April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

IceBreaker

by pentaphobe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

note: I strongly recommend you try the jam/post-compo version

------------------------------------------
--- I - C - E ---- B - R - E - A - K - E - R ---
------------------------------------------------

It's the early 90's vision of a cyberpunk future, and you're "jacked"
into your netty thingy trying to get things from things that don't
want you to have things.*

Ooooh.

It's even got pseudo-authentic industrial music!


------------------------------------------------------
What makes it minimalist?
------------------------------------------------------

You can't quite tell, but it's a stripped-down RTS:
- no resources or buildings (instead you have gestation periods for replication)
- since you can't build unit factories, you instead have to replicate (and be vulnerable), but if you're standing still you will heal
- there /are/ classes, but they are restricted to *strength* (hit amount) and *vitality* (health)
- it's meant to be broken down into very short levels, generally with you collecting/destroying something which is being protected. (will add this for the jam/post-compo edition, most of the code's there - just needs to be plugged in)

------------------------------------------------------
Controls:
------------------------------------------------------

Arrows to pan camera
Select your green guys to give them orders:
- hit [M] to Move
- hit [A] to Attack (you can also just click on enemies to attack with your selected units)
- hit [B] to "Breed" (actually you clone yourself)
- hit [H] to randomly hurt your selected green guy
- hit left and right square brackets '[' & ']' to move between levels as there's no detection of victory
- h... nope. that's it

The computer player is so amazingly intelligent that it tricks
you into thinking it's a complete moron.

And then dies.

Such is its cunning genius.

------------------------------------------------------


*note: my 12-year old self loves me for doing this.
You finally got your lame future buddy! Yay!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#328Audio3.08
#598Mood2.83
#615Graphics2.95
#769Theme3.32
#773Innovation2.85
#848Overall2.90
#933Humor1.72
#991Fun2.49

Comments

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53am

In case anyone else has the same issue with publishing and knows as little about Haxe/NME as I do, just use the following:

nme build flash -web

(the '-web' creates html and presumably a slightly different .swf as well since it seems to run more slowly)

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Nice soundy things. I am also glad for your 12 year old self. There should be a judging category for that.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

Cool stuff. Would be interesting to see where you take this post-compo.

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

Thanks, folks!

Yeah - a couple of things broke in an untimely fashion making it seem even more incomplete than it was!

I did some tweaks to make an Unofficial Jam Version, which is available up the top now and will continue to be updated over the course of the day

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51am

I think it's a really cool concept - it would be awesome to see it fleshed out more. I totally took away the real-time aspect of it by doing all of my decisions+planning while paused. It's got a nice feel to it !

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

It's a pretty groovy game! Carry on with it, I'd like to see the post-compo finished!

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Hmm, went a bit too fast. Everything kept dying and I didn't know what to do. I think I won, but not sure. Enjoyable when I did though :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Really like the music. Interesting use of Theme. Good job!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

nice idea

kurrik says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:36am

Nice work - the Jam version really fleshes out your vision for the game. Reminds me a lot of Frozen Synapse, which is a really really good thing. The compo version did drop you into things really suddenly though.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Good job. Interesting mood and mechanic. Congratz!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Well that works better in the Jam version. Like Beethoven's 9th for victory. Have rated the entry even though that version unplayable due to way fast and no tutorial level. Good job creating the engine &c. and I think you should see the "better" version as a bug-fix and expect that to be rated...

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Rather solid effort, although I think the game would have required more tactics and strategy as a turn based game.

Plus a few ideas:
-While breeding extra vulnerable
-Breeding reduces sizeclass by one, must wait to grow back or breed for a even smaller unit.
-Maps with varied topographies (Randomized).

Now all it takes is to:
Select all -> breed
Repeat until enemies appear then:
Select all -> attack and destroy one by one.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:59am

Just saying: When I try to get to the Web versions, following message appears - "This domain name is being parked by Register4Less.com"

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Great game! Super difficult!

pentaphobe says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:53am

Thanks for the feedback everyone (and patience with the compo build)

Very glad the FTL/Frozen Synapse thing made sense (thanks Kurrik!) - it wasn't what I had in mind initially, but by day 2 was a solid goal. (Yay!)

MrExcessive: Thanks a million! I'm keen to keep working on this, but I really appreciate your generosity

HuvaaKoodia: Oh noez, you found the weakness! :) I watched a friend's stream while he played and he did exactly the same thing. Balance fail!
I like your suggestions too - some are very similar to my original intent (wanted barriers/topography and the point of the breeding was vulnerability) but your suggestion of the size class change is an interesting one I'd like to try. I'd considered the idea of splitting the hitpoints between parent and child (they can still heal to full), but your approach may well prove better (and more clear)

SuperlevelSebastian: !! HOLY CRAP !!
Thanks so very much, no idea how that slipped through the cracks.. All fixed now.

MinionStudios: Woot! Nice horror game to you too, sir/madam/people!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Strange game, nice polish.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:40am

Interesting game, although I died really quickly.

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:03am

The game is kinda good. The sounds are good, the graphics are ok, the gameplay is interesting. However it is a bit easy.

Teejay5 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:01am

Really cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]