April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

shon

by ilovepixel - Jam Entry

Gameplay:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5PkmnhQOtg

This game is about protecting the cores, called shon, while they are growing up. You have to use your cursor to spawn little spirit bubbles that make the parasites disappear.
You have three difficulty levels in which you'll have to protect different amounts of shon.

** If you play the web version and have a Kongregate account, could rate my game on there too, please. My cat will love you for ever.

Technical stuff
------------

Graphics: Photoshop ( just some shadow effect ) for everything else I abused of DrawCircle.

Programming: Monkey with no engine.

Sounds: GarageBand

Music: GarageBand

Aprox. Time of development: 12 hours.

--

Soon I'll be adding a version for Android, Windows & MacOSX

-- Update --

I've added a new thing to the game, I hope it makes it a bit more fun. Now the cores ( shon ) move around bouncing. I've also fixed the background problem on different screen sizes.

I've updated Web, MacOSX and Windows version. I'll post the android link as soon as it gets published on Google Play.

-- Update 2 --

Android version UP!

--LAST MINUTE UPDATE #3 --

After reading some feedback I decided to add 2 more enemy parasites. Also I've added a margin to the game so it's easy to get the parasites on the edges.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#50Theme(Jam)4.01
#96Mood(Jam)3.55
#110Audio(Jam)3.47
#112Innovation(Jam)3.47
#115Overall(Jam)3.57
#129Fun(Jam)3.30
#179Graphics(Jam)3.61
#380Humor(Jam)1.69

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

pretty rad

tudd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

pretty cool.

the background doesn't fill the screen on android though :(

it's so clever, however it doesn't really hold my interest. maybe the game could get harder/faster/both as time goes on?

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

Thanks for the comments. I've added now that the cores move around bouncing so it's a bit more tricky now.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Rad game, it fits the theme perfectly and is fun to play ! The sound work is also excellent.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

This really goes with the minimal theme. Great colors. Good work! :)

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

nicely done! Didn't expect an android port (neat!)
great execution on the minimalism theme!

StuStutheBloo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Great fun! Really like this one.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

This is sweet! Pretty easy at first, with a nice panic-inducing difficulty curve to keep things interesting. Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Pretty cool :)

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Great atmosphere. More difficult than it looks in the beginning. Gets a little boring after a while.

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Chilling mood

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Very nice! Clever mechanic, like Eufloria crossed with Missile Command. I just wished the camera followed my core; it was frustrating to have it drift near an edge and be unable to anticipate stuff coming at me.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Very well done, i like the calm and patient mood of it. The audio, in particular, fits perfectly. Gameplay could be more complex, but this is a solid foundation.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Relaxing game, great sounds and simple graphisms. As tctyle said, it would have been less boring with more variety...

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Awesome. Interesting mechanic, deceptively difficult, and cohesive and consistent.

numpad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Great game. Difficulty is good. Love to play it on android!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

I spent way too much time playing this! :)

I really enjoyed playing it on the web, it's very relaxing and the audio/graphics really support that.

I started out playing on the android version which played differently from the web one. It seemed to play slower on my phone which is probably because it's an older 2.3 one. I didn't seem to get enough bubbles back after they disappear so there were periods where I didn't have any new bubbles to spread which actually gave a bit of a tactical angle to the gameplay which I quite enjoyed, but it became to difficult to play.

I wanna play more of this on my phone! :)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Thanks a lot for the feedback. Right now I am working on a new update which will include more enemies.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Great game.

Found a bug, when playing with two circles, let first red hit my circle, since then some red circles were stopping in right top corner without aim to go.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

That was pretty tense. Nice strategy of weighing staying near or making a perimeter around.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

A game that looks fun to develop! I like the simplicity and the visuals the best

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

Very amusing and fun!

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

A very smooth and slow paced game. I liked the concept of growing the cores and protecting them. Some of the sounds got annoying after while though. Good job.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

Simple and beauty!
Its so relaxing and simple. It's awesome, dude. Very well done!

TravisChen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41am

Love building walls with the bubbles. Reminded me of Osmos meeds Hundreds.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41am

Fun idea, I like it! Implementation is also pretty smooth.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

Very nice. Really like the controls.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

Wow nice game !

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

I enjoyed this, I would love to play a more fleshed out version on a touch screen :D.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20am

The music and gameplay are just so relaxing, I needed that. Thanks for a great game!

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Great mood and excellent presentation. I like to think of it as "Shepherd Simulator 2013"... The wolves ate my sheep =[

Guess I'm not cut out to be a shepherd after all.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Really nice! At first I thought I had to mouse over to destroy the enemies but I was pleasantly surprised at the bubble mechanic. All the sfx, and particle effects add to the feel. Great mood!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Really nice game, haven't seen a mechanic like that before. Good visual too keeps you interested and playing. Well done!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Nice idea and presentation. Great use of the minimalism theme.

The difficulty scale from level 2 to level 3 is crazy though.

Oliver Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

It's a great concept and is quite fun at first, but the game doesn't get hard fast enough.

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

really nice but i ended up spamming around the middle.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

nice concept and i like the idea with the bubbles. pretty relaxed :)

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Love the music

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

Love the atmosphere and the gameplay. It's also very chalenging! Pretty cool idea, I have to play it on tablet, i may take sense a lot more. Very good entry, I'm charmed <3

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:48am

Very relaxing. Fun and beautiful. Me likes it.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:23am

I like that you just move the mouse around and don't even have to click.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32am

Awesome!
It's simple but hard,
I like the bgm, it really suit for the game.
Good job!:p

saampahlavan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18am

I really enjoyed this. It was an nice take on a sorta keep away / tower defense game.

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25am

Nice cool relaxing game. Got to a score of 500 in the first run.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

Nice minimal graphics! Great job on the mechanics.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:13am

Nice game, it gets pretty addictive once you learn the tricks of the mechanics! good job!

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

For such a simple mechanic this is really great. Good work.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:11am

Strangely addicting game. I like its minimalistic style.

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I love the ambience of the game, its pretty fun and the graphic style while simple, looks pretty nice. Good game, its quite the challenge as well.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

quite good

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I love it! Minimalistic and fun!

Wiering says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Nice little game.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This is pretty great! Missile Command meets Osmos, and yet it's entirely unlike either of those. I really like how the growing core gives you an increasing level of difficulty that naturally adapts to how well the player is doing. The music is nice and relaxing, and my only point of criticism would be the sound effect of enemies dying, which gets a bit annoying after a while.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Loved playing it on my phone. This game is really addictive!

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:12am

Neat. Liked the sounds. Controls were awesome on web version. Loved the change-up with different enemies.

Gungnir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:18am

Well done, I enjoyed this. It does get a bit boring though.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57pm

On level 1 it seemed like I could win by just swirling my mouse around the core over and over again, which got a bit dull. Levels 2 and 3 kicked me in the butt, though, and I had a lot more fun with my attentions divided!

jijaweb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Relaxing. Cool game. Nice mechanics.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice audio. It gives a nice mood.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

Great game. Perfectly fits the theme. Congratz!

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:59am

Really nice game man! I loved the gameplay idea. It could be added on to make a fuller game, but you kept this minimalistic and it was really well executed.

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:21am

Really awesome audio and graphics!

May 4, 2013 @ 3:05am

Pretty cool! I Remembered of Osmos while i played.

May 4, 2013 @ 4:34am

I love the ambience and the overall mood; the difficulty scaled very nicely and I really liked how you allow the player to choose the number of cores they want to start with. Awesome job! And thank you again for playing our game on your Twitch stream!

-Rosypenguin
(This is a team account)

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice look and gameplay - reminds me a little of my game :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Pretty cool, I liked the mechanics, especially how you could set up a shield of bubbles that would persist for a few seconds.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very cool. I wonder how people conceive of this style of game with its combination of vector-y graphics and airy atmosphere.

tsb says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I loved the simplicity, and the music added a lot to the overall effect, great entry m8!

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:44pm

very cool :)

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:50am

Peaceful and beautiful. Certainly minimalist. Well executed!

juaxix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:21am

The game is a little stressful, you could try something more dynamic with the movement of the main balls, something more predictive and , with the protections generation to have several ranges, for example...what do you think?
good overall anyway

ilovepixel says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:22pm

@juaxix Great idea, I was actually thinking the first movement of the core to be random and then you could generate 2 types of bubbles, one to control the core and other to protect it, this way you can choose if you want to go for a more defensive strategy, offensive or mix between both. Thanks for the feedback :D

nintendoeats says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Very interesting mechanic, and I also quite like the aesthetic. I felt like it became more interesting in level 2 when it started demanding that I think about it in terms of trails rather than just clicking on the circle I want to take care of. There is no way in heck I will ever get past level 3.

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:48pm

nice concept, perfect for mobile. nice sounds too

glbs says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Neat! Pretty visuals, music also, well done!

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:33am

Nice entry. Lovely atmosphere :)

May 10, 2013 @ 4:21am

Simple concept but it is really well used! Tempted to try out the Android version just because someone actually tried to make it. Kudos to you for this!

shawn42 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:18am

I really enjoyed this game. I think you nailed the theme and found a way to make a seemingly calm starting game get very engaging and tense. Great work.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Good atmoshpere, well made and interesting, kept me interested for quite a long time. But sometimes I felt I couldn't do anything to prevent parasites from getting me due to the bubble spawn rate limitation. I don't really know what to do against this issue. Also, your audio loop could be better :) But good game overall, I liked it.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Planting bubbles to block purple circles interested me. If you continue to develop this, I wasn't sure what would happen when the inner circle filled the outer circle. I could plant many bubbles and they appeared instantly, so that I began to lose interest.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice game!

May 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Neat concept! Reminded me of Osmos :)

Sylvain says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice atmosphere and graphics.

lasergans says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:09am

Cool, like the gameply and the colors :) Good game, makes fun!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Amazing. The gameplay is much deeper than it seems at first, I really liked the evolution of strategy that I went through throughout the levels. The quickest way to improve the game I think would be to add in some variations in the pop sounds, as that's simple to do.

Awesome job. Good luck with your ratings :)

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Strange combination of relaxing and nerve-wracking. I like the concept, and the background music is very soothing.

Xanjos says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:58am

Pretty fun and addictive gameplay concept. The music really gave an relaxing and atmospheric mood.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]