April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flashing Hands

by lekochen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

minimalist kung fu game
enjoy

Engine: GameMaker
Art: GraphicsGale
Sound: Autotracker, Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#222Humor2.85
#234Fun3.38
#326Innovation3.42
#368Audio3.02
#398Overall3.32
#409Mood3.08
#428Theme3.66
#702Graphics2.85

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Sadly you make windows-only game this time :'( can't play it now

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

lol.
What a rock-paper-scissors.
Cool music!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Cool...

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I found it easier to win only using two buttons.

The kung fu theme works well, and I could imagine it working well with more enemies.

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Cool! Great idea!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

I toke me a while learning the combinations. Great idea though.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

Way more fun than it has any right to be

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

WOW, that was one of the best games i have played so far, good job :D

caasi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I know kung-fu!
Seriously, why his punches are so strong?

vinull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Rock-paper-scissors-kung-fu! Very nice little game.

Phase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:14am

Haha, I found it easier to win with two buttons also, so there's probably something to that. Fun little game, but not much replay value.

Merkoth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:25am

Very nice, I also tried to use a rock paper scissors combat mechanic but failed miserably because I made it too cryptic. Nice job!

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

Seriously fun game. Took a while to catch on - but then BAM I won.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

Nice spin on rock-paper-scissors gameplay. I had trouble remembering which keys to use though.

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01am

that was great, I had a lot of fun with it.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nifty. It was like playing rock-paper-scissors in real time to settle a violent dispute. I'll have to try this the next time I'm jumped in an alley. Good work!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

great funny not too much easy. =)

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Woha, nice touch in rock-paper-scissor game! It was very hard at start, but after a while you can actually get how to be competitive!

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

hahahaha.. That is a cool neat idea. Didn't see that coming out of something we are so familiar.

GFM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice game. =]

I liked how you implemented the jan-ken-po rules; it made sense to me. Like, a fist really breaks a finger, and it makes sense that a palm can stop a fist.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06am

This is quite cool! Has a rhythm game feel to it which I like. First win with only two keys but then made some effort to beat the enemy with 3 keys. Very satisfying!

May 2, 2013 @ 7:07am

Really hard! But clever idea. Maybe if it was a little slower to start with, players could jump on the learning curve a little faster.

lekochen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10am

Guys thanks for playing my game and leave the comments. This game was made less than 10 hours (including learning GameMaker from the ground up) and I am satisfied with its simplicity. I know I made it too hard at the beginning, but I don't have time to polish it. So hope everyone was able to master the mechanism and beat the game after some practice.

@raincole: I thought GameMaker could create mac application easily however I don't know I must be a registered Apple developer to do so until I finished the game. What a shame.

@GFM: This is exactly what I think! Thanks!

mortl8324 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:58am

Such a cool idea for a game!

docix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:37am

This is a great idea for this compo! Very well done!

May 3, 2013 @ 3:49am

Took a few attempts to get a hang of the dynamic between the three, but once I did it was enjoyable enough. Fun little game, especially considering how quickly you put it together!

Mesene says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:29pm

everybody was kung fu fighting... Nice entry :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]