April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

by runonthespot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#103Fun3.62
#114Overall3.74
#142Theme4.03
#152Innovation3.69
#853Graphics2.66
#972Mood2.44

Comments

runonthespot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

I should probably add that I can't consistently get under 18 yet though!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Lovely idea! and quite addicting. This could be easily extended

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Epic. A triumph of modern indie game development. 6/5 stars.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

30 Ah so its 18 did not get to that. :(

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Excellent, very addictive!

I don't know if it's my monitor, but the navy blue is a bit hard to make out?

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

i'm playing this game drunk and now my first instinct is to have a coitus with a purple gummy elephant. thank you.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

A fun game with an extremely simple concept, yet also very clever and addictive. I like it. Well done, sir.

Winterblood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Brilliant idea, incredibly tricky to predict :)

Elemnir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very easily addicting. Got my high score down to 14, but I figured out I could rocket some of the balls into the stratosphere with a little careful planning. Although my browser doesn't seem to have liked that.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Fun little arcade like game! Reminds me of Hundreds.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Quite good fun! I sucked, my best was 30.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

I think I spent 10x as much time playing this game as any of the others I've played thus far. Congrats! Very addictive.

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Thanks all! Looks like I'm going to have to get a leaderboard on this thing.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really clever concept! The simple graphics look nice too :)

Elemnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

As an addendum to my previous comment, I now -have- become addicted to this game, playing for several hours yesterday, and now I'm back again for more today. I WILL GET IT DOWN TO 3!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Fantastic!
That's a very clever spin on the matching puzzle genre.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

This is quite a clever game!

TijmenTio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Simple, yet so mesmerizing!

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Interesting concept. It's a good begining, you have to finish this game !

Starspell says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Really innovative game. I love the idea behind it (although I'm not very good at it). Managed to get down to 45 and my boyfriend got down to 35 or so. Makes me want to try more. The only thing I would change would be to add a little bit of sound and to make the balls that are clickable highlighted very gently.

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:34am

Very cool idea

chowdy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:54am

Just as addictive as everyone else said!!

tudd says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:46pm

very hard. my record is 23.

maybe add a restart button?

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Great idea! I didn't manage to win, but its really cool anyway. Nice job.

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Very nice mechanics. Sometimes I wish the circle detection was just a bit closer/lenient, but other than that pretty good!

Beldarak says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:46am

Clever, very minimalist, and incredibly addictive. Here's my stars ;)

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Pretty neat game, really easy to get frustratingly stuck in places aha.
(Also you tried playing my game when it was down, it's up now!)

May 4, 2013 @ 7:48am

Wow this is really interesting - love the mechanic. Thank you!

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:49am

This is really awesome and addictive.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I like that there's a certain amount of tension that builds as you wait for the balls to roll off of each other to see if you have gotten a properly touching set.

I do notice though that it seems too easy for the balls to "drain" but not completely disappear. As a player I would feel cheated when that happened.

I don't think I've done better than 28 so far.

It's a really neat idea!

runonthespot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08pm

thanks Recursive frog : I'll be addressing that and the fact the absorbed circles still drop away while being absorbed- should make it feel more natural.

Ithildin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Nice idea! Gameplay is clever and requires some thinking and planning, I love that! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]