April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

P-MNMSAOD

by HD408 - Jam Entry

Acelloids
aka Pseudo-MicroNuclear Marmalade Sponge Asteroids On Drugs

Made for Ludum Dare #26 Jam.
Project status: Prototype


How to play:

Controls:

Use NumPad to shoot from the first (or previous) selected point to the next one in a 3x3 grid arrangement.

Alternatively, you can use this layout:

QWE
ASD
ZXC

Arrow keys and Home/End/PgUp/PgDn block also work and do the same. Keycode of NumPad5 without the NumLock on turned out to be 12, so I think it will work independently of NumLock status.

ESC to quit. R to restart.

F5 to save, F6 to load, F9 to take a screenshot.

There's also an emergency control for cells that are stuck out of the shooting range. Hold the middle point (NumPad5 or S) for 4 seconds (at full 50FPS) to change their direction slightly (30 degrees).


Gameplay:

Destroy the cells before they spawn more cells than your computer can afford without dropping the FPS to something unreasonable. Maximal FPS is set to 50. There's actually no Game Over condition (minimalism, that is).

Shoot bonuses to gain temporary weapon boost.

With each level you have to deal with more cells, but boost time also increases. Bonus chance does not, and is 5% per second.


Tools used:

Engine: Game Maker 8.0 Lite
Graphics: GM built-in sprite editor, Paint.NET


Materials used:

'Philosopher' font by Jovanny Lemonad
Everything else by HD408

30.04.2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#145Innovation(Jam)3.36
#325Humor(Jam)1.94
#330Graphics(Jam)2.97
#433Mood(Jam)2.41
#434Fun(Jam)2.40
#455Audio(Jam)1.50
#484Overall(Jam)2.54
#500Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

Really liked the visual style and it was neat to see how everything connected when button mashing. Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

Not bad!
Interesting mechanics in any case =)

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Interesting idea, but it is hard to gather what a player is doing or why from the gameplay... maybe more feedback or an altering characteristic of the player's objects? Love the Damascus pattern in the back!

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Very cool concept, looks nice too :)

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I ended up button mashing to the max. Excellent graphics!

Daisuke909 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:48am

Very original. It's a real challenge coordinating all those points, but way too tempting to just button mash.

dalbinblue says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:17am

The graphics were nice, and while innovative, the game was very difficult to control. The major issue was that you needed to draw a line then wait for the dot to travel along the line to hit the cell. This took too long and made aiming very difficult. In the end I ended up just spamming the buttons in a circle that just hit everything on screen (seems there is no limit to the number of attack lines I can have out at once).

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:59am

Funny game, liked the incentive against mashing. Is it a ... potato?

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:34am

I loved the control scheme. Make it WAY more difficult. Give me a method of failure. Also, on level 6 I ended up getting a potato thing stuck out of the range of the attacks and not moving closer in any way. It just keeps looping downward.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:42am

The second level starts out really crazy, you can just mash buttons. Then it gets slow, as you weight for something to cross one of the paths. Innovative mechanics.

Jonapulse says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:47am

Competent, easy to understand and play and interesting.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:48am

I pressed Q+E+Z+C meanwhile and my beams killed all watermelons (?:)! Am I cheater? ;)

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:52am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:15pm

MinionStudios:
There's no story or meaning to that.
Never knew about the Damascus pattern. It was interesting to google that.

dalbinblue:
I thought about making an upgrade system, but that'd take more interface design time than I had. Maybe other power-ups would be better, but I didn't think about them.

Cosine:
Well, maybe it's a potato under a microscope, and it's inhabited with some bacteria. ...So actually it's not a potato anyway. More like a watermelon, as Pinkerator said.

TehSkull:
"There's also an emergency control for cells that are stuck out of the shooting range. Hold the middle point (NumPad5 or S) for 4 seconds (at full 50FPS) to change their direction slightly (30 degrees)." - that's from readme file and game description on this page. So, it IS a method of failure, not to read manual carefully!

Pinkerator:
No, you're not. It's actually the most obvious way to play this game.
And you've made me laugh - it actually looks like a close-up of a watermelon slice, albeit actually it is a fragment of sponge ("... Marmalade SPONGE Asteroids ...").

netmute:
Sorry, too, I don't make games for Mac.

Everyone else:
Thanks for your comments! If I didn't rate your games, it means that either I didn't have time for LD at all, or I couldn't launch them. I've got really old and slow machine here, so even Web entries are often slow and unplayable because of that.

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Interesting idea for an attack mechanic, but like others pointed out you can just mash to win :D
Enjoyed the visuals!

avidgamerNino says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:24pm

So there is no End of the game? or I dont Die? Maybe just add those two things.

HD408 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:20am

Tifu:
Thanks. Probably the visuals are the best of this.

avidgamerNino:
That would be against rules, I can't modify the game now. There's no end of the game, and also - it's the actual concept behind it. It doesn't end, it just becomes slow, sooner or later, so player decides whether it is comfortable to continue. And at last, it becomes clearly unbeatable. I just don't want to put the limit. This game feels more "natural", such as it is now. As intended.

HelkeGames says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Funny game, nice graphic!

May 12, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I found myself button-mashing like crazyyyy :D

yellowlemming says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:52pm

This game seems like a good idea and visuals re rather nice but it is very difficult to control; I couldn't properly use the controls so resorted to mashing all the buttons

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:47am

really like the concept (being left handed, give me a keypad and I'm all over it). good work.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:11am

Playing Acelloids really making me feel like I'm a cat trying to catch a flashlight spot. First I was thinking the concept was good but I ended up bashing my keyboard for maximum efficiency.
I think the proto would work better with a drawback for key bashing :
- If two shots = 1x cell spawn you will have to be efficient on each move.
- You can also put some non-target you have to avoid while shooting. ( 3 errors = game over )
- Or making the shots convert bad cells in good one but make the process reversible

May 18, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nice game! The gameplay mechanic is very nice (a little tricky to control!)
The background art is very cool! How did you do it?
Congrats!

Spiridios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Visual style was neat, mechanic was interesting but not fully developed. I didn't see any reason to not just mash the four corner buttons. Would love to see this idea developed further.

HD408 says ...
May 29, 2013 @ 11:35am

Tiago Ling Alexandre, sorry for the late reply. Background image was made with a photo of a sponge (the very same texture that the "asteroids" are drawn with) and Paint.NET for heavy deformation effect and coloring. Also made it seamless with my own graphics utility.

Right now this project has rather low priority.

HD408 says ...
May 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Thanks to everyone, again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]