April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RPS RTS

by Logan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rock-Paper-Scissors as a Real-Time Strategy game.

Controls are explained in game, but here they are anyway:

Click on one of the colored buttons of your base to create a unit.
There's no resource cost to make units, but you can only have a set number at once.

Each unit is able to destroy one other type.
The Red Triangle (scissors) cuts the Yellow Square (paper), which smothers the Blue Circle (rock), which smashes the Red Triangle.

Left-click and drag to select your units, right-click to guide them.
Lead them to the enemy's base to reduce its life to zero.

On larger maps, you can pan the screen by moving to the edges.

Press 1 2 3 or 4 to change the window's size.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#325Theme3.77
#364Humor2.54
#369Overall3.36
#390Innovation3.34
#431Mood3.06
#526Fun3.02
#653Audio2.53
#669Graphics2.89

Comments

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04am

pretty interesting! the map included lead to usually one path being taken by all the troops though.

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Fun. I had trouble remembering what beats what during gameplay though, which made it a bit hard.

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I like the overall idea of this game. :) I felt the shapes did not fit with the rest of the graphics, but overall good work!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

So I'm really bad at RTS', and this game is way too hard for me. I gave up after a few minutes of tying the computer on the first level.

I could only direct one piece at a time, and it was hard to intercept the enemies because I didn't know what route they were taking. The sound and animations are good, but I think if you just used an actual rock and scissors instead of circles and triangles, it would be easier to play.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11am

Very fun game. Interesting concept. I also had difficulty remember which shape beat which shape. Though I figured it out during the game and ended up winning.

Good Job!

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12am

Nice simplification of an RTS. I had trouble remembering what beat what, maybe have a Display to remind the player?

Logan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

Aw, I keep getting this complaint. I thought the three shapes were a really logical representation of Rock, Paper, and Scissors. The triangular blade is the distilled essence of the Scissors' sharpness, the stoic circle a monument to the Rock's solidarity, and the square... is... well, just paper.
I guess I was wrong, though.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

I don't know if this is on my end but I can't get the game to download :x

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:33am

Ha! I made a Rock-Paper-Scissors game too, but mine is a action kung-fu game, check mine! I think your game fits the theme pretty well. In some RTS games, units are basically rock-paper-scissors, like infantry, knight and archer. Good job!

manax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:35am

I thought the shapes were pretty obvious!

Nice job on the intro and instructions. Nice detail on the text effects. Really did need a build queue though.

I was able to stomp the computer on every level, until the last one. Computer was able to build faster and give instructions more reliably than I was. Seemed to be some pathing problems too. I'd click somewhere, and my troops would wander away from the destination, before heading back towards it. This seemed to happen mostly near the base.

ilo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12am

This is a good minimalist representation of RTS games. I found it fiddly to keep producing shapes will moving units around though; perhaps turn-based would have worked better. Being able to select more than one unit was a nice touch, as were the choke points that the player could try to control.

RTS games also usually use the RPS model on another layer too, between production, defence and offence. If these elements - and units too - have an unequal importance and cost to produce you can thereby introduce risk vs. reward decisions between short-term and long-term strategies.

Ninjaxio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Really good! Quite difficult, but interesting concept!

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:41am

I like the concept. I was so close to defeating the AI, something like 2 tiles away!

It was sometimes hard to tell what happened as a unit still moved a space as it died. I was so close to beating the computer.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

that was great and i totally got the rock/paper/scissors from the shapes -- excellent job!

Logan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51am

I accidentally found a typo-class bug right after submitting it that caused the AI to not get any smarter/faster per level. I corrected it, but wasn't able to play-test all the stages again. So the last one ended up a bit too unfair, I think. At least, I still can't beat it.
If you want a bit more of a chance, open up the data.dat file in a text editor, go down to stage [8] and change the rate value from 15 to 20.

shawn42 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31am

I love RTS games. Selecting many units helped, but I'd still like to be able to queue up a few new units to be built. The pathfinding seemed to need a little polish; but great work!

dalbinblue says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02am

I liked this a lot. I felt like the AI was quite dumb and easy until I realized that it had taken out most of my health! It's sneakier than I thought.

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27am

It was a fun but rather stressfull game ! I went to to the level with the 20hp vs fighting and died with the opponent at 1hp I almost sent my netbook fly over the room :) Well I would like to play turn based version of this game but on the other hand I recognize that the arcade version is catchy. A very good entry and a good take on minimalism them from the RTS point of view ( > Rock paper scissors )
And good work on those fancy death & win animations, they are unusuals and funny.

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:51am

Pretty neat idea / reduction of typical RTS mechanics. I'll admit that I kind of just spammed an even combination of the three units and then threw them at the AI base without caring for the most part. Trying to match / destroy types seemed more useful while defending.

NateNaterson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:34am

Neat twist on the old Rock Paper Scissors style game.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice game!

Mekuri says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:55am

A nice and fairly simple RTS. It is rather easy though, since you just need to spam out units. The sounds were anoying- But I like them since they kinda fit the theme a little (Keeping it simple). I went for similar sounds with my game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]