April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

hexfree

by munshkr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First ludum dare!

The original idea was to make a real maze, but didn't make it on time :(

Made with Ruby + Gosu + Chingu.


Instructions:

Advance through the maze, each step increments your score (see window titlebar).


How to run:

# Windows
* Unpack zip
* Run hexfree.exe


# Linux (you need to have Ruby 1.9+ installed)
* Unpack source zip
* Run on directory:

$ gem install bundler
$ bundle
$ ruby hexfree.rb


If you have any issues, please comment them.

Thanks for playing! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

This was quite fun, if only there was a score!

munshkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Thanks! Score was added at the last minute (on the window titlebar :P)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I seem to be reset sometimes without hitting a wall. Gameplay has potential.

euske says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I quite like it even though it feels unfinished. The game crashed once when I died with no apparent error.

Xeke_Death says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I was getting reset without hitting anything as well. Other than that, interesting game. Does it speed up at all? I wasn't alive beyond 150 points to find out.

Zaxuhe says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:27pm

I wish I could play some more but after some time I restarted without colliding to anything!

dalbinblue says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I had the same problems with the game resetting after a short amount of time, it looked like it was happening after going straight for a while, so I'm wondering if it's a matter of moving out of some boundary on the map, or an error in reading the players position. After a while the game did crash completely as well.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:54pm

It's an interesting little concept, I'd like to see more. Would be great if you got the resetting bug fixed though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]