April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Metahotel

by Christian S. - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WELCOME TO THE METAHOTEL

ROOMS AVAILABLE!
12 FLOORS UNTIL KILL SCREEN

HOW TO PLAY
- Get all persons to the green exit to complete a floor
- Use the left and right mouse buttons to rebuild the rooms
- The next room color is shown in the top right corner
- Avoid two persons seeing each other

Tools used:
- Unity
- Ableton Live
- Blender

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#58Innovation3.99
#82Overall3.82
#141Audio3.45
#168Fun3.49
#207Mood3.37
#235Theme3.89
#352Graphics3.33
#594Humor2.18

Comments

negativeview says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

Overall I found it fun. I played 5-6 levels, which is probably above the average that I'm going to do. That said, I of course have criticisms.

If given more time, I'd want it to be more polished and to give more direct feedback to the user, but I wouldn't add or subtract anything from the core mechanic. That's solid.

1) As a somewhat colorblind person, it took me a while to figure out that the colors cycle. Once I figured it out, I became a lot less unsure about what I was doing.

2) I was also unsure how big of an area was going to change when I clicked. I lose several levels because of this, but losing a level doesn't hurt TOO bad. A hover effect would be nice.

3) The little guys were often brain-dead. They had a path to the exit and I was just waiting until THEY figured it out. Broadening the path sometimes helped them see it, but not always.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

Clever gameplay, I played up to level 6. Love the music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Really solid game. I was a bit confused at first since it's such a unique game, but it was easy to learn the rules by trial and error. great job!

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Awesome. The color cycles were hard for me to predict even with the legend in the corner, but it's a great mechanic.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

This was pretty fun overall but it sort of gets tedious after a while. The sound effects are really great, especially the level complete. After memorizing red+rightclick goes to grey and green+leftclick goes to grey it became more fun. So while it tries to be minimalist in controls it ends up making it a little over complicated. Perhaps some levels could ease you in- like how you only get one colored portal in portal at first. Very impressive for 48h!

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

This is really cool, I liked everything about it. THe music reminds me of Lode Runner Legend Returns. Took me 705 moves to win.

Christian S. says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

That's some really helpful feedback. Thank you, guys!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

Easy to learn, hard to master. Quickly becomes addictive

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

Hard and fun at the same time !

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

really interesting design, lots of fun. I got a little confused by the color previews until I realized it just always cycles rock-paper-scissors style. (I think.) perhaps just one color preview would actually make that clearer, or even a static graphic showing the color order. anyway, nice work!

Wan & Almudys says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51am

I really enjoyed this game, everything in it was well polished, especially the music and sound effects that help build a solid mood to the game. I won in 416 turns, like a boss!

The one advice I would have given is to either add some pathfinding or allow to click on the ground to attract people, in order to help them find the exit... but otherwise playing was very enjoyable.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

really really nice! good job

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very visually appealing. Fun and clever gameplay. :) Great work!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Enjoyed this a lot, will return to see how you did it later. Fun!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Clever gameplay, excellent visuals and good sound effects. However it gets repetitive very fast, and even you can sense there is a progression in difficulty it never really gets that challenging. Having said that I believe it is an amazing game for a 48 hours compo, I finished it in 386 moves though I could not see any ending credits apart from the metahotel word (is this a bug?). Great work!!

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:05am

Took me a little to clue into what was going on, but once I did I really liked it.

Cool take on the theme!

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09am

Overall, great work. that must have been tough for just 48 hours. I only got about 4 levels in, but it was pretty cool. Like the audio

nimblegorilla says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very nice idea. It reminded me of those minimalist paintings.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22am

Very nice game, once you get the hang of the gameplay it gets really enjoyable, the levels are very cool too!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Wow, what great mechanic. Thanks!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Cool and creative puzzle game!

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

Good puzzle game ! Accurate, simple, interesting.. I like :)

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44am

Fun game! I liked the idea and it was a nice new puzzle style.

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Love the nice clear look, and the care given to the look of the surrounding graphics. Also pastel colors that work nicely is hard to do. :P Would like to see more a more level-to-level store. But I guess that would not be minimalistic. ;)

Jesse111 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09pm

How come they can't see each other? Just what kind of hotel is this?
Great job! Definitely 5/5 for innovation, as well as a few other categories!

m64 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09am

Got me a few seconds to figure out there was a color cycle - I just thought the colors were kind of random for the first few levels.

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11am

Really intriguing puzzle game. I really enjoyed playing it, but I think the two biggest detractions were as others mentioned, the people had a path to the exit, but just bounced around, and figuring out the cycle when clicking. Even though the cycling can be consistent, since it depended on what color I was currently on, it was just very confusing. I know what color I want to make the square in my mind, so I don't want to be fighting thinking about if I need to left or right click and what color it currently is to get it there. Maybe you could also be able to hit a keystroke (one for each color) and then I could just learn which buttons move to which colors for whatever I have highlighted.

Christian S. says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:10am

Thank you all! I am releasing an improved version of METAHOTEL in the upcoming weeks, including a better AI. However, I not yet sure how to facilitate changing the colors. After all, every color can be changed into two different other colors:

A -> B or C
B -> A or C
C -> A or B

Therefore the controls have to vary for every color. A small popup menu might work, where you choose the color by actually clicking it ...

I am really glad, that I finished the game. The first day was a real struggle!

free_napalm says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Clean design, decent game. The guys were pretty stupid though, it would have been nice to drop something on the map they chase to to control them.

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Oddly atmospheric. Very clever mechanic, nice to have lots of different ways of beating each level. I like it!

thatwhichis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Oh wow, I didn't even realize I could choose the next color by left OR right clicking, I was totally just left clicking the whole time and cycling through as necessary!

I was all, "Why there be TWO colors up in that corner?"

And THAT, my friends, is why you always read the instructions thoroughly. lol

Solid game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:24am

A fun game, lots of great combinations in each puzzle

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:37am

I beat level 12 and got weird static and a very thin green triangle that spanned the bottom of the screen. Loved the gameplay and I think the controls were reasonable enough considering what needed to be done. The legend helped. Maybe you could place the legend on the mouse pointer itself, so you don't have to move your eyes (like color the pointer half and half, or put little dots next to it).

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:33am

Good game. Original mechanic as far as I can tell.

Dir3kt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Good idea and fun, liked it. One thing that bother me was that you have to wait for the person to kind of randomly find the green spot. Would have preferred something faster i.e. go directly as soon as find a path.

Tozy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very innovative, but you still have to work a little on the mechanic, because right now is really easy and is not far from good.

thedaian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:26am

My only major complaint was having to sit around and wait for the AI to wander close enough to be able to see the exit. Otherwise it's a nice and polished puzzle game.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:11pm

I like your gameplay and concept at all. But I can't figure out why level may suddenly restart.
Good job in any case!

wccrawford says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Love puzzle games! This was great!

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very clean presentation, and I loved the sounds and music. I do wish I could somehow direct the "guests", as they would often hang around in corners and make me wait forever on them. Other than that, very cool.

simvig says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:01pm

A very solid game! It has a clear mechanic that works well and a good number of levels. A great achievement for 48 hours.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I had no problems to sort out which color was going to be the next thanks to your clever small square reminder on top right (tho I actually understand how it would be hard for some people).
You should maybe trace the grid between color zones as it's somehow hard to guess which zone you're gonna color up otherwise, and yeah the little guys could have an improved AI.

Otherwise, really an excellent game. I finished it and wanted more. Very enjoyable. Good job !

saggiosoft says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice idea! Good game.

atraxgames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Excellent game, very original puzzle idea, it reminds me of Dilbert's infinite hotel

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:43am

great concept and nice simple graphics.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Was a bit hard at first but overall this was a pretty good nice with some really nice mechanics.

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:30am

Nice idea, but for me it wasn`t challenging at all, so I found it quiet boring.
I would like to see faint borders of room even if there is no walls.

juaxix says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I came here expecting a hotel building game, but i found this game as a deep fundamental principle of wonderful smart video game...

ilo says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:15pm

It required a little patience waiting for the guys to find the exit, but the music, aesthetic and cleverness of the idea kept me going till the end. I wonder how it would play out instead of a total score, but with a limited number of moves for each level, or scoring per level and being able to replay individual levels to beat your score.

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I felt like this was way too easy, but I had incredible fun playing it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]