April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1bit War.

by Mythalore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 1-bit inspired, two player, arcade, space, combat game.
I used Unity3D for development with Zoxel for modelling, Paint.net for the GUI and Music Maker MX Premium for the music. This was my first time using unity for Ludum Dare and infact my first time properly using it since I used it for my first game over a year ago. I think I got the hang of it, but it definitely added a lot of stress to the compo to not know the software that I was using, very well, prior to starting.

Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXfla9DBcYM&feature=youtu.be.

Anyway, try to track down someone else to play with as 1bit War. is two player, it'll be a lot more fun that way. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#505Theme3.58
#569Graphics3.00
#580Audio2.67
#618Humor2.14
#731Fun2.79
#824Mood2.61
#861Overall2.89
#1068Innovation2.34

Comments

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Minimalistic, and a bit eerie! It's a pretty good party game. All in all, well done!

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

It is very confusing when you hit the edge of the screen and reappear at your starting point. Would be much easier to follow if you just stopped or maybe wrapped around to the other edge.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

an other 1-bit game, well done mate :D

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Couldn't get it to run on Linux because it was the Data folder was actually called 1bitwar_Data (or something like that). Used strace and realized it was looking for the wrong folder so I changed its name to "Data" and then it worked.

Simple game, I have to say.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

I don't have anyone to play against at the moment, but I can see it getting intense. Nice job.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Very fun ! Good job ;)

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Nice! Though A thing that i see in a lot of LD games is a lack of instructions on the controls :P all in all, it's a good representation of minimalism, and i like it :D

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Its a great little 2p shooter. good work!
One bit of feedback, it's hard to play on a laptop with no separate number pad on the keyboard. great stuff tho :)

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Good playable game.

The bunch of simultaneous keypresses could cause issue with cheap keyboards NKRO (like my lappy's one).

galman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Great idea! Minimalistic, I will try to play it with friends later :)

Sayaer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Thoroughly enjoyed this one! Classic style game-play with 2 players on one keyboard. Didn't run into any issues, just wish i could get my wife to play too.

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice game- good idea. It is a minimalistic game.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03am

Nice retro aesthetic! Had to play on my own as I have no friends... ;______;

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Minimalistic for sure hehe, i didn't have nobody to play , i like the game but i think is very simple, you can do more

itsZN says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Good, but why does going off the side return you to spawn?

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:51am

I have neither any friends nor a numpad, but it looks cool :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]