April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timit

by TheSnide - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very Minimalist entry.

Less than 2K code, less than 2 hours, and only 1 button.

Hit "View Source" to see source code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Theme4.18
#699Innovation2.95
#1085Overall2.64
#1185Fun2.18
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

I actually got stuck playing this for much longer than I should have. Put some gfx and audio on it and it's a winner!

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Thx.

I'll make a post-compo version if there's enough interest, as I didn't have more time yesterday.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

This is surprisingly compelling.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I got to 2000 and gave up. My attention span is rather short right now though. :P

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

624! Pretty minimalistic, for sure.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Cute little game, great application of theme; about as simple as it gets :) After 5 minutes I still had 91 health though, not sure I want to play for an hour straight :P

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

My biggest gripe is that it doesn't tell me how close I was to the time. The only feeling of progression I get is from watching my health but I don't want to do that because a number could appear at any moment.

A little polish would have gone a long way also. Just a bit of styling and better feedback. It's amazing how addictive simple concepts can be if they are communicated well.

TheSnide says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08am

@netguy204 I agree for the "how close". I'll definitely post a post-compo version.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Really minimalist in its gameplay.
The first time, the countdown started with 1 second, so I had no time to read the instructions and died. After that, it went well, but I think I had too much high numbers : waiting 7 seconds, then 9, then 8.. well I almost felt alseep ;)

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41am

I have a very accurate sense of time, it seems !

Webravenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

really minimalist and nice idea, but little boring

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Well I had a lot of fun playing this game, considering that you only put 12 times as much time to make it as i did to play. I really like games that test one's real-world skills.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]