April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Free*

by Kortuga98 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE PLAYING/RATING:

THIS GAME MAY OR MAY NOT WORK ON YOUR GRANDMA'S/SCHOOL RIG! Apparently, the game does not play nicely on older hardware. If you encounter large blank areas or red boxes, please realize that that isn't the game, and don't rate it! I'm working on a fix!

From the Wikipedia page on Minimalism:

"Minimalism describes movements in various forms of art and design, especially visual art and music, where the work is set out to expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts."

I made Free* with the idea in mind that life as we know it boils down to very few key aspects, and I tried my best to make every little thing important, from the way you move through the game, to the game's audio, to the coloring of the environment. I thank you for visiting my game's page and hope you play/rate/enjoy it!

Press D to move to the right.

Sorry about the lack of ports. Check back later and I'll have them ready!

----

All in all, I'm content with the way this turned out. if I were to do it again, I'd spend more time emphasizing certain parts, but it's all in the past now. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#49Graphics4.15
#74Mood3.75
#230Humor2.81
#334Overall3.40
#584Theme3.51
#713Innovation2.93
#913Audio2.06
#1107Fun2.31

Comments

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Depressing but also lovely. The art style is great. I think you really missed out not adding some eary audio in the background but great anyway!

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

That was beautiful. This sack of meat is kind of sad now though.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

Reminds me of "Consoul". I was confused by the huge blank space, and the parts that were red boxes. Other than that, it was okay. I think you could have made it more heart-wrenching though, maybe if you showed the child somehow.

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

I really enjoyed this game. It is a good game.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

That was amazing! Definitely a proof that games can send powerful messages even better than movies. Not being able to go back was a nice touch. I have only one complaint:the signs are readable on a very small area, I accidentally skipped over one or two of them...
Again, awesome job!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Nice. but a tad tedious.

the art is fantastic, but this is more of a story...
great work though!

-ENDESGA

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

My kind of game/humor. Great.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

Tested with wine 1.5.18-git, appears to run fine.

Anyhow, for starters this isn't a game, it's a story with a "hold to advance" key.

There was quite a bit of effort on the graphics and it all LOOKS nice (considering the black-and-white-ness), but it could definitely do with some more animation in places AND THE PLAYER DOESN'T GO UP STEPS WHAT THE HELL

Didn't hear any audio, so N/A for that.

First entry I've managed to give a score for humour for. It's got a fairly nice and mildly amusing tone to it.

Moodwise... it tends to lose momentum at the end. So much more could be done here.

Overall... 2 stars. Make a game next time.

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

@GreaseMonkey thanks for the feedback! We obviously have different definitions of the term 'game,' but I appreciate the rate.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Looks really interesting but I'm not on my windows computer :c

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

@lulzfish_4 Do you happen to have a 32-bit machine? The game wasn't tested on anything but a 64-bit Windows OS, so I can't confirm or deny that it really works on anything other than that.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

This game is beautiful. This is exactly the kind of game I was hoping would come out of this dare. I can see why you chose not to add any sounds- But personally I could see some more emotion in this game with the right music and sounds.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Great art! nice game.

KEFIR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

So depressing :) A little annoying that you can't get back to read missed plates :( And it would be great to listen some depressing music in background :)

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Fantastic graphics. The only thing I would change would be adding some simple ambient noises or some music. I'm not sure how I feel about having Humor as part of the grading criteria. I think 'games' can be inclusive of other emotions, and your game is proof of that.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Not much of a game but I liked the art and the message, very depressing too. Some changing and blending background music would have been great.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

That is really great. Such a bleak message but really great.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Too sad, I can't play it. Following message comes up, when I try to start it (Win XP):

"Unexpected error occured when running the game." :(

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

@SuperlevelSebastian I believe the game only runs on 64-bit OSs. Apologies :(

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Interesting, and made me smile a few times.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

@Kortuga98, @SuperlevelSebastian: It's a 32-bit .exe, so I'm not sure why it wouldn't work on a 32-bit OS.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

OK, did a quick objdump + grep, it appears to use AVX instructions in quite a few places. I'm not sure if they're part of a special codepath or if they're unavoidable; in the latter case, you will need at least a Sandy Bridge-era CPU.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

Excellent little game. I think you have a real knack for visual storytelling.

The game kind of beats you over the head with is themes from the beginning though - a little subtlety would make the story even better.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

this really worked for me, of course I could see where it was going but as it came to pass it still effected me. really liked this.

N427 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Wow, really good! And incredibly similar to my last Ludum Dare game. Hmmm...

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Quite deep. Glad I played it

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49am

@GreaseMonkey Thanks for the tip!

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

funny gam

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really gorgeous art, good work!

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33am

Jason Rohrer did it before :P
Well, the "you win" at the end really makes you stop and think for a second.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Quite depressing, but it would have given more if it also had a sad background music. ;)
Really good graphics and transition from an age to another is really well done.
Keep up the good work! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Fantastic art! Original style, I love it.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:46pm

I'm glad you described why you went with this for the theme. I love the story telling. The art is simple and endearing. Some simple audio might go a long way. Great job with the feels!

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Never thought "Sin City" effect can be that catchy! It's mesmerizing!

HeyZeus says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Awesome graphics, good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]