April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Staring Contest

by timtimtimtim - Jam Entry

Staring Contest

Credits:
Josh Shockley: concept, sound, staring
Tim: "programming"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.54
Coolness66%
#67Audio(Jam)3.70
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#145Innovation(Jam)3.36
#215Fun(Jam)3.05
#216Mood(Jam)3.13
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#497Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

shama says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

lol

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Oh, this is great. The music makes it :D

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

Hilarious!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

That was great!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19am

You bastard! *cries*

Dissing says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Epic sounds!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Challenging. I can't seem to win.

Markusn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

haha, awesome!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

That was pretty epic, and probably one of the most fitting entries.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49am

Lol, I didn't actually think you could win this.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28am

Success! You lasted 202.103 seconds - And I don't feel like I wasted even a milisecond, good work!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Haha, veery funny !

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Hahahaha. The idea was funny enough in itself, but the blinking confession button was what made me burst out laughing.

Milktoast says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

I accidentally clicked on the JPG and stared at it for a wile before noticing I wasn't playing the game. =) The game is much better!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

you're cheating, you're just a picture. Haha nice use of them, clever gameplay. I like it, although I do feel like you're kind of cheating this whole game development thing :P

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

Not really a game, per se.... But a brilliant entry, none-the-less. Love it.

Teejay5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13am

im crying

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

Haha, amazing!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

okay this made me laugh the most of anything so far :D

JigxorAndy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:35am

Funniest game of the jam! I blinked!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41am

LOL LOL LOL ! Seriously, another terrible idea turned into something great. Kudos!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27am

Turns out it's really hard to laugh and not blink at the same time.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:59am

This is so hilarious, especially the audio :D

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52am

You go home and cry! Cool stuff!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:33am

"You got what my daddy calls bitch eyes" :D

kacperski1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Best. Game. Ever.
Make him animated, do more sounds and release it on Steam! :D

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

Fantastic use of theme! Only suggestion is to maybe use video if you go for a larger release?

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:06am

For me it's stuck on the loading sound screen even if I click on start anyway. Maybe my firefox extensions, but I enabled everything I could...

May 6, 2013 @ 5:06am

lol, well done. I wish this music played every time I had a staring contest.

May 6, 2013 @ 5:34am

Needs better AI

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:15am

Hahaha nice one!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:54am

Hilarious :) Would be cool to see some animation in the eyes, but overall, it does what it needs to. Clever.

May 6, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Ha! Fantastic!

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Oh brilliant. That was hilarious.

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:24am

Was pretty funny how the guy was yelling at me and even said how stupid I was to think he was programmed to blink, then actually blinked. Was really funny to play. Really nice job.

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:24am

Best Game Ever. Nuff Said.

martijn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Hilarious game, very enjoyable. Maybe you should add an option to detect if the game loses focus (Like if you open another tab) and make that count as a blink.

kill0u says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Wait.. what?

Sestren says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:14pm

The dialogue really made it great.

Spiridios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Not sure how I should score you on innovation. On the one hand, staring contest must be the oldest game ever. On the other than, *it's on the internet*, and that was good enough to be called innovative in the 90's.

Jeremias says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:17pm

The background music makes it just perfect. I'm not sure how to rate graphics. :D just a joke.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Awesome. 3 minutes, but I am sure it doesn't blink.

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Ouch, I blinked. Intense green eyes.

MrShoestore says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:20am

i opened this game then during 'play' left and forgot about it for a bit... when i came back im pretty sure i saw the eyes get bigger....

nimblegorilla says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:06am

Very funny

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:00am

Too hard, but funny.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:40pm

48 seconds !

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Oh wow, you're brilliant. A single button? One image? Several lines of dialogue?

Oye Beto says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:55pm

haha xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]