April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Circles

by Are - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires one of the most modern browsers and mouse. (After compo - support for touch screen or laptops.)

Small, simple puzzle game. Kind of music game. Features 10 VERY easy levels, in future more! Click on the canvas to start a new wave (if you have any left). Make all colorful notes play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#142Innovation3.71
#149Audio3.43
#303Overall3.43
#371Theme3.73
#455Mood3.00
#581Fun2.96
#714Humor2.00
#928Graphics2.57

Comments

amijlee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Really cool game, hope to see more in the future!

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00am

Fun in an experimental way.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Really liked it! I wish there were more levels to play with :).

There's a lot of potential here for many different levels, I'd defenitely play more.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Cool little puzzle game. This has quite some potential!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Nice game, I'd like to see more puzzles like the beat-machine one where it's more about playing with the sound mechanics and less about trying to judge where the waves will end.

Note: I couldn't get it to work in Firefox, but Chrome ran it fine.

Geoege says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

The idea is pretty cool, but you maybe should have explain how gameplay features are working and something like a undo key to not restart the level every time you missclick.

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice game! You could definitely expand on this.

Are says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:00am

actually I'm working on circles v1.5 - and when I'll finish, I will give you link :) and thanks for all your comments, it's cheering me up :)

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

That was fun - very cool idea! Some more levels would have been great, and maybe even a sandbox mode to play around with the sounds. But great work, really enjoyed that one!

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Wow. I was very impressed with this game. The theme is perfect for this LD and you did an excellent job. I love this game

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great concept. I found this game really fun and innovative. Quite different from other games. You should really continue to develop this concept after Ludum Dare.

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Interesting idea, I would love to see more levels.

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Original idea. I liked the walk-thru, but having text directions at the bottom that didn't work yet (until I got to the explanation) made it confusing.

May 2, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Too bad there is no more levels and the LD is not really there cause i liked the idea and i would have wanted to play much longer.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:37am

Great game! Can't wait to see where you take it after compo. One thing that would help, I think, is to introduce new mechanics more slowly once you have more levels. It did get a little confusing playing with new mechanics without really fully understanding older ones yet.

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nice minimal game! I like notes related games :)

0beah says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:08am

I like the idea. Really true to the theme. However, the tutorial is just a tad unforgiving, even with the reset ability.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:59am

Love the concept but I think it can be a little frustrating having levels based on precise positioning with no visual feedback on what the range of objects is (cf absorber level for example)

Syawra says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great concept !
Some levels are a bit hard with the positioning but this has a huge potential as a rhythm game. ~

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Cool game.

ethankennerly says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Listening to the scale made me feel content. At the screen "the white circle is the emitter..." i was not sure what to do next for a while.

Puccini says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Cool game ! i will like to see more musical levels

May 18, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very good, though the pixel-perfect aspect was a bit frustrating in some levels. I really like the idea though, I hope you get a chance to improve and expand upon it!

gerritg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Nice concept! I'd like to move my emitters after I placed them, to experiment. At this moment I have to do it over and over if I'm only 2 pixels of.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Haha, loved the hidden easter egg ^^ I shall do thy command and place potatoes everywhere!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]