April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OIA

by jerrre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OIA gets its name from the vowels of Mondrian. I tried to put minimalism in, in is many as possible ways.

===============
==DESCRIPTION==
===============
OIA is a puzzle game about getting to the goal by removing as much blocks as possible, meanwhile you are automaticly creating a visual art work, and also the music will will become more and more minimal. All the instruction texts are Haikus. Also there is a lot of trinities involved, the minimum number to get a three dimensional relationship. Three colors, three sizes, three shapes, three color combinations, three vowels, three sounds, three levels, three sentences...
For help press 'h' in game or look at screenshot 2.

=============
==TECHNICAL==
=============
Created with LibGDX in Eclipse using Java. My goal was to create a browserbased game but I think I used one function which is not working in HTML5 so again a Java entry, should work fine, there's also an Android version, but it plays best on a desktop/laptop. Images are created in Pixen, music is generative but the sounds are created using Abletion Live and Audacity. Also GIMP was involved a bit and Hiero.jar for creating bitmapfonts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#45Innovation4.03
#142Theme4.03
#382Overall3.34
#566Mood2.86
#572Fun2.97
#616Audio2.61
#768Humor1.95
#890Graphics2.61

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Wow. That's what I call a complex level-design! Love it.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Innovative, but insanely complex - I could only beat the first level by copying your screenshot, lol.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Thanks and haha never thought about that, but I will keep it as a hint :P

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

It's hard which means it's challenging. I like challenges. Very very good brain twister.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Very very difficult, but at the same time also addicting. Perhaps add hints for dummies like me (reveal one block that should not be deactivated for example).

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Never expected that it is so difficult :P, revealing one block is hard because there are multiple solutions to every level :P
But thanks for the feed back

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

Very cool!, complex!

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Good idea but too complex for me ^^

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

It seems to be much easier if you clear the board and build up rather than starting with a full board.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

You sound like a true minimalist ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

This hurt my brain. Nice work.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Was challenging and fun!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Overwhelming at first, too many objectives, but once over that hump, it's simple, clear and engaging, really enjoyed this one. I would have liked to see outlines of the turned off shapes with a hint of color, so it would be more thought and less clicking. I lucked out and finishing the final level in 15, the only one I managed to do minimally.

jerrre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Thanks for the long feedback, the colors are still vaguely visible when turned off, but probably to vague for a lot of monitors :P, and 15 is real good, did not know it was possible to be honest

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Quite a nice range of puzzle mechanics! Not too strict, to keep in the casuals, but diverse enough to need to think. Music was a bit hectic for a puzzle game without a timer, yet interesting in its randomness. :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

Huh, crazy. At first the game seemed SUPER complicated, as I was overwhelmed by all of the icons on the screen with no text. Then I discovered the help button, and all was well. ;)

Pretty fun little puzzler! The music got kinda annoying, but it's cool that it's dynamic.

olkeencole says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:59am

Surprisingly easy to pick up after you do a bit of reading and testing. Plenty of elements to consider when picking blocks. Like someone said above, it seems to be easiest when you clear the board and start from there. The music is much less fun that way, though.

dotteri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Too complex and amazing at the same time. It's really challenging.

f7f5 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:04am

I loved the generative music! :)
But I'm not really a puzzle-lover so I ended up with a big headache before completing level 1...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]