April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

[[[[

by domrein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is easily the worst game I've ever made. And it's also a serious contender for worst game of all time. Enjoy. Source is at http://octaljam.com/games/[[[[/minimalism.dart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#249Theme3.88
#630Innovation3.03
#1049Humor1.40
#1170Graphics2.18
#1177Mood2.09
#1219Overall2.41
#1238Fun2.00

Comments

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Embracing the theme wholeheartedly! Intuitive progression of gameplay elements, puzzle in a way I had not considered before.
My browser window did seriously slow down at one point, making it a little bit too much slo-mo.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

I really like the puzzle element. Some levels were a bit slow though.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Hey, at least it has gameplay. I've seen potatoes submitted to this competition that were worse than this game.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:04am

Sweet! Concept was crazy cool, and it was definitely minimal. The performance seemed to drop drastically after the "6 blobs" level. Wonderful work though.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Don't be so harsh on yourself... the concept of the puzzle is great.
Only a few tweaks on the game speed when there are more... huh... whatever that is... hehe

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Ha. Thanks guys. I'll see if I can fix the bug that's making it so painfully slow.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Hey this is not bad at all. The game concept is there.
Put in more hours on the dev side of things and I bet you will find out a way to take it to a better experience.

It is laggy for me as well when there are more than 6 elements on the screen.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:54am

I didn't get it :c

davidB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

some level slow (last level mainly) on chrome, normal speed on dartium.
I understand what to do quickly (vs some other game)

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Yeah. I tested in Dartium as I developed. And I knew the code was crappy, but it seemed to run okay so I didn't bother optimizing it. The compiled javascript runs much slower unfortunately.

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Good concept but it's going waaaay too sloooow :( Maybe this is due to a performance issue?!

mrspeaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Nifty idea! I really enjoyed. Bit of a pity the whole thing slowed down with 6 blobs on the screen ;) I was trying to profile it to see where the problem was, but man Dart produces some crazy nested javascript... Usually you want to avoid setting globalAlpha so much (try using rgba fillstyle instead) - but even that should be so slow. Anyhoo... was a decent game - and damn certainly not "worst game of all time"!

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:33am

I fixed the bug so the game isn't a lag fest anymore.

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02am

Really minimal :D
Interesting idea. Maybe game shoud be to faster, in order to get to learn fastly how the game works and to get faster to more competitive levels.

mramaizng says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24am

very neat game. great job following the theme and finishing!

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16am

Interesting concept, but it's a little slow...
Anyway, good job! :D

qgi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very nice concept! Pity this was so short. Loved the visual style!

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:55am

Wow, way to undersell the game! I really like how the puzzles evolve - I'd love to see a fleshed out version.

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:00am

Way too slow, but this idea has some potential.
Since the second level was (almost) the same as the first, and the instructions say "that's all you'll get", I thought there was no game at all... Then I read the first comments that seemed to imply there was actually something and I tried again.

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I was baffled by the game for a little while playing it. I couldn't manage to get anything interesting to happen. It was only by chance that I decided to make the two blob strike eachother. The premise, once discovered, it really interesting, and I can imagine much more interesting and complex puzzles (conflicting with the theme perhaps) to be build around this mechanic. Good job.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:32pm

I really like the idea. But I agree that the game is a bit slow.

I know that you are fishing for compliments with your introduction, so here you go: yes, your game is definitivly the worst game of all time ;)

pjchardt says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

I find the concept interesting. Not the worst game of all time :)

May 16, 2013 @ 5:27am

Neat thing you were doing there. Unfortunately there was something perhaps computationally intense going on, and gameplay slowed to a crawl. Maybe that's just me?

May 17, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Definitely not the worst game of all time, E.T. for Atari 2600 has the award well won. I was originally thinking about doing a game much like this. All in all it's decent.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Great concept! Was disappointed that there weren't more levels D:

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]