyed the "pod" for statistics and the way it assembles and disassembles itself.
Missed the start mention on the button, though... hehe
I liked that you remembered to check the mouse stuck to the middle of the screen... lot of fellows forget that and it's a mess to play right. ;)
Some accuracy feedback along with the number of shots would have been appreciated as well. Nice work!

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Only problem I had with it is how the game starts :P You need to be a certain especific distance when looking at the switch. Overall pretty good :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:23am

Nice minimalist FPS shooter. Sometimes the enemies would try to spawn on top of me, but I found that the best way to win is to stand in the corner to reduce the chances of enemies getting you from behind.

Xgor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:02am

Can't really enjoy it that much because how you can't really avoid getting shot and the guys keep getting behind you. Heck even when you stand in a corner they jump on at you at random and you can't avoid it.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:58am

Not a bad little shooter. Kinda got frustrating that the enemies kept spawning behind me. The pull back of the "menu" room to the battleground area is really cool. =)

Super Hamster says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:05am

Interesting game. It took me a while to figure out how to start playing because I didn't know you had to click on the rectangle. Also, I found that if you just stay in a corner, you will always win so I think rather then making it 3 games and you're done, maybe an endless where it gets progressively more challenging would be better. But besides that, it was a really fun game and designed very nicely and I very quickly got an understanding of the controls. Wow, this is a really long comment... Anyways, good job! :D

Jonny D says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Nice effects, but it is frustrating that the enemies can spawn right next to you.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:40am

perhaps a little too easy -- kool idea and i loved the effects of exiting and entering the room -- great job!

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Pretty nice shooter. It's scary when they come behind your back ;_;

Natedog9145 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very fun & addicting game. Sensitivity may need some tuning but overall very good game.

littleball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Not bad, a little tricky with a track-pad (but that's my own fault)

May 11, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Fairly difficult game but still the concept is fairly ambitious for LD and I think you did justice to it.

May 11, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice and cool game! The player movement is a little slow, and the camera is a little too sensitive though.

It is very fun to strafe around and kill the crescent mob that is after you! Congrats!

Typedeaf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:36am

I really liked the effects when you entered/exited a match. How ever there wasn't much else to this game. Would have been more interesting if you threw in a power up or added upgradables or something like that

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:24am

"First to three points" kind of pads out the game, and it's annoying when an enemy spawns on top of you. I love the transitions between the scoreboard and the arena, and the sounds are pretty good.

CogComp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Great fun! I like the way the enemies are knocked back by the players shots.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice game, Loved it !

May 17, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice game, but a bit hard... I hate how the enemy always spawns behind my back... Still pretty cool! :)

May 20, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I managed to win!
What I liked: The way the room exploded outward!
What I didn't like: When the enemies spawned on top of me!

Thanks so much for playing my entry on your livestream, it was super cool!

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Staying in one corner seems to be a pretty good strategy. The transition effect with the walls between rounds was pretty cool to watch.

Codexus says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Simple but effective

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]