April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hat Guy

by RARoadkill - Jam Entry

Minimalism was tricky and rather than approach it from a graphic standpoint we thought it'd be cool to attempt a game that boils down your interacting to individual "genres". Grab a hat, try it out, then get ready to switch between them quickly...because alone their advantages are quite...minimal.

*update- first versions control could not be used on mac. If you are using a mac use the mac friendly version. Only difference between the two is the controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Humor(Jam)2.40
#269Innovation(Jam)2.97
#346Audio(Jam)2.63
#391Fun(Jam)2.57
#402Mood(Jam)2.54
#402Overall(Jam)2.80
#427Theme(Jam)2.77
#443Graphics(Jam)2.57
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Unable to run: Jump button did not function. Cute idea though!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Your control scheme makes it impossible to play this game on a Mac laptop. There is no right control.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

@BahamusZaero did you switch to the baseball cap. You can only jump while wearing that one. Thanks for the bug report. @crowbeak yeah I found that out today from a couple of friends who play on macs. Did not think about that. Left mouse will also fire, I will try and work up a mac friendly version....or you can take this as a sign to get a PC, either one

Nekoyoubi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Wow, that's tough. I wish I could say I made it far, but about four enemies in I was toast. ;) Nifty concept, though. I like the idea of having to make sacrifices on what you can do, but the controls were a bit too awkward for me to get far. At any rate, good job!

BahamutZaero, this was a little tricky for me too, but it's probably because you don't automatically have the "jump hat" selected when you pick it up. At least that's what it was for me as well.

Otoris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

As stated in the comments, control scheme makes it impossible to play on Mac.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Thank you all for letting me know about the mac control issue. There are two version up now. The mac friendly version replaces the key used for firing. Hope this helps

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

Is it possible for you to distribute a linux binary?

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

My version of unity does not appear to have the ability to export into a linux usable file.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

Interesting idea. I found the controls a bit far apart to be comfortable with them.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nice game. Some glitches with jump that let me pass over obstacles :P You can continueously jump on walls edge to climb them. Even on further level, it's just more tricky.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Jump doesn't work :(

Fervir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Alright, so I made it to the secret level and I wasn't rewarded with anything, so I was pretty disappointed with the game.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

@Fervir if you found a secret level I would like to know about it too

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The music is a bit loud. Other then that its great.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:55pm

I couldn't get past the level with the 3 targets and the wardrobe.. I kept hitting them but I could only get one, even though I hit them correctly D:

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Not bad, enjoyed it :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

I managed to break the game with wall jumping. :P unique concept, but I'm not sure the gameplay made good use of it, likewise not sure how close to the theme this idea was. However, cute little game, clear instructions and worth a giggle. I'd be interested to see what this could become, with time.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26am

Pretty challenging but I like the idea of putting on different hats to change your controls. The sword's idle position makes it seem like just running into an enemy should damage them.

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38am

The controls felt a bit awkward, but I liked the game mechanic. If the game didn't feel soo "floaty" I would have enjoyed it :)

Ismei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

I really liked this idea. It was simple to understand the controls, but the enemies were quite tough. I thought the hats were a cute idea.

CMaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

The hats as genre abilities was pretty cool.

I had to run the "mac friendly version" despite being on Windows 7, due to a "bad file length" error on the first link.

I managed to jump clear of the level I think. I climbed the second big wall, then did a big jump off of it, sailed past everything, ended up running along the bottom of the world forever.

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

enjoyed the challenge of quickly switching weapon

May 2, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Cool idea to put on different hats for different tasks, just makes you whish you could put on more than one hat at the same time... :) Otherwise, good stuff!

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:00am

You can infinitely wall jump this let's you escape the gameplay zone.

xploitgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:34pm

More hats please! Liked the infinite wall jump, much fun and the music was a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]