April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bridge Crosser

by zkenshin - Jam Entry

*Special Note* Be advised that after all the positive feedback we have received, we will continue work on this game to create a full version. It will be filled with extra levels and content. We have over 15 levels planned and designed as of now.

Please follow us on twitter @ElementalZealGS if you are interested in knowing when the full game is released.


Introducing Bridge Crosser!

Why did the chicken cross the bridge?
Why not.

For 26th Ludum Dare's theme of minimalism, we knew many people would go with simple graphics and things of that nature, so we decided on sticking with a simple objective instead. You are Minimus the Chicken, and you must cross a bridge.

This was our first time using Unity for a competition, and we had a blast. We used Sculptris to make our models, Soundation and Audacity for audio, and paint.NET for screenshots and other 2D work.

We are a team of two, one programmer, and one artist, with other roles overlapping.

Link to Trailer: http://youtu.be/4_CVEe8Wx4s

*Notes*
- Mac Version now available. Be warned it ran a fair bit slower on our test machine running OS/X.
- Linux Version also now available. Be warned it also ran a fair bit slower on our test machine running Linux.
- You will need a decently good computer to run this game. PHYSICS.


Controls:
- WASD/Arrow Keys to move
- Mouse to move camera
- Space to jump

We really hope you enjoy playing our game. Good luck as always to everyone else in the competition! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Humor(Jam)3.01
#112Fun(Jam)3.36
#120Innovation(Jam)3.44
#157Audio(Jam)3.31
#161Overall(Jam)3.42
#196Mood(Jam)3.18
#219Graphics(Jam)3.41
#334Theme(Jam)3.12

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21am

Haha.. awesome! ^^

phnxphire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

That was pretty nice. I found myself excited while trying to cross.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Funny game :D

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26pm

That was pretty fun. It'd be nice if the chicken had some kind of shadow so you could see where it'd land.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

cool concept, I can really the minimalism in it! I was a bit annoyed that the mouse rotates the camera tho.

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

This is pretty nice. The music is interesting and I have never played a similar game. I could not cross the first bridge with the snow, I guess it is supposed to be hard.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Ha, this is a great idea. There is a lot of fun in going through all the different variations.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Fun! Would love to see more levels and for the camera on the mouse to be disabled :) I accidentally hit my mouse while playing and the camera freaked for a bit.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Charming game, left me wishing there were more levels!

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

This game is pretty cool. You did a good job :)

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

This was a very fun game. I didn't think I was going to get past that ice level! Good work!

porglezomp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

That was hilarious, really enjoyed it.

stromchin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:23am

Very nice overall. I love games that use physics a lot.

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Your website was down when I wanted to play :/

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:27pm

You've taken a single, simple concept (why did the chicken cross the bridge? ;D) and managed to throw in enough variation to keep the game fun and interesting! Great use of physics! :D Good job!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great one! Cool concept, truly minimal!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Strange one... Somehow relaxing and undefinable.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Absolutely loved it. The only complaint I have is that it didn't have more content, I started to play through it twice before I remembered the first few levels were kind of boring. But, it would have been super cool if there were a lot of levels and more like the last level. Did I mention I loved it?

Leginar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

Pretty good! I chuckled when I finished the game.

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22am

Pretty awesome! I had a lot of fun. A few weird physics things but fine for a game jam. Good work!

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:46am

i rather liked the physics you had for the bridge pieces, especially for the last levels

May 2, 2013 @ 4:00am

I'll echo what a few have mentioned in that I was hoping it had more levels. What was there was fun, if a bit too easy. Good job!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50am

Nice game. A little bit short though.

Just a thought : even if the physics engine works well, like in many games using physics nowadays, I fail to see what it really adds to the gameplay :)

Anyway, well done :)

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:56pm

The game's size is huge D: Also the performance is veeeery bad. I had ~3 FPS.

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11pm

@kddekadenz Hello, we're sorry to hear you had such severe framerate issues with our game. If you would like, you could share your computer specs and we could try to see if there is anything we can improve on for future iterations?

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:11pm

That was really fun to play. Good job on the levels.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Hmm, I didn't really enjoy it. The jumping was inconsistent which often kept my jumps from registering. Probably should've been a GetButton instead of a GetButtonDown. Aside from that it's very unoptimized and the graphics look pretty bad. And what were you trying to do with the audio? It's annoying.

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Very good use of physics, the sound changing as I moved the camera was rather annoying though :D

queader says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Nice, very nice! ;)

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Chickenballs! Cool how much variation you could draw out of it! Nicely done.

cmjd says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:05pm

It's a pretty cool game! I loved the music and sounds that played whilst trying to get across the bridge, nice work!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Fun game!

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:23am

Well, at first I thought, "Wow, this is easy." Then the bridge started flying apart and I peed myself a little. Then after I had gotten used to that, angry meteors arrived!

Great job!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:08am

I really liked this game. The controls could use some tweaking, but dang!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:09am

Cool idea to take a minimal concept and flesh it out with some fancy graphics and a bunch of obstacles. The music is pretty catchy too. One minor nitpick is that I would have liked a countdown timer at the beginning of each level instead of seeing the level but being unable to move until it says "Go".

yellowlemming says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:28am

I'm surprised a game about an odd looking chicken crossing a bridge could be so fun

kyyninen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Needs more bridges ASAP

Szedouu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:37pm

awesome game :D best bridge-cross style game :D

Fadobo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:29am

Fun game overall. The jumping is a bit unresponsive some time (maybe it's missing feedback when you are actually touching the ground)

Zener says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:04pm

This game is pretty fun, the mechanics are very clear and the tribal music adds to the mood. Well done!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Funny game. It's really simple and fun. I believe that mouse could be avoided to simplify even more the controls. Congrats anyway!

finefin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:31am

haha! nice game. great audio, graphics and gameplay. good job :)

enzo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:48am

Do you know that scene in action movies (and cartoons) where someone is trying to cross a rope bridge, but then someone cuts it, and then they have to run almost vertically? The final level is pretty much that (except with less success, because of me, haha). Good variations on the theme!

PsenFilip says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Interesting concept and use of physics. I like the music - don't really know why but it sounds interesting to say the least.

Too bad the controls are unresponsive and overall performance is not that good on a relatively modest 2yrs old laptop.

May 12, 2013 @ 4:39am

Simple game but pretty fun and occasionally a little funny too. :D

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I wish I didn't have to wait for the (very low quality) go text to appear every level/death.
Otherwise its a pretty creative idea that I could see being very fun with some polish and a lot more levels.
I made it across in 126 seconds with 6 deaths.

Xanjos says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Probably the best bridge crossing simulator I have ever played. The music created a very nice mood and the physics was pretty cool.

Gremlin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Man, that chicken is hard to control.

May 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nice, but a bit short... and some of it felt random... Not bad, had an african/jungle style vibe to it! :)

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Pretty cool game, I liked how it looked like the same bridge getting worse with time right until the last level.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I love the music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]