April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nothing

by mollymus - Jam Entry

8 levels. Just run.



W to jump
A to freeze (remember, can freeze in mid air!)
D to roll

Edit:
Added a html5 version of the game! (Libgdx rules!)

Lots of people seem to be struggeling as early as level 1, so we uploaded a youtube video to help you get started!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mL07puLfT0s
Video is about 30 sec long, and shows me completing the first level!

Developed by Dagger, using libgdx and Spine.
http://www.dagger.se
https://twitter.com/daggergamedev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#166Graphics(Jam)3.65
#183Audio(Jam)3.22
#251Mood(Jam)3.04
#270Humor(Jam)2.15
#301Overall(Jam)3.04
#356Fun(Jam)2.69
#368Theme(Jam)3.00
#416Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Nice graphics, but meh gameplay. and so dang hard. I didn't have the patience after the 4th spike kept getting me.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Graphics are nice and really smooth, but it's really hard to get past the first few spikes. Anyway, good job :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Collision was quite unforgiving, perhaps reduce the hitboxes a little!

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Good graphics, but as the others have stated after playing for 5 minutes and not making any progress, I had to give up. Too bad, because I really wanted to like this game.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Really great visual style, very hard game. Could be a little more forgiving at the outset? I learnt to love the freeze mechanic! Just chilli' in the sky, waiting for the buzz saws to pass underneath.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Woha, loads of people seem to struggle with the spikes early on!

The best tip I can give is to freeze the game and watch how the spikes move(assuming the trouble is with the vertical-horizontal combo spikes. It's really quite easy!)! All of our test subjects have been able to complete the game and enjoy the ending in 10-15minutes!

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

It looks great and has a real feeling about it. I really persisted with it because I wanted to love it (I'm a massive fan of twitch/high difficulty games) but I think the fact that it's so difficult so soon will frustrate a fair few people. After 5 minutes or so it finally clicked but then locked up for me when I started the 3rd level holding the freeze key :(

Massive potential in this one, I think.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Cool graphic, very minimal ;)

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

Like the graphics, and had quite a lot of fun hanging in mid air using the < arrow. But it is very, very difficult. Though that doesn't make a bad game. Good job!

dvdking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

Interesting mechanic with freezing. I agree that gameplay is kinda very hard... it looks easy, but actualy hard. I didn't make too much progress within 5 minutes.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Can't get it to start on mac :/
The screenshots look cool!

robotality says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice! As mentioned by others, this was really quite hard. But enjoyed the mood & overall feel :)

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

Best slow-mo ever! :)

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00am

Haha, I love the guy's hairstyle. My only problem, or rather, suggestion would be to do away with respawn time, like in Super Meatboy. I don't want to wait to play again, even if it is but an instant. And collisions were unforgiving at times... "I pressed roll, game! I pressed it!!!" And maybe the difficulty climbs too fast. BUT.

Awesome game!

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01am

Also, forgot to thank you for commenting on my game! :3

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Very good game, good graphism and audio.

Gameplay need some polish though.
I found the difficulty a bit hard:
- spike collision is a bit too far IMO so it is not straighforward to avoid them
- the gameplay need some learning, maybe you should have try an easiest beginning and also enabling all actions when progressing in the game (like at the beginning you only can jump, then you can roll, and finally freeze)

May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Very nice ! but ... it's very hard :) can't reach the 2nd level

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:57pm

This is some kind of a standout for its production values.

However, it's sad that the gameplay feels like it was never playtested. For a plain runner game, you should have a lot of reference material for making the controls work. The character's so slow and clumsy.

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The character's slow and clumsy?:o I would love to hear more about this.. It should be very responsive? Did you play the html5 version of the game? (I heard it laggs on some old computers in firefox, but works fine in chrome)

Gameplay was done in a day, so yeah it hasnt been playtested too much:p

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48am

I like the music and the art. It's very hard, as others have said - I would have been more okay with that if the intro screen weren't so long (or didn't come back after every death). Still, it was fun.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:48am

Ragequit.
Audio + GFX great = excellent mood. But the game... Even after learning how to use the freeze from the youtube tutorial it was just so damn hard / annoying I ragequit :/

kreischweide says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59am

Fits the theme but to difficulty is way off. Nice art and I love the running animation.

dick_claus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:14am

It's so difficult. Usually can't predict will i touch the obstacle or not. But music is so great. Can listen it forever.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Difficult and a bit frustrating, which is a shame because it looked great and had atmosphere

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Fun game! The freeze mechanic is interesting...

May 8, 2013 @ 7:11pm

starts out too hard, i couldn't get ANYWHERE!

geckojsc says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Haha, this is so awesome! I thought the poetry, exaggerated movement, and exhausted panting over the movie-style soundtrack made the whole game really amusing. While the levels were very difficult, it didn't feel frustrating, because they were quite short and the game was overall quite charming.

Great job!

kulhajs says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:31am

I like the difficulty of this game, it's really well set up. Although there is a lot of bugs, collisions seems to be a bit harsh, also controls and complete movement itself needs some improvement, for example I'd expect that I can push D mid-air and roll immediately when I land, also when I freeze mid-roll and tap W, I just stand up, and when you push W mid-roll you jump which seems to be weird. Anyway really liked the graphics, level design and everything else!

kirby_freak says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Great game! I didn't get all the way through the end, but I didn't think it was as hard as everyone said. Once you discover how to "game" the A button, it becomes a lot more manageable! I got to the third level and went "WHAT" and then after trying and experimenting got through fine. Although it did seem to glitch if I rolled then paused to let the thing following me get in front... Anyways, loved the music and graphics (even started humming it during the game), and the poem seemed nice from what I saw of it. Overall, great job!!

May 11, 2013 @ 5:59pm

C:\Documents and Settings\Oskar\Skrivebord>java -jar Nothing.jar
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" org.lwjgl.opengl.OpenGLException: Invalid enum (12
80)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Util.checkGLError(Util.java:59)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsContextImplementation.setSwapInterval(WindowsContextImp
lementation.java:113)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.setSwapInterval(ContextGL.java:232)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.DrawableGL.setSwapInterval(DrawableGL.java:86)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setSwapInterval(Display.java:1117)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.setVSyncEnabled(Display.java:1130)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglGraphics.setVSync(LwjglGraphics.java:408)
at com.me.Ludum.LudumGame.create(LudumGame.java:22)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:130)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:110)

May 11, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The music reminds me of Aquaria :)

May 12, 2013 @ 8:44am

Very unforgiving. It would have been nice to have more lives before the actual game over, but maybe it was a design decision.

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:34am

Fun game. Takes some time to get used to the whole jump, freeze mechanic but still a lot of fun. also really cool graphics.

JohnnySix says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Very tough - I think some of the issue is the natural tendency towards down arrow for roll. I wanted to press right arrow to go faster, but ended up rolling, and likewise, kept hammering the down key to roll, and instead became impaled on the spikes.

Dug the music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]