April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Abide

by xel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Puzzle game made in a few hours due to a busy weekend. Really like the concept but wish I could spend more time refining and developing some of the challenges. My goal was to create a simple but polished puzzle game that gives the player as little direction as possible while still allowing for interesting solutions.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Graphics3.81
#176Innovation3.64
#219Mood3.33
#275Overall3.46
#291Audio3.14
#371Theme3.73
#676Fun2.84
#885Humor1.81
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Really loved it. Some riddles are pretty hard though.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Yeah I love the idea of this, fun to play. The only part that starts to get me is the grunge effect across the top, the opacity of that could e a bit lower to save the eyes!

kivifreak says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

This game is cool AND challanging :D
What do you want more. The controls and the theme is minimalistic. Great work ^^
I enjoyed playing it. Though some riddles were really hard XD

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

This is really well done. I liked the grunge effect at first, but after a while it bothered me.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

Interesting idea.(I couldn't get the one where you had to organize 4 shapes into there sections so I guess the puzzle was too hard for me. :P

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

Hypnotyzing effect :P

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Great visual effect, made for a mysterious mood... Pretty impressive for only a couple hours of work. I liked the abstract thinking that came with the minimal instructions. Nice job!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

This is fantastic. Reminds me a lot of Hundreds. I couldn't get past the roygbiv puzzle. Maybe small hints that come in after someone is stuck on a puzzle for a while would help? The red square and red circles puzzle was so cool!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

Pretty cool idea.
My only complaint is that sometimes it wasn't clear if my solution was wrong or if the game wasn't understanding my solution because something was missing its hit target.
For instance when arranging the colors of the rainbow it didn't accept my solution although it was in the order of the rainbow and I also tried reversing it...
I couldn't tell if the game didn't know the order I had the colors in, or if I was supposed to guess your favorite ordering of colors.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Very interesting and enjoyable game. As others have said, it can be confusing as to what it wants from you at times. Personally, I got stuck fairly early on in the one where you need to put different shapes in different boxes. I tried ordering by number of corners (thinking it wanted two (line), three (triangle), four (square), and then circle, but that was no good. Then I tried separating some into the same boxes or on opposite sides, etc.

All the puzzles are different, which keeps things interesting, though some form of hint, even if just subtly implemented, may be in order at least after the player is stuck for a long time.

I liked the grungy effect and the sharp colors, though I can see how it may get annoying over time.

Bonus points for it being a game that's about something. The game it clearly supposed to depict a brainwashing tool for an "ideal citizen" in a 1984-style dystopic setting, or so my interpretation was, anyway. Teaching you to be a well-ordered, behaving citizen. It was well implemented in the gameplay.

Overall, very good!

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

Dude, you had me at the title.

Nice mood music and difficult puzzles.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

Nice original puzzle game! A real pleasure to play. I would've toned-down the noise-filter overlay a bit.

I really loved the last set of puzzles. I think there's a lot more room for experimentation -- truly inspiring!

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Fun, but hard...and I'm not sure I liked the grainy film effect.

notajetski says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:36pm

cool! couldn't get past the green organize level though :\

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:48am

Couldn't get past the "ORGANIZE" level with what seems to be a rainbow colored balls. Nice game and effects, anyway.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]