April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colourless

by Puccini - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Only mouse

You are a circle and you need to survive.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#52Fun3.79
#89Theme4.12
#223Overall3.53
#274Innovation3.48
#615Graphics2.95
#639Mood2.79
#899Humor1.79
#1028Audio1.56

Comments

bb_buster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

This is pretty good. Took a few attempts to really get the hang of it but once I did it was pretty fun and intense.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

I like this mechanic, but even more how you implemented it. This says "minimalism" better a Mondriand graphics clone.
This really is minimalism in games! Also engaging ;)

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I died a few times before I understood what I had to do, but I got the hang of it and enjoyed the game!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Amazingly fun for such a simple game. Congrats!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I wasn't expecting this. Nice and smart mechanics ! The surviving aspect is very well done, it's all about making choices and sacrifices to live a little bit longer.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice mechanic with a minimalist implementation :)

lapogo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

I can't get it to run, anyone else?

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Took me a little to get the hang of it, but it ended up being pretty fun. Good job!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

I dig the mechanic, it really is more fun than you'd expect from a bunch of growing and shrinking circles. Nice job!

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great concept that plays well. Well done! :)

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Simple but intense, good work

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I liked it. At first I thought it's just a simple avoider-game, but no, there's actually more to it than just that, which makes it fairly interesting.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Very simple rules, that come together to create a really well-thought-out game. Quick to pick up, very difficult to put down.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

Took me a few seconds to realize that I am constantly shrinking and that collecting red=good, but after that it was quite challenging and fun!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

I love it! It reminds me of Fishy Game. Except with a new twist!

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

I liked it. Simple and to the point.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44am

Really enjoyed this game, innovative, minimalistic and fun! Missed music/sound and the corners were kinda annoying, maybe a circle arena would be better.

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Really a nice concept, more expansive than how it appears, and easy to learn. Well done.

scorder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nicely executed, the pressure builds up and adds to the decision process.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very fun! Also it matched the theme well.

Nancybeast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

One of the best I have played so far. Really like the simplicity of it but would be better if there was some ambient music behind it.

Test User says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Took a second to figure out that I was shrinking from not eating reds, but once I figured out the idea, it was fun, and minimalistic!

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Very simple! I think your game fits well with the theme

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Perfect use of the theme, nice entry.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I really like the decision making on there (shrink/grow). Seems like a dilemma for me, every second. Trade-offs and counters, changing plans every time to stay alive.

The game scales up quite nicely with such a simple mechanic.

I missed music and sounds. It'd add up quite a bit to the overall experience.

fr_automatik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:15pm

61 seconds!
@lapogo: install flash.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Fun little game! Addictive and I like the timer behind the game! Can't get past 55 seconds! Good job!

Dezzles says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Nice interesting mechanic, but the colours could sometimes be hard to differentiate, mostly with the yellows and greens

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Great work, the visuals fits the mechanic perfectly and the gameplay is addictive. :)

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

That's a very clever use of very few pieces. It's so simple that I can't think of anything else to say about it. Except that, as a red/green colorblind person it's really darn hard to play.

May 1, 2013 @ 4:59am

Interesting take on a traditional mechanic. A lot of fun deciding when it was safe to switch colors, or suddenly having to change your strategy when switching my accident.

Lidfrid says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Cool concept Puccini, you found something very intersting here :) A scoreboard could improve the experience though. Well done :)

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Survived 53 sec. Funny little game. :)

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Took me a while to realise that later in the game, big isn't best! Nice concept and neat graphics, and fits well with the theme.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Cool twist on a common mechanic. Took a few plays to realize what was going on, but that works well for this sort of game.

Puccini says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Thanks for the feedback!

Here is my Post Morten: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/01/colourless-post-morten/

Taro Omiya says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:57am

Lovely simple concept you've got there. I like it!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:45am

Pretty intense. Had me on the edge of my seat at times :p

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:34pm

=D this definitely hit the spot regarding the theme, it screams minimalism. I loved the minimalist mechanic, and the simple geometric art. It had no sound, but I didn't felt the need for it either.
The only thing not minimized was the fun =D.

henrykun says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:51am

This is very clever! I like it, simple and awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]