April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Storm

by Spanfile - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixel Storm is a game about running away from something which i haven't come up with. You must dodge enemies and avoid traps, try to reach as far as possible.
The graphics are very old styled, only green and black is used. Sounds for the game have been made with sfxr.
The game uses XNA Framework,so you'll need that. Sorry. I shall see if a can get an Unity Pro license for the next LD :)
Do remember to read the README inside the download. It contains information about navigating inside the game, because my chosen resolution for the images wasn't enough for detailed text.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Theme3.91
#662Audio2.52
#775Graphics2.74
#1032Fun2.43
#1053Mood2.33
#1185Overall2.48
#1233Innovation2.05
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

The distance doesn't reset between gameplays. A neat idea, although needs some polishing. :)

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

@manabreak Thanks for noticing, fixed it :)

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

It'hard to kill two guys in a row, since bullets get stuct in first .(
Absolutely loved character animation and sound!
Fun to play. Nice game!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Took me a while to figure out that you can kick the little things, which I can only assume are potatoes. Great job though. Fits the theme perfectly!

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Took me a little while to realise you were supposed to kick the green-dome-things rather than just jumping over them. Also, it may be worth allowing other keypresses on the main menu, like Z or Return - I was mashing keys for some time until I found that Right selected things.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Nice job! It took a moment to figure out what to kick and what to shoot :-) Good level of difficulty.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

There are some annoying bugs:
- Reload time of the gun too long or too many enemies.
- Long portions without obstacle.
- Enemies that doesn't reset between two run.
But it's a good start. I would like to play a more polished version of this game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Too pixely!
I liked it, the gameplay is very good.
The controls could've used some improvement, but overall I liked it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Good effort, nailed the theme.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I have no XNA - I was wondering why it crashed. Best of luck, the looks is on theme - and the filesize was impressive. :)

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Very difficult!. Plenty of good ideas, i love the "max shoots", the reload and the kick. :)

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:04am

it´s a cool attempt, but it could use some more elements like fire and stuff. still nice

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

It was a bit unfair when you run out of bullets, and like 4000 people are just in front of you.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Had trouble trying to figure out what to do about the traps. Otherwise, the lime green on black simple Atari graphics were working for me!

StMatn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:08am

Nice idea. I quite like the soundeffects :) Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]