April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Miasma

by Hemuuuli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are wandering in the woods.
Looking for a safe place.
A home.

Miasma is dark and moody survival horror game that
includes:
- Resource gathering and crafting
- Dynamic weather, decided by gods
- God workshipping via sacrifices
- NPCs running in the woods

Post jam edits:
- Disable context menu in web player
- Optimized web player size from 60mb to 9mb

Quick start guide:
1) Your goal is to find your home, it is somewhere North.
2) Combine items to craft new items. For example: Grass + Grass = Grass idol, Stone + Branch = Knife.
3) Some resources like rock or cats require item.
4) Sacrifice stuff to gods to keep them happy & make weather better. They like idols the most.
I hope that helped!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#10Mood4.25
#64Graphics4.09
#165Audio3.40
#411Innovation3.30
#427Overall3.29
#722Theme3.37
#991Humor1.62
#1090Fun2.35

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Nice game, although on my computer (running linux), it is not a foggy as in your screenshots.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Sound interesting, I need to boot up my Ubuntu tomorrow and see how it looks and maybe patch it. The fog is big part of the experience.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

This is the nicest looking entry I've seen so far. I love the colors. Really cool.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

You win the mood category by a long way. :)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

Rated it

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Interesting, though the gameplay mechanics are lost on me. I can't tell what it means to have what looks like a hand and a plus icon next to it? Does that mean "combine"? It's not clear.

Also, playing it via the web, right click ends up causing problems, as it wants to open the context menu for the unity plugin.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

I hit F1 for help and it threw a russian page at me. Then I walked around for ages and got game over...

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

really really pretty. great job establishing an awesome atmosphere

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Really great atmosphere, but it's pretty damn confusing what to do, I got a knife and killed some animals but I keep dying from the rain or whatever it is.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

Really nice, the audio especially completes the atmosphere. I really like how it looks in the dark distance. Really cool to see strange creatures appearing and disappearing. Only a few problems I see, sometimes the clicking seems unresponsive, I'm not sure if that was a problem on my end. Also, the rain particles move relative to the player, not the world, so that looks a bit odd.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

A monotone "Don't Stave". Good work on the mood & audio.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

Thanks for the kind comments. ^^
I tested the linux build and it looks great on that platform too. Maybe the screenshots are a bit muddy.
Relation of F1 and Russian page are still mystery to me. :D But the game is now on Kongergate with updated build so it should be gone.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nice game i love it! ;)

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Cool fog, cool effects nice music

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

The pixelated impostors enchanted me. The music and fog crept up on me. I read the help; I'm not sure how to get started with combining things. How would you feel about posting a newbie tutorial with step by step instructions in the description of how to get started?

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19am

Here you go! Tutorial added to description.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very nice mood. I never entirely sure what 'mood' is - but this definitely has it! Nice work

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:47am

I like the world!
And it's fun to exploring,
Good job:D

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

Awesome and amazingly atmospheric! wow

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great name!

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:53am

Very confusing, but I think I started to get the hang of it. This game is so insanely atmospheric, though. Phenomenal. It was very hard to see, which got in the way a little bit, but also cranked the mood up to 11.

May 7, 2013 @ 9:37pm

For some reason I don't want to sacrifice animals to... whatever...! Does PETA know about this ?!? :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:48am

Beautiful and haunting. However, I could never quite tell what I was carrying, and what I could do with it. Maybe if there was a little display at the bottom showing what you were carrying, with some more obvious icons for what they were.

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:15am

Very awesome atmosphere!!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]