April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mime Over Matter

by AlexFili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: All links should be working now.

I proudly present my Ludum Dare 26 entry, Mime Over Matter. I decided to embrace retro artillery games and use a muted colour palette to reflect the competition theme. There are ten levels, the last one being slightly randomised in order to create a challenge.

I created this game using Construct 2. While the Web version is the intended release, it is also possible to play the offline version by using the zip file. For best results for the offline version, you need to open the HTML file using Chrome or Firefox. Hope you enjoy playing!

Instructions:
Beware the mimes! Shoot them with your turret to make them go away! Clear all the mimes to move on to the next level!

Tap the arrows to rotate your turret, tap the turret to fire. The longer you tap, the further the bullet goes.

Gameplay Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_kVON5-AJs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#404Humor2.47
#797Fun2.72
#969Audio1.90
#1006Overall2.73
#1120Innovation2.24
#1159Graphics2.20
#1194Mood2.00
#1199Theme2.70
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

JonRB says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It doesn't seem to be running on my browser (Chrome, win7).

From the screenshots it looks like a decent enough game and I'm looking forward to trying it.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Doesn't work for me either (Chrome and Firefox, Win XP). Also tried the offline version - nothing as well. Will try again later.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Doesn't run on mine either, Firefox, Win8.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Construct 2 claims something needs to be uploaded for it to work.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Construct claimed that the game needed to be uploaded to a server to be player, so I just put it in my dropbox: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2727127/Ludum%20Dare/Mime%20Over%20Matter/index.html

Reminds me a bit of Angry Birds with some interesting twists added and a more codified mechanic - pretty cool.

AlexFili says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Thank you frr171. As soon as Scirra updates their export script I'll post the web link. Thank you for your patience everyone.

May 1, 2013 @ 9:30am

This definitely makes me think HTML5 is viable for gamedev. Some minor bugs with the physics but overall it works & was enjoyable for what it was.

qgi says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great idea!
Works good on Chrome for Mac.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Shades of angry birds. Nice shooting mimes... could have a boss bronze mime maybe ?

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:35pm

A nice little artillery game. Solid physics, though there were a couple of times a box took a moment to settle.

The music gets a little repetitive after a while.

It would be nice to have a reset button for when you totally muff the first three shots and have no hope of beating the level. Is that what Recall is supposed to do? It didn't seem to do anything for me.

onzephyr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:45am

Fun game. Well executed. No problems running the game in chrome.

AlexFili says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:37am

Recall is for when the box gets stuck on something

Threef says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Avesome sounds! Levels are good too.

Broxxar says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Cool game, well done using HTML5. My biggest problem was the audio was loud and peaking.

marnaouf says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Good solid fun game. The controls were a little annoying though. Would've been nice to have keyboard controls. Still nice work.

klianc09 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Was that music in the background or constant sound effects? They sounded distorted and started to annoy. Other than that, a simple "shoot the blocks with the canon" game.

May 10, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Cool but graphics could've used more work

May 11, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Amazing that a game which, at its core, is a 48 hour game, could have become so popular.

May 11, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I liked the idea a lot and the sound effects were real' nifty, but the 'soundtrack' itself was really a bummer imho, you could've done without that. ^_^

I also missed a bar of some sort or just any kind of indication of how much force I put on the cannon, it was hard to judge for yourself how long you had to press to cover a certain distance.

Good job! ~

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]