April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Annihilation

by Zener - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimal Annihilation is a minimaslistic RTS, the gameplay, the graphics, event the dimensions are at a minimum.

All the actions can be done with the mouse. Select units, collect minerals, build a barracks and start training units to terminate the enemy. It comes with 4 difficulty levels (not very tested, start with easy)

The inspiration has come from many places: 8 bits games like army moves, game over, moon patrol, ... RTSs like Command and Conquer, Dune and Starcraft of course.

It has been developed using flash for the code, Paint Shop Pro for the gfx and Autoracker+Sfxr for the music&effects.

A lot of effort has been put into the game, I hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#32Fun3.89
#42Overall3.95
#115Theme4.07
#126Mood3.56
#163Graphics3.75
#318Audio3.10
#557Humor2.22
#599Innovation3.07

Comments

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09am

Awesome!

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

So much fun! I loved it! Finally an RTS that I can understand! Looks great and plays smoothly. Well done.

evoker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

Fun game.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

When I played the first Starcraft as a teen, I concentrated so hard on macro. You've basically created my teenage years with this game. Well done!

Algerator says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

I love it! ^_^

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Brilliant! This is RTS at its purest: collect resources, build units, kill everything that moves....PROFIT!

Both sound and graphics are detailed and nice, and the black and white look adds to the mood.

This is contradictory with the theme but...are you planning to expand on it? Unit queues and the ability to cancel a building's construction would be a nice addition 0:-D

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Thanks! I plan to expand it sometime in the future. I have many ideas already ^^

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

A few years ago there was a video of "Starcraft 2d";

http://vimeo.com/11759670

I'm so glad that someone finally took a shot at making a small game that is along the lines of this video!

Great job!

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Really liked it. Good amount of challenge and fun mechanics.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I liked it! The graphics are cool and it is quite fun, although it is a short game.

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

VERY VERY good. The minimal 8 bit style really works. Graphically perfect.
And like FenrisWolf mentioned, very easy to understand with a simple and clear GUI (a big contrast with my game). Mouseover and click.
I played on easy which is a good way to see what the game is.
Good good good.
The only thing is; after doing some Ludum Dares I'm not to keen on Autotracker anymore. The melodies all start to sound the same.

miharbi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Really loved the idea behind the game and after playing it, really loved the game itself. It was simple, fun and really captured the decision-making needed for an rts in a very simplified form. Also really love the graphics.

Ysty says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Nice. Very easy to understand and well built.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

The is really really impressive!!
Simple yet brilliant!
Good job :p

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Solid RTS! A genre that is the most difficult to develop and you pulled it off in 2 days! I love the art, the units are very distinguishable, nice!

This sort of RTS works great on mobile! You can probably add the other features back in: like queue, priority attack, etc.

As a starcraft player, siege tank is imba!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Marvellous! Please, make a full featured game of this gem.

Blizzil says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very fun to play! Graphics are incredible, almost every important information is delivered with only black and white.

Impressive job!

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:20am

Nice minimization of Starcraft!

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very fun, enjoyed a bit of a simplified RTS. Once in a while a drone of mine would seem to stop mining and stand just past the mining area and I would have to click on him and back onto the minerals, but only a small nuisance. Well done. :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I really like the pixel graphics. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

naufr4g0 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:12am

Some time ago I saw a video of a hypothetical version of starcraft 2d, this game seems to be ispired from that video.
That's a good thing for me, cause I love that fake game! :D
I really enjoyed it and I love graphics and gameplay.
It deserves a better music anyway. :)

Alink says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Excellent. Very good music and nice arts.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:52am

Wow! I wasn't expecting an RTS, very well done. Would love to see a full featured one as a mobile app.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Great !

May 16, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cool game, I like it... Music got a bit repetitive after a while, but the game is very nice! Good job!

Colapsydo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice work on this RTS.
Little drones looks familiar.

In response to your post mortem, you can use Right click in flash player since 11.2, you have to target this version or superior and it will work in browser.

geckojsc says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

This is very well made! Simple, polished and with solid controls enemy AI. Maybe there could have been a way to stop the rate of income from growing so easily. I'd love to see the game extended further!

namuol says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:24am

Really captured the essence of the sort of micro strategy minus most of the tactical stuff. Perfect for the theme, and pretty fun, too!

Bonus points for TA reference.

admund says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Awesome!

tcstyle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:49pm

That's a true minimalistic game. Great idea and fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]