April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lightrail

by Geoege - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lightrail, in this game you have to make your lazer find a way to his target, but it's not that simple, the rooms are in the dark and the only way to spot obstacles is by your radar.

[Space] = Shoot
[Left Clic] = Go up
[Right Clic] = Go down


Will you manage to end all the levels ?... and get all the potatoes.

The tutorial contains playable level and is a good way to understand the game.
PS: The game is pretty hard but it comes with a bit if training.
PROTIPS : Try analyze the room before and imagine the rythm of clic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#243Innovation3.53
#316Overall3.42
#320Graphics3.39
#455Mood3.00
#470Fun3.08
#550Audio2.71
#714Humor2.00
#885Theme3.19

Comments

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

<3

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

<3

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Very cool but very hard >.>

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Awesome audio & graphics! But controlling the laser is not easy

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Pretty hard but cool!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Fuck... is hard!!! Very cool game!! Maybe a need a laser speed for dummies.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Original mechanics, the game is therefore pretty challenging! Needs coordination, hard..
Good job

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

A very interesting game idea and well executed! I wish the laser moved just a little bit slower though.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Extremely difficult, to the point of frustration :D

Nice visuals though, but the laser moved way too fast to be able to control it properly.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Difficult, but it's nice to play a challenging game. Thank you for not making it too easy.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice atmosphere with your graphics, the radar and the background sounds/music. The game was hard but I got all the levels after some tries. Repeating a level multiple times wasn't frustrating. Every death was a bit of learning. So in the end, the difficulty was just right!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Love the challenge. <3

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06am

Simple and effective, yet it feels hard to master. Interesting challenge.

NiallM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

This is very nice. I love how hard it is; something about the controls had me continually clicking the wrong button. I love when games trip me up like that.

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice graphics and sounds.
It sure is challanging :)

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Wooow that's hard! Stuck at level 4.
My brain can't take this movement system at this speed! Maybe a good thing for people like me would be to have the laser last a bit longer when you "die". So I have more time to understand the "map".
Good job anyway!

Rialgar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

<3
Very hard, You could ease the learning curve by letting the player traverse some lighted levels before introducing the darkened ones. That would also have meant more levels. But maybe the steep learning curve was on purpose XD

Geoege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44am

I did, there is a tutorial with playable levels in it, which explain control without black mask, and the last of it introduce it.

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05am

Cool innovation, but DAMN it's frustrating! :)

kreischweide says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09am

Challenging because of the twisted control scheme, maybe a difficulty setting could've helped but avoiding the fading effect on the barriers and the speed. Otherwise great entry!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:08am

This game is EXTREMELY difficult and not very intuitive. It's hard. It started off fun but the levels quickly got not-fun levels of challenging and I gave up. That said, great visuals and dynamics, good work!

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Simple, elegant design, though the difficulty is somewhat sadistic! Personally I'd prefer an all-mouse or an all-keyboard control scheme for the sake of ergonomics, but that's just nit-picking. Well done, I give this game "spud" out of a possible "potato".

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Tough! But I like the idea, and the lighting on the radar effect was good.

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nice and original game, I got to level 6, which I couldn't pass. But why LEFT mouse button to move UP, RIGHT to move DOWN? I tried rotating the mouse but that's awkward too. I keep fighting with the controls. I would like to play a version with cursor up and down to control.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]