April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Merkaba

by NostraDamon - Jam Entry

Your Merkaba is running out of fuel so you decide to stop by the nearest planet inhabited by Chanaks. You suddenly realize their planet offers an abundant amount of crystals that harness the energy needed to power your Merkaba.
Your mission is to collect 10 crystals and bring them back to your Merkaba.

...please try not to harm the Chanaks.
______________________________________

Controls: Left Click/Space to turn right
Press 'R' to restart the current room (it can help if you are stuck)

______________________________________

Programming / Game Design: Damien Sueur (@NostraDam0n)
Art / Animation: Karlo Santa Ana

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#23Graphics(Jam)4.42
#87Humor(Jam)3.09
#107Innovation(Jam)3.48
#108Mood(Jam)3.51
#140Overall(Jam)3.48
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#198Audio(Jam)3.15
#215Fun(Jam)3.05

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

I got stuck in an object with two crystals left. All I can say is I am now left with more questions than answers. Aliens must have did it. Aliens.

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

AMAZING.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

Very pretty art, I loved kicking does little orange things.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Absolutely gorgeous game. The direction of minimalism with having you charge and turn right was an interesting idea that made for some interesting puzzles. Unfortunately, I couldn't find many crystals and it could be difficult to tell where you could pass on to the next screen, but the beauty of this game, coupled with the fact that it certainly matches the minimalist style, overrides the fact that I didn't think the gameplay was my cup of tea.

Please continue to do more games in the future, with lots more gorgeous art!

aaron9000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

I love the colors and animation

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

Looks absolutely stunning.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

Haha that was extremely amusing, fits theme very well!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

brilliant !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:24am

Really nice graphics! I got stuck in a rock after a while though...

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

Very good, except a few bugs (i keep spawning the middle of trees after a while!) but love the art !

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

Like others here I kept getting stuck in rocks, visually really impressive though!

RedSounding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

Great graphics. Got stuck in a tree though! Fun, good game.

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:48am

Nice graphics, the game is missing sound and I had to give up twice because I somehow got "out of bounds" skipping some obstacle by accident, so I could no longer leave the current screen.

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:55am

Ah, disregard my comment regarding sound. Should check I didn't forget turning on the speakers. :)

runonthespot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Lovely art, especially.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Really awesome game. Only turning one way made it really interesting. Good job :)

Meep says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:56am

Beautiful art! Great work! :D

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

Love the visuals! :D Love the idea of only one button.

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14am

Beautiful Game! Stunning really.

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Totally awesome graphics! Unfortunately this gem is plagued with some collision bugs as more than once I got locked inside a rock or a tree unable to continue the game. Just managed to find 4 crystals, but I will try again latter for it is one of the best games of LD26.

Music is amazing also. I'm really impressed!

JohnnySix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:23pm

First game I've managed to complete so far haha, I got stuck the first time, but gave it another shot - gotta say awesome work on the art and for for producing such a large layout. I was probably hoping for too much for an end cinematic - as the giant dude pounding the ground on one layout whet the appetite for more animation. Good luck in the contest. :)

GertJohnny says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:22am

I got all the way to the last crystal, and then the pushing puzzle got me stuck in an unrecoverable state. even if I hit R to restart, the collision map was all offset no matter where I went. Curious how it ends!

nodoxi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:49am

i completed the game
spoiler!
http://dropi.ru/JVp.jpg

NostraDamon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Ahah good job nodoxi. You can find the map here though: http://evasionadomicile.re/NostraDamon/Merkaba/Merkaba-Map.pdf

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:35am

Was pretty fun to play, was a bit frustrating with the mechanic and the ending was a little abrupt but other than that it was a pretty good game. Nice one.

May 9, 2013 @ 1:50pm

This seems like it would be an interesting world to explore, but the 1 button mechanic made it to frustrating for me to want to go any further than getting the first crystal. The collision also seemed a little off from where I thought it should be in several cases. Cool idea though and nice art too.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Hilarious and wild! Um. one button, huh?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:06am

this was truly as awesome game -- even tho the controls were frustrating -- great job!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Can't run on win32 (not a valid win32 application), and my computer won't run the unity web player =/ I can't play your game :(
(but I can play almost all unity games ported to windows)

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:11am

The graphics were really nice, the gameplay mechanics were interesting and the sound the player makes when punching things was quite humorous. The only problem was that the audio was too quiet.

Andromatta says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:30am

Enjoyed playing through this! Not sure if reducing it to one button adds anything; it could still be minimal with arrow key controls. Also no credit for the music? I was able to pick it out as this song from Reprisal: https://soundcloud.com/eric-skiff/hhavok-main

Sestren says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:37am

I think if the collision with objects were tightened up some more, the turning mechanism wouldn't be so annoying, but as it stands, it was very difficult keeping him from going off into areas I'm sure he wasn't supposed to be able to get to. I really liked the look and the sound, though. When I got all the crystals, at first I didn't know what I was supposed to do, but I did eventually find the giant crystal.

radmars says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Interesting concept & great graphics, but uncredited music? That's a really shitty thing to do :/

jolle says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Pretty clever game, certainly minimal controls. Got a bit frustrated at the north west most (I think) screen, but got it. Nice look.

Super Hamster says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Interesting idea and really annoying but I guess that was supposed to be so, so good job. Could use so more polishing as I did manage to walk through the wall and get one of the gems without actually getting it correctly.

Alphonsus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:03am

Finished it! :D Love the mood. Nice work!

lotusgame says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:07am

Wow ! Superb game and you have had the courage to implement a truly minimalist gameplay ! It is a little disturbing at the beginning but it fits totally with the theme. Your graphics are very cute, i should have prefered them more minimalist, but it's a hard choice too ;) Congrats !

mrspeaker says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:59am

Fantastic game - I loved your "flow control" techniques and hint methods. And those graphics, beautiful!

TurboDindon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:11am

Good entry, graphics and mood are very cool.
Maybe a bit repetitive after a time and sometimes very frustrating ; for example a few tubs are difficult to move correctly.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Madball says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:05pm

It`s cool. I liked that you came up with the whole universe. However, I don`t like how pixel and not pixel art are combined.
This is also very fun to play. I liked the puzzle aspect. The collision box is very unintuitive though.
I got stuck in a wall. While being stuck in a wall, I moved to another screen, so "R" couldn`t save me anymore. After some time running around inside walls, I managed to get out... It was hard to see what was going on there, but I think I moved to an unexisting screen, and appeared one screen to the left...

MrShoestore says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I was having a real fun time playing this until i got stuck in some trees, then quit playing before I realized there was a reset button. very very good. and the art! hot damn.

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Web-Version did not work for me (Linux Mint 12).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]