April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super 3D BlockLand

by hardycore - Jam Entry

Guide Blocko through the mazes quickly. Without even the natural ability to jump, Success is only possible by making the most out of the abilities offered. Combine abilities in later levels to pass difficult obstacles!

Touch a colored block to gain an ability for 5 seconds.

Blue - Press A to jump
Red - Movement becomes faster
Yellow - Overhead Mode controls: move in all directions, but watch out for holes in the background!
CheckBoxes - Checkpoints/Finish
Y - Respawn from last checkpoint

Post your best times below if you dare!!!

Unzip the blockland folder to your desktop, then run the LudusMinimus.exe.
XBOX360 controller is recommended.
***You will also need to install a small redist for monogame! ***
http://monogame.codeplex.com/downloads/get/632970
If the game doesn't run with monogame installed try the openAL install. That should fix any remaining issues.
If that doesn't work, try reinstalling .net 4.0.
Sorry for the hassle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Innovation(Jam)3.75
#83Theme(Jam)3.83
#97Fun(Jam)3.42
#161Overall(Jam)3.42
#410Mood(Jam)2.50
#411Audio(Jam)2.09
#468Graphics(Jam)2.46
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Had some framerate issues. I like how the mixed abilities are represented.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46am

Awesome game. Loved the ability mixing and the difficulty scaling/pacing of new mechanics. Got stuck sorta after a bit, sad that I didn't finish. Really good though!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

Not a bad game! Well done! Although, game crashed randomly whilst playing :(

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Fixed a few bugs this morning.
If you guys encounter more bugs please let me know where if possible! I plan on working on this game more going forward.
Here are my best times from playing this morning!
Level1 - 0:22.93
Level2 - 0:51.97
Level3 - 0:38.64
Level4 - 1:15.86
Level5 - 1:50.74
Lets get some friendly competition goin!!! :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Awesome game! I really enjoyed it ;)

keksdev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Pretty nice game. The "3D" in the title is a bit confusing, or did i miss the point!?

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

When in overhead (yellow) mode you can jump out of, and fall into the screen. :P

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Certainly an interesting concept. Was a fun twist with the abilities and the race to combine them at times. Some of the puzzles were a bit tricky and some you could ignore a bit of by just 'yellow'ing over a bunch of stuff. Nicely done.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

very cool concept. the game was fun but i wasn't able to beat the fist level with the black holes. and a game with xbbox360 controller support :)

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I couldn't get it to run. :( Using 64-bit Windows 8, and I installed MonoGame, but it refuses to run, which is disappointing, because the previous comments made me want to play it.

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Very awesome game. Is the screen always stuck at that size though? Seems a bit big for default. Cool ideas and well executed.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Pretty neat idea. I have a thing for speedrun-type games. :P

NeuronFire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Hi, I'm running win7 x64 and the app crashes when I try to run it. I installed the monogame framework successfully. Any tips?

Thanks

hardycore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

For those who had trouble running I've updated the instructions. Try installing openAL, that should resolve any issues.

CappaGames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47am

Level 1 = 20.75
Level 2 = 24.45
Level 3 = 26.56
Level 4 = 57.68
Level 5 = 1:40.12

Awesome game guys! Love the Super Meat Boy style time trials style gameplay.

Some things to add:

A button to restart the level instead of just checkpoints so you can try and get the best time.

A quick tutorial level to explain the colors and mixtures...I had to read the page to understand why I was dying to the holes.

Good job, the game has potential!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

Didn't make it through Level 3, but until then it was quite fun to play. Nice mechanics and puzzles. Overall one of the best games I've played so far in this year's compo.
And although that's hardly important for LD-games, the menu transitions are very nice to look at.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Can't get it to run. It just crashes when I try to start it (Win XP, 32bit). :(

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Cool concept. The mixing colores were a good idea. Well the whole idea about 5 second abilities is nice. I really enjoyed playing the game.

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:13pm

This one is very clever! Especially liked how the different colors can be combined, awesome!

I gave up on level 4 with the series of small jumps. I quite bad at platformers though.

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Good! I was initially going to complain that this is NOT 3D but then I understood. :) I thought that was pretty clever and the level design was very good -- some a-ha moments and the game is careful not to get you stuck. Nice. My best times were not good (lots of retrying!):

1) 0:26.23
2) 0:44.31
3) 2:59.52
4) 2:31.07
5) 5:31.22

klianc09 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:13am

It's good to have Controller Support and everything, but if you have to play it with the Keyboard, I would at least like to remap my controls, at some point I couldn't advance because I couldn't jump while moving left-upwards. (Space+Left+Up Arrow keys and ghosting on my keyboard...)
Otherwise I really enjoyed the game, remembered me of other cool games.

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I really like the concept, especially how you switch between platformer and topdown :)

May 21, 2013 @ 12:55am

Very, very clever design. I loved the colored abilities and the combinations that could result. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]