April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stalker

by The Consul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A first person point and click adventure loosely based on Andrei Tarkovsky's Stalker (http://goo.gl/l4qhS)- one of the all time greats within minimalist cinema. And sci-fi.

The story takes place at one of the sites of the Visitation, and our main protagonist is entering the Zone for one last job...

To control the game, just click around. Make sure to check out the backgrounds as you will find background story within the scenes themselves.

And as a teaser... there is one scene in color...

Follow @BrutopianConsul at Twitter for future updates.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Mood4.08
#124Graphics3.85
#143Audio3.44
#382Overall3.34
#594Humor2.18
#864Fun2.65
#964Innovation2.54
#1117Theme2.87

Comments

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Interesting story and characters, although I couldn't figure out what to do after talking to Andrei.

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

The game ends rather abruptly when I reach the stairs (whether I descend, which leads to an image I cannot interact with, or turn around, which produces the 'Fin' screen).
Am I missing something(s), or is something not working? issue?

Haddy22 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

good concept. could be fun- wish it was a little more done- I got to the staircase inside the room - descended and also got stuck like SnoringFrog. Nice idea-

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:28am

@Haddy22. When you say could be fun, are you only referring to the stuck screen at the end or is there something else you feel keep it down?

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

Whoa a very good made adventure. gratz.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38am

I'm stuck at the military gate and I don't know what to do to go on. Yes, I suck :( This is sad since I really like the feel of the game.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Good mood. Couldn't figure out how to get the credits to pay Andrei. Was fun though. Nice gfx.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:16am

The style is interesting and fits the theme. I like the game, but it seems short.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:17am

Nice atmosphere but seemed a bit short unless I wasn't supposed to get stuck after going down the stairs (there didn't appear to be anything to click on and I suspected it was an ending screen because of the colour?)

Graphics were fantastic, but the music did get to me a bit.

Overall nicely done!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:18am

Thanks loxo. Sorry about the shortness, but it really wasn't all too easy to add very much content during those 48 hours :)

Lesson learned... if your game is story driven, make sure you can use the full development time on story... not technical stuff.

juaxix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:21am

It would be nice to color some parts of the images to emphasize the important things of the story, I like the idea of take photographs of your city and make a game with it :)

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:28am

Very cool game! I relly enjoyed playing it.
I would say its kind of courageous to make an adverture for LD since adventures can be frustrating, if you get stuck.
The storytelling was great. I liked the kind of mindbending twist in it. I'm strugling a bit in understanding the end. SPOILER WARNING: Is the last decision meant as the decision between the zone or living in a house with your wife?

Are the graphics made of photographs? They look really great. Sound supports the mood very well.
Only thing I would change the yellow/pink messageboxes to b/w. I had the feeling, they were a bit out of the graphical theme, but thats just my opinion.

All in all really great job!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:55am

Thanks for plauing it StMatn. The graphics are all photos of the area nearby my house (I had the good fortune of finding a sunk boat on that day!)

The last decision is meant to be a bit frustrating and it is supposed to be between staying in your dream or not.

Colapsydo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:25am

Really like the art and the general mood.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

Damn, graphics and music are awesome, it makes the game really unique and with a nice atmosphere.
The story is great too! Good job!

Like frr171, I couldn't figure out what to do after talking to Andrei.

Did you actually made yourself the photo and then postprocessing them? I would love to see a making of :)

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Thanks gre. I did do the photos myself. Ran around like crazy the first morning of the compo.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:06pm

This is my favourite so far, although I didn´t know what to do when I reached the colored houses.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Really interesting game. I liked it and would have wanted it a bit longer (I understand that it wasn't though, due to the short dev time). But I will definitely remember this game :)

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10pm

nice concept and cool art.

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very nice but too short. :) Well done in such a short time.

markusfisch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Interesting game. Got stuck in that colored scene too but enjoyed playing it very much. The music really fits the game! Nice idea and well done!

yetanother says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:18pm

very cool!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Lovely homage, Stalker is one of my favorite movies from Tarkovsky, Its great to be in The Zone somehow. Great Effort!

uberneen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I was looking forward to trying this one after seeing one of your front page posts over the weekend. I'm a big fan of the novella and the work it has spawned.
This does a good job of capturing that atmosphere, but as others have said, it's a bit short.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25am

I <3 Stalker. Lovely ambience. I went down some stairs and couldn't click on anything so I got a bit confused at that point. Nicely done though.

Yann says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:07pm

The game is nice, definitly well made, Graphics, UI, Atmosphere,...
The bad side is that you're often down to hunt for clickable areas with for sole feedback the mouse cursor shape.
I think it kinds of break the mood, I opened the chrome console and thankfully you used the DOM to script your areas so I just had to hover some div element to figure out where they were.
It then made the game better since now that I knew how I could interact with the game, I could focus more on the story.

The end is indeed weird, and unfortunately there wasn't really any challenge in the choice you can make in the dialogs. Though it would have been hard to elaborate some complex story tree in just two days (:.

As far as the theme goes, on one side your graphics aren't really minimal, as well as your story, on the other end the UI and the interaction are. Sooo I guess you're half in / half out of the theme. But well to me the theme is just a pretext to make things nice, which did rather well (:

magnpeas says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Looks good but a little hard to figure out where to go

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Oh my god, that atmosphere... Great job giving me chills. And the ending... Well done! (Sadly it is quite short)

SmilingCat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Liked the graphics, the story seemed to be good, but I got stuck after reading the letter and couldn't find anything new to click on/do.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Yann said pretty much everything I think, so I won't repeat. :)

Also, the last picture is very nice.

kddekadenz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:50am

Cool game, great mood :) The graphics and the sound is good, too, but it is too short.

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:55am

very atmospheric and eerie game but I got stuck after going down those stairs.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Solid entry, good writing and nice processing on the photos. All together makes up some nice eery atmosphere. Would love to play it some more but i got stuck. D:

Btw, you said you got "no error" on my entry, you should be able to play it if you click them away (there should be around 5 of them boxes, explanation is added in the games summary)

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Wow, 5/5 for mood definitely. It's impressive that you could do this in 48 hours. Especially since you have to go around (Stockholm?) to make all these pictures.
Unfortunately I got stuck at some point. I could see two houses but there was nothing I could find to click.

The biggest problem for me is, that the main challenge was to find what I could click. But for a 48 hour point and click adventure it's hard to make the adventure not too easy.
So well done!

Beldarak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:10am

Loved the ambiance, the mood and the music but couldn't figure out where to go after 3-4 screens, I'm not that good with point and click.

lotusgame says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:25am

A real performance for a 48h entry ! But there is so much games to test and note that i couldn't spent more time than for seeing 3 or 4 screens. Such an adventure game seems a dangerous choice for an LD. But anyway, its a beautiful job you done there ! Congrats :)

omaromeir says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Cool stuff, I like the atmosphere, graphics, and sound (although the sounds are a bit annoying after some time :p). This is very creative, well done.

drkrunk says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:31pm

I really liked this. I enjoy adventure games and this was pretty interesting. Very nicely done.

stevejohnson says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:51pm

As someone who has attempted to make an adventure game and failed due to the same technology/story tradeoffs, I am impressed with your efforts. Very short but also well done.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Nice art style in this game. I got to the screen with the red and blue houses and couldn't do anything, so I assumed that was the end. Don't mess with that turret!

recursor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:28am

Where is the link to the source code?

mildmojo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:33am

Reminds me of the old Mac adventures like Osmo's Cosmic Adventure. Very nice overall, though I wish you'd picked a non-system font for the text.

Maple says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:01pm

You had a really solid foundation, but I wish it wasn't ended so abruptly! The graphics were good, and the audio was nice. I feel like the game could have made it more obvious what options there were to click on though. Sometimes what clicking in place X did was not what I expected would happen. Also, I laughed when the guy I was talking to put on that smile. Good job, has potential.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:02pm

The stark photographs interested me. If you continue to develop this, it was clear to me which parts of the image would respond to mouse button, or which sides of the image connected back to which other images.

mrexcessive says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Lovely pictures. Love the book, does a reasonable job of presenting the otherness of the picnic area. Got to the colourful picture.

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Huge fan of Tarkovsky and the Strugatsky bros... and this adaptation is wild! Can you tell us how to get past Andrei?

The Consul says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

Since the game has been up a while I can hint that Andrei won't let you pass. But if you small talk some with him you'll be reminded of other things to do in the Zone.

VDZ says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Great atmosphere and graphics, but it feels very unfinished and barely related to the theme. Gameplay is the usual adventure stuff, but point and click adventures aren't really a place to look for gameplay innovation.

Interesting, but only as a prototype, not as a game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]