April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

2001: A Space Oculus

by zeh - Jam Entry

A simulator of the rescue scene of 2001: A Space Odyssey.

INSTRUCTIONS
------------

THIS APPLICATION REQUIRES THE OCULUS RIFT. It won't run (well) otherwise. Don't try it if you don't have one around.


CONTROLS
--------

You start inside the rescue pod.

Use W/A/S/D to move the pod. The pod doesn't strafe; you have to turn it.

Use Q to move down and E to move up.

Moving in space is difficult. There's no drag. Time your movements well. Don't go too fast!

Your mission is to rescue Dr. Frank Poole who is stranded from the ship (he's right ahead of the pod). Use the arms and claws of the facilitate this task.

Press Z to move the left arm, and V to move the right arm. Every time you press the button, the arms rotate in the opposite direction. It is a little tricky (intentionally).

You can also use X and C for the left claws, and V and B for the right claws. Give it a try and you'll understand.

(In hindsight the controls may be too complicated to perform while blinded by the Oculus Rift. Apologizes for this oversight)

Drag or push Dr. Frank Poole to the floating box in front of the ship to "rescue" him. You'll be timed.

If you just want to hang around, press "J" to eject from the pod. Then you can walk around with W/A/S/D and Q/E.

That's the whole reason I built this, really. Just to float around.


KNOWN PROBLEMS
--------------

Sometimes the astronaut ragdoll becomes momentarily invisible. Some problem with calculating visible boundaries.


ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
----------------

Although most of it has been heavily modified, the original content comes from third parties (hence why this is a Jam entry).

The Skybox was generated with with SpaceScape:
http://www.alexcpeterson.com/portfolio/spacescape/

The Discovery model was created by Jestr, Martin Charest, and Matthew Parker:
http://www.celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/fic_2001.php

The Pod model was created by Dave Kleve:
http://www.2001-3d-archive.info

The project was created in Unity, using a trial license of the Pro version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Curse you for reminding me that my Rift has not yet arrived. :) Really wish I could be playing this.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I want to play this so bad - yet another reason I should buy an Oculus...

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20am

Well I don't have one, it is a shame this looked interesting.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Damn, this seems cool. Great that the Rift has a Ludum Dare entry :). Sad I can't play this.

zeh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Thanks for the support guys. I realize I was restricting myself quite a bit by making an Oculus Rift-only entry, but so it goes with experiments.

I'll probably have a non-Oculus version ready by next week.

There's also a couple of other Rift-ready games. I'm surprised by the low number, considering how easy it is to create a Rift experience in Unity, but they still seem fun (haven't tried them yet)! Full list here:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?sortby=default&q=oculus

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I tried this on my Oculus. The right camera is all white and washed out.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I tried this on my Oculus. The right camera is all white and washed out.

Edit - using a Mac

zeh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Sorry Prelucid. It may be a Unity Oculus SDK problem, considering it has just been released for OSX. I'll test it out on Macs next week.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Cool. If you're using Unity. You could try changing the depth of both eyes to something higher (1 or 2), and disable any other cameras. Maybe there's a problem related to that. I would love to try this out.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:58am

I am a huge fan of 2001 and this definitely captures the mood. I hope one day for a Rift, but until then I will cross my eyes and hope.

radmars says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:06pm

The controls are pretty hard to use(especially with the oculus on your face), but the overall feeling is magical. There's not much game there, but its surprisingly entertaining to just try to scoot around and try to grab the floating space marine guy, and look at things. great mood. :D

Zim the Fox says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:27am

This looks interesting, all right. Alas, no Rift :c

Ingenious, though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]