April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kitten's Pixel

by MvT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

That pixel art game is my second one, i hope you'll enjoy.

You are controling a kitten, jumping to your mouse's cursor when your are left clicking. He can use a portal to travel across two universe (by clicking in him) after he have take/kill all the potatoes in the universe.

The game ends when you have visit the all two universes.


Thanks for playing, guys. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#180Graphics3.72
#413Humor2.45
#802Mood2.63
#1020Theme3.01
#1057Audio1.42
#1111Overall2.60
#1141Fun2.26
#1142Innovation2.22

Comments

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Couldn't work out how to go through the portal. Finally managed to align kitty with it but clicking the portal or the kitty or jumping straight up had no effect :(

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

I loved the art style, though After collecting 3 potatoes I could not find a second level or a way to enter the tent. No sound either.

MvT says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

I said it in the description, u need to take all the potatoes bags on the first lvl, and kill all the potatoes monsters in the other. :)

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Beautiful game. I was a little confused about what to do at first. Still am a little (Did I win? Is there more content that I just can't find?) but I loved the art, especially in the "blue world". Unique control scheme too!

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

Very cool. Love the style and graphics. Like the character flowing across the pixels. Really wanted sound. Took me a while to figure out to backtrack left. Nice work.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

This was fun to explore around

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

I like the pixel effect, looks pretty neat.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

The beveled pixels and art in general is quite nice. Not sure if there is a clear ending... After I collected everything nothing happened.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Cool aesthetic!

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

My favorite thing about this game is the cow being abducted. And the kitten animaton. Really cute. Begs for some cute mewing sound effects.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

His tail makes me smile :)

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

Very pretty, and very silly. I enjoyed it, but wished there were more to it.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Very pretty. I killed the potato monster. That sunovabitch. (I never did get clued in on what all this potato business meant.)

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Childish pixel art, childish story, I'm back in childhood yay!
Just lack of sound and why this effect on the pixels?

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

Very pretty, but I had trouble controlling the little feline. Good job though!

Ty Taylor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13am

The bouncing cat was so cute!

Nanolotl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:06am

Nice graphics. The margin when the screen was following the cat was a bit narrow. A bit confusing to figure out what to do.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:10am

I was a little confused, but I loved the art! Fun and interesting. Good work!

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:54am

Oh no ! It's too short ! Not a game yet. Too bad !! I really love the graphics and play this cute kitty ! Hope you will finish it, with plenty of worlds to explore ;)

patrickward says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:38am

Wonderfully cute graphics. I love the bouncing kitten animation! There's not a lot of game play, but keep working on it. There's a very cute idea here.

Kiwiboi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Cute game, it really fits the theme with the graphics and controls! :)

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Beautiful art and nice kitty animation.

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Couldn't get through the portal! Looked nice though.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Cool game. Congratz!

Wiering says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:06am

Not sure what to do, nothing happens when I go to the potatoes or the portal, I must be missing something.

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:39am

Terrific art and nice animations. Jumping to the mouse was an interesting concept but could be more precise. Not sure what to do in the game though!

MvT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:50am

I'm not sure if the rules are not clear or if nobody read them. :>

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I liked the pixellated art, and it was fun bounding down the hills. Interesting movement mechanic.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I think the reason people (myself included) are confused is that your rules are "after he have take/kill all the potatoes in the universe" which is confusing to begin with. Then when you play the game you pick up what look like treasure boxes and cat masks and then nothing happens.

The 3-pixel tail wag is cute and your style is great though!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Quite funny probably induced by abducted cows and cute kittens.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:16am

sorry could not figure it out -- good effort

MinionStudios says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Sweet game! The cat animations are hilarious!

May 19, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice game, cute kitten! Sadly, it's not the most challenging of games, and there is no sound... :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]