April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Coin Collector

by anbreizh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD or Arrows to run/jump. Collect as many coin as possible !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#90Fun3.66
#267Overall3.47
#294Audio3.13
#348Humor2.56
#548Mood2.89
#679Innovation2.97
#751Graphics2.77
#831Theme3.25

Comments

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35am

ahahha I keep dying XD, cool concept but i'm missing the sound :(, well done though

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37am

Very well polished! I like it :D

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:42am

Feels really fluid, nice work!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46am

Really tough, but also addictive!

Also, when you hit Space on the web version, the splash text for "Sluggish!" pops up, doesn't seem intended. Just thought you ought to know.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57am

Pretty well done, far better than my entry for sure! I really like the graphic style you used.

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

Tough little game, surprisingly challenging... I could see myself playing a few minutes a day for weeks.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Nice game. One of the runthroughs I played, I got a magnet that gave me a boatload of coins, so now I doubt I can ever beat that score without another magnet though.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Well done! Its simple yet addictive. Nice use of the theme too :)

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32am

More addictive than I'd like to admit :D

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

It's a bit hypnotizing! Fun little game, even though I keep dying :P

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

For some reason I couldn't stop playing. The fact that the "coin magnet" power was so strong made me want to strategize about where to position myself on the screen so I could collect the power-ups most efficiently, although it does kind of disincentivise going after the coins themselves. Music is very good, has that Tetris feel to it and I never got tired of it.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very cute game. I found it too difficult. Might have been better if it started slower so I could get used to the controls and not die in the first few seconds.

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

This was fun. Harder than it looks.

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Diabolical! Haha, great entry.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

Cool, I loved how creative and at the same time classic it was. I don't like too much writing my name everytime I lose, but maybe is because I lose too much :p

Nsmurf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great! My best score was 688.
COIN MAGNET OP!!! NEED NERF COIN MAGNET!!!

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

This game really "feels" good. Very well polished, good job!

VeeEM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

It's a solid arcade game, but I wish I didn't have to reach for the mouse each time I want to play again.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27am

Fun song that lends itself well to the frenetic pace of gameplay. I liked the leaderboard, encouraging me to keep trying to get a higher score. Fun!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

this is indeed very addictive!

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Very good game! it's fun and challenging. Everybody likes collecting coins.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Very fun game- I even managed to survive a double speed "power up" at some point. This game is very addictive and challenging. Very well done. What's the idea with writing "Sluggish" when I hit space in the web version? :)

svenardo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

Nice work

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25am

awesome

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

O.O I wasn't expecting so much comments :D Thanks for the support.

The space key should'nt do anything, it's a debug feature that I left by mistake in the late hours rush :(

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

Very nice! And very addictive...

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

how an adorable character :) but died so lot. nice sound, graphic, really enjoyed.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Really fluid movement and physics. I like it!

arkeus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Fun game. It felt like there was a lot of luck involved. I found the fastest way to a high score was upon starting, if a blue powerup didn't spawn, refresh and hit start (also I might have missed a hotkey or something, but I couldn't seem to restart without submitting a score, so refreshing was faster). Felt like high scores are correlated to whether or not you get multiple magnet powers (though of course getting good at getting to power ups and not dying helps!).

That said, I still loved it and it's kept my attention more than the other games I've played so far. :)

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

There is a big "restart" button on top of the game over screen if you don't want to submit your score :D :D

As for the hotkey, I had one initially but it kept messing with the input text so it was removed :(

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

This is freaking awesome! Very cool, frantic, hard - but not frustrating. Great job buddy!

Ace says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really nice game, the music is simple and slightly addictive. I also like the powerups, though the platforms dissappear a bit too quickly after leaving the screen, so you can't leap off one just as it goes off-screen.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

Loved it!

Cy4n1d says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

nice work. sometime the spawn is very crazy

Yacodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Keep dying too, but I want to play again and again ! :D
(Can't submit score with the Enter key, or I missed something ?)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30am

Hard but fun! Nice music, too.

CptBubbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

Simple, but addicting. I like it!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Difficult :P

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Pretty fun!

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This is actually one of my favorites so far. Really addictive and genuinely fun. Feels authentically retro. Great work!

Szedouu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

nice work

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Thanks again for all the nice comments. It feels really good.

Also, I do know for you, but I can't take this damn song out of my head. It's been bugging me since I made it 24h ago :D

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Pretty cool actually. Simple fun. Good work.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Good stuff, kinda wish the platforms were a bit more uniform in their movements though. Looks great and it's fun

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

That is super addictive, really fun!

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

This one ended up surprising me quite a bit. I quite disliked the way it looked and I found the music quite annoying to the point where I decided to mute the audio while I played.

Once I actually got to grips with how to play the game I found it was incredibly fun. Timing jumps, scanning the platforms, planning ahead, it felt like the same sort of thought process as playing something like Puyo Puyo, Lumines or Tetris. The selection of powerups and powerdowns really added to the game and furthered its strategy. The concept itself felt fairly innovative as well, and it was very easy to pick up and get into right way.

Overall I found the game an incredibly enjoyable experience, and feel that if a more polished version of the same concept was remade as a new game, it could end up fetching a decent audience. Good work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Very nice game, lots of fun packed into a little screen. Good job!

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

It's pretty fun, however I would like to have an indicator telling me how long my powerups still had. I thought I had a double jump, but as I fell to my death I realized it had been shut off and had not warned me

Still, it's pretty fun. The sound design I really liked, it all meshed together quite well

stefenism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I can see how this could be very fun if developed further. I enjoyed it.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great music, highly addictive. I'm coming back to play this more! Slightly reminiscent of an old game called ZUB, in a good way!

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Neat take on a simple concept

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Pretty good game! It was pretty difficult, but manageable. I enjoyed the soundtrack and thought it was pretty suitable. I felt the controls were a little sluggish, but it didn't compromise playability.

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Cool, simple and fun!

larb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Simple, yet brilliant. I could play for hours. But I might go insane listening to that song for hours... Maybe add a music on/off switch. Great fun! Nice job.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great game! I am terrible at it, but that's my fault. Good Job!

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Fun little game. I really liked the music and the overall retro feel of it. Only thing I did not like was that I had to constantly switch from keyboard to mouse and vice versa - partly my fault for dying a lot I guess, but it would be great if "retry"/"restarting" could be done via the keyboard. Otherwise great entry :)

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

This is awesome!!!! hahahahahahahaha very simple and very fun!

Congratulations! You nailed it!

here's mine:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=12398

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Not bad. Pretty difficult, but I wish there was a bigger level, or more than one

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Pretty fun, and an interesting idea, although it didn't have much to do with the theme.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Cute game. Simple, addictive, and probably the first time I've seen platforms all moving diagonally on a screen at once. =)

Funkiside says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

This game needs only 1 thing: R to restart
Great game, thanks.

Aceria says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice idea. With some development this could be very cool. At the moment my life span is around five seconds!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]