April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Only a Keyboard

by Lidfrid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This a puzzle game, i can't understand if it's too hard or too simple...

Hint: Watch your keyboard and think laterally!

Let me know in the comment!

(Yes the dog is barking in time)

(it works both on QWERTY and AZERTY)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#126Theme4.05
#176Innovation3.64
#249Graphics3.55
#294Humor2.67
#358Mood3.14
#459Audio2.86
#520Overall3.20
#777Fun2.74

Comments

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

Can't for the life of me figure out N.

It's not a question of whether or not it's too hard or too simple, but more if people can work out arbitrary key stokes based on vague placement of rectangles and no visual feed back...

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

In finished it ingenious idea Loved it

caribou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53am

I'm also stucked on the N but the idea is great and fit the theme awesomely \o/.

Also, as simple as it is, it's really polished.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

Stuck on N too. Took me a while to figure out what to do, which was a little frustrating, but nice concept! Aesthetically really nice.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

I was stuck on N as well. Nice clean design though.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

I haven't figured yet the N. Help us!
Great idea, however!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

Wow... sorry for the N stage then...maybe it's too early?? I won't spoiler the solution here, though :) Ask on IRC Chat on #ludumdare i will be there!! thanks :)

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Just wonderful!

Lythom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Couldn't go further than 'N' like everyone. I'm a bit frustrated because I'm sure it could have been fun.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

That was interesting. I did quite like it. The time limit (there was a time limit right?) stressed me out more than was perhaps necessary. I did figure it out on the first try though.

NAMKCOR says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Absolutely fantastic, great use of simple graphics to convey the hints. It took me a few tries, and I felt exceedingly clever when I figured them out. Bravo.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Took me a long time to get. I don't really like the idea of mashing keys until something happens. Also, I don't hear a dog barking. The music is very quiet.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Unfortunately I can't play this because qwerty (I guess) is hardcoded and this is not my keymap.

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Got 'minim'... pretty neat game.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Really clever puzzle game. It took a while of keyboard mashing to figure it out, but after realising how to figure the game out it was really fun. Nicely done!

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Wow, great puzzle.

Incredibly frustrating to get started. I wouldn't have even considered pushing through if I hadn't seen the strong comments and your invitation to ask you questions in chat. Well done.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Ah, ah! Surprising! I really appreciated it!

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

That was frustrating.. and the last one was downright cruel =)
Refreshingly different.

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

A really minimal and elegant design here!
I took me a while to go further in the game, but eventually I did it. I think you could make a longer game based on this. :)

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Awesome game! Difficult to pick up at first, I spent at least 5 minutes just mashing keys and gave up, until I read the comments.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Got stuck on the last letter for awhile, took a lot of trial and error.

mrspeaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice concept and great style. Bit frustrating though ;)

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:10am

Interesting idea. Never really understood some of the letters, whilst others made sense eventually.

May 3, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I solved it but never really understood what I was doing. There seemed to be some correlation to the on screen blocks and the keyboard on a couple of them. Neat visual/color theme.

Tom 7 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:40am

I like this one, more than usual for this genre. The graphical style and sound are great. I got stuck at MINIM though. I feel like I understand what it's asking, but since nothing works, I guess not!

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:55am

Took me awhile to get 'A', but once I did I realize it wasn't all that hard. Cool game. Short, but unique and visually pleasing.

infernet89 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Woha, absolutely no indication on what to do, and i think everyone still figure out how to play! Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]