April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Where therefore we go

by pjchardt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Where therefore we go is made to speak for itself. I am happy to hear any and all feedback. Thank you for playing :)

Developed in Unity using C#

Graphics inspired by Barnett Newman's Voice Of Fire

http://www.inudge.net/ for music, recorded to audacity

used Bfxr and audacity for sfx

Photoshop for graphics

edit 1:
A Linux build is included now. However the best experience is playing the web version. If anyone is interested I can include Mac/PC builds as well. I just haven't because the web build is the optimal play experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#52Mood3.85
#89Theme4.12
#107Innovation3.80
#139Overall3.69
#191Audio3.32
#219Graphics3.62
#690Humor2.05
#720Fun2.80

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

This is not only a game, it's art. Well done

nurabsal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

guys. guys. this is one of those special ones that actually means something in a greater context and makes you feel.

play it all the way through. no cheating and skipping with this one. chop chop now.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

the plot(or should I say metaphor) behind this game is awesome. one point: the fade in/out effect is too slow for me

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

The only problem I have is the little slide to stop that occurs when you stop input. In the tight spots between two bars, this can end in frustration as you try to park a letter to wait.
Otherwise, very artistic and clean!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Wow. Very nice! Reminds me a lot of And Yet it Moves in the sense of art style and sound, as well as the very unique gameplay. Nice work!

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

Excellent draw on resources from art. Excellent sound building. Excellent use of multiple windows. Excellent way of conveying information to the player. It even LOOKS like the minimalism art movement. This is awesome.

notajetski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

quick suggestion: change the background on the web player to an off-black so we can tell what's the background and what's a bad thing. Other than that, absolutely stellar.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Overall amazing! I think this has all been said but here is what I noticed too: The pace is a little slow at times. The slide when you stop makes a few timing puzzles harder than they seem. The black being a goal and death is confusing.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Thanks for all the feedback. The black background of the web page and the harmful black are meant to be the same color. This is a design decision because it has metaphorical meaning within the story. That being said, I see the point of confusion, especially about the goal being black. Looks like the game play suffers from a story decision. Same seems to be the case for movement. The slide is because all 4 characters move as a unit (for narrative reasons), and I couldn't get the code to stop on a dime and behave properly in motion because the group interpolates it's position. I will keep all the feedback in mind. Thanks again.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Marvelous.

bigbazwa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Very well done! My only nitpick is that the fades are sooo slow.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Excellent mood / art / ideas, one of the best entries I've yet seen... my only problem is that it's too slow, occasionally bordering on boring (slow pace, extra slow fadeouts and fadeins...)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Nice game! Slow pacing though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Man, that's the best entry i've seen so far. Kudos, I hope you'll win. Great job.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Could you please upload the .exe to it? I'm on Linux and I even made a post regarding to this (wow xD)...

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Very nice style. The sound kind of creeped me out on those first levels ;)

pknowles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I really do appreciate having many-button keyboards a whole lot more now

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Loved the progression in this one, probably my favourite game from the ones I've played so far. I agree that its a bit too slow at times.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

@AngelDE98: Yes, I will post an .exe, it might take a few hours.
May I ask where you posted about it?

I think there is general consensus that the game is too slow. It is supposed to be slow to provoke thought and be a sort of meditative experience forcing patience in the player. However, it seems the speed is messing with the pacing thus getting in the way of the experience as a whole. Maybe I can make a post compo version? Thanks everyone for the feedback.

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

PRetty nice game, some curious artistic moves there, but by the end felt too long for its own content.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

@pjchardt
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/21/unity-linux/
That's the post.

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

So, now my real comment after waiting for the linux version:

The game itself could've been faster but then it wouldn't tell the "story" it just told with it's art style and it's gameplay. Everything in all it's a game that I would like to see as a longer but faster (without destroying the meaning of the story) version.

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I like how the character's a W. It's a cool game.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48am

Loved it. Seriously guys you do need to play this to the end. This is one of those rare games that conveys something and tells a story with the game mechanics themselves.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

Fabulous use of multiple windows and simultaneous control. I love the way the "family" builds and retires. It's not a game you can attack and cruise through on your way to playing all 2300+ LD games; it's really rewarding to finish.

Lovely art, music, style, design. The exploration part in the middle reminded me of the middle of Frog Fractions.

Great work, here.

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

It's perfect. I just don't have anything else to say. Fade ins and outs are fine, controls are brilliant, you don't need to change them. Black border wasn't confusing a bit to me also. The only thing that 'disappointed' me just a little bit was the fact that at the end the W didn't appear on the background and game didn't restart in such a way, i kinda expected that, though it wasn't logical in terms of story.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

thanks for the comment on my game! Wow this is one of the most creative games ive seen :) love the graphics and mood

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:24am

Looks great. Maybe I'm impatient but I wish it was a little faster paced though.

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34am

Solid entry. I'm quite impressed :)

Colapsydo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

Really love it.
The way the gameplay is brought, the graphics, the sound, everything is good.
Really nice work.

TenTonToon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33am

Awesome implementation of the theme in every aspect of the game! It's artsy, moody and leaves a lasting impression. I especially liked the painted backgrounds; having your "signature" on the title screen (and after beating the game) is quite appropriate.

It's interesting to note how our two games have some basic similarities, yet they are vastly different.

Congratulations! :)

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Beggining was too slow paced, but then when other letters appear its a blast. Great idea.

Michael Hall says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:30am

Probably the best games I've rated so far. Good job.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:19am

A fascinating study of limiting the player's interaction, as a methodolgy of telling a story. It's vague enough to be subjective based on a person's experience, but I really enjoyed it! Can't wait to see more!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:14am

WOW! That was the most thought provoking game I've played in a long time. Nailed the theme and I love the art style!

Misael.K says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:37am

Nice flow, although the pace is excruciatingly slow. I understand that you were going for a "thought-out" and deep game, but it can do that and feel agile at the same time.
Considering this, I believe this was a nice experience.
I particularly liked the multi-view gameplay, and I wished that it had come sooner, and more often.

May 20, 2013 @ 4:02am

An interesting letter tale. I kind of wish the limited direction this was used a bit more, and with some further developing this could be something interesting, but enjoyed it regardless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]