April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroids War

by ferasmi - Jam Entry

This is multiplayer game where players compete to control all the planets (the goal and the graphics are very minimum). Try to land safely on the planet to conquer it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Theme(Jam)3.53
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#278Innovation(Jam)2.94
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I have no friends to play with, so I couldn't rate it.

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

I also don't have anyone to play with at the moment...but not satisfied with that, I tried opening two sessions and providing my IP address to both...it connected, but the green player was rather buggy (all planets were off-screen to the top-left, probably where the Origin is; scores didn't update properly; was still able to shoot the purple player, though. Purple player seemed to be fully functional).

I'm not really sure if I should be rating this one, but I was able to get it to run with this workaround. It looks like it would be fun with another player, and I like the music. You really need some kind of match-making service, though, or some people to provide their IP addresses.

ferasmi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

1. The planets for the green player were off the screen. This is a syncing problem that should be fixed if you restart the session. Although this is my mistake and I need to fix that.
2. The purple player didn't update even when he get shot is I guess because the player is still in his spawning point, so actually you killed him but he spawned in the same place, so it looks like he is not updating correctly. Try to move the purple player.

I know I really need to increase the number of players to 4 and make a match making service. It would be really cool but I was running out of time.

Anyways thanks for the comments :)

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

Looks pretty good from the screenshots but I can't play it since it has no single player!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:40am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Andy West says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:38am

I also have nobody available to play this with and did not rate it. :(

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:43am

No single player. :( A public server would have really, really helped here.

Harsay says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Played one one computer with two clients and it's a nice idea but it's very hard to land on planet. Public server will be the best for this game.

Yorwba says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice mix of Moonlander and Asteroids, but i have several suggestions:
* Be less strict about what is a correct landing. The controls make it hard enough.
* Change the view so that the ship is always pointing into the same direction. This would make it easier to find out how to rotate so that the thrust will push the ship towards a planet.
* Do not place planets out of bounds, it is annoying to get moved to the other side because of its gravity.
* Do not wrap around space, it is senseless to have the players start in different corners when they can just turn around to battle.
* Let the ship respawn on a random planet of the player instead of the void.

Threef says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Great game! Physics and Music are good. Played only on 127.0.0.1 with myself, but I can imagine playing it with someone... or maybe someone would like to play with me? Tweet me! :D

donan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Good game :D. Too bad it didnt have AI and had to play it by lan with myself. But it looks fun with other people.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]