April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anthead RPG

by Peter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my very first LD entry, I made the game in SDL. I did my best to maintain the theme of minimalism.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#306Humor2.64
#492Theme3.60
#1250Mood1.61
#1331Graphics1.34
#1341Innovation1.43
#1344Fun1.27
#1349Overall1.53

Comments

Crynix says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

It'd be nice if you built this for OS X and Linux too.

Peter says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Very well, good sir. It shall be done.

Peter says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

So, my mother won't let me boot into debian. If any of you has linux, you can download the source file I included with the project, you just need to build the project with SDL 1.2; I'd appreciate it.

Eternal_Rest says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 1:59pm

So can you do anything other than move that ant around the screen?

Peter says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Nope! I hope you enjoyed the game, sir.

feyleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I've spent so much time on this RPG. It's tough to put down :)

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:34am

Well, it's a starting point!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

Very funny on the minimalism concept xD hahahahaha

Scott McBee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47am

A game generally has some sort of goal or failure condition...

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

I don't know why, but I laughed.

nathanj439 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57am

I like the "eh" comment.

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03am

The simplicity is almost artistic, I would say. There's a strong postmodern feel to it, as suggest by the violet square background, the simple ant. The title supports this perspective--the explicit "RPG" label without any traditional gameplay elements associated with RPGs. It's asking: What is the RPG? What are RPG elements? And that's a very fitting question for the current industry climate; almost all modern games have taken to leveling aspects and there's even the gamification of not-gaming apps, challenging that either all of these ideas are RPGs or that maybe RPGs must involve other elements--but what? And that's just one side to this game; the purple square casts obvious allusions to Kazimir Malevich's famous Black Square on a White Ground. It states bluntly and plainly: "This is whatever you want it to be. The message is of the viewers'."

So, yeah, not sure that something of that depth quite fits the theme though. :/

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20am

All the fun of being an ant, without all the feet stepping on you.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53am

Playing this game made me feel like I could carry 50 times my body weight in pixels.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54am

It's not much of anything.

LizEngland says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Well, you get high marks for the theme, that's for sure.

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Well, the any moves when I press the directional keys! That's pretty cool, but some additional gameplay would be nice :).

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:25am

I guess it makes sense the arrow keys don't repeat.

Kashi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:36pm

dafuq did i just ... 5/5

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I'm lost for words here - so I have to give you some credit for that.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:37am

There's minimal everything in this game. Including minimal gameplay!

baldwinthree says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Good start. Magenta background hurts the brain though

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:17am

Not really an RPG. You could have spent more time on it (if I recall, you actually finished on the first day)

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:19am

A good start to get your hand in programming; though a shame you didn't go further. You should continue with it (leaving the extreme minimalism behind) and work on making it a game with a proper lose/win condition.

Norgg says ...
Apr 10, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Still a classic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]