April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Perfection Achieved

by Misael.K - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." --Antoine de Saint-Exupery

This is a simple point-and-click game (*not a pixel hunt!*), where you will find out how classic artists achieved perfection.

How to play:
Select the objects on screen that are superfluous to the art piece. Remove everything unnecessary from that art piece.

Click "Done" when you think you are ready, or "Reset" if you think you have made a mistake.

Hint: If you get stuck, remember Saint-Exupery and what he said. Also, the "Reset" button is there for a reason! :)


To run in Windows, unzip and execute "PerfectionAchieved.exe".

To run in Linux, install dependencies with
$ sudo apt-get install python python-pygame
and then run "main.py" with python.


Dependencies:
Python 2.7+
Pygame 1.9.1+ / 1.8 (after patch)


Thank you all for playing! First time that I actually finished a Ludum Dare.
If you have any issues let me know! I'll be monitoring this daily.


Notes on the assets used:
All of the external assets used are in the public domain in the US, and so are photographs that are "faithful reproductions of two-dimensional works of art that are in the public domain" (Wikimedia). Images used from Botticelli, Magritte and Munch, and poems from Poe.

As I didn't take into full account the use of external assets, please consider this a Jam entry.


*UPDATE 2013-04-30 01:42 GMT-3*
Fixed Linux port, thanks to munshkr! (some files were not loading because of case-sensitive-ness, I only changed the Linux version filenames)

*UPDATE 2013-05-01 01:04 GMT-3*
Added OS/X port courtesy of Arcana. Thanks a lot!
Also added a lower res version, that runs in a 1024x768 window. No further changes.

*UPDATE 2013-05-12 22:56 GMT-3*
Added a pygame 1.8 compatibility version courtesy of ohsqueezy. Thank you!
Download it here:
http://malditocrc.com.ar/misaelk/ludumdare26/main_pygame1.8.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#75Audio3.67
#252Mood3.27
#372Innovation3.36
#425Humor2.43
#428Theme3.66
#479Overall3.24
#504Graphics3.10
#720Fun2.80

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43am

I liked the music, so relaxing

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Interesting variation on the hidden item game.

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Good job with the integration of pictures :).

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Great Idea, I'm surprised by the originality of games so far. In the end after a lot of searching I couldn't even solve the first painting, though. I'm really bad at searching.

munshkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

This turned out really well! And music is awesome as always :)

BTW it crashes on Linux because of file case sensitivity. You need to rename some media files (or rename them in the code):

media/Done.png -> media/done.png
media/Done_hover.png -> media/done_hover.png
media/Reset.png -> media/reset.png
media/Reset_hover.png -> media/reset_hover.png

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

For all my searching and clicking, I can't seem to make it past the first painting. Oh well, it was fun anyway! It's interesting that it really does force you to look closely at great art. My only complaint is that you didn't think that pipe should stay there. I definitely remember it being in the original...

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Very nice. Good to see another python user too. If you want, you can check out my game, my second entry to LD, which uses Python+PyGame also http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=10594

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

Great minds think alike.

It's a hidden object game, sort of, but it's a clever twist on hidden object games. It's a Surrealist art piece, except that you're removing the surrealism...

Oh, and I beat the last level on the first try without knowing the poem. I think it's to do with the structure of poetry, but it made me feel clever.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21am

Fun and well made game, but I don't think using paintings as graphics follows the compo rules.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Any chance of a resizeable window or smaller resolution? The resolution is too big for my puny monitor and I can't resize it. The DONE button is impossible for me to click, as it is. It seems like an awesome game, but unplayable for me as it is.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Leaving my comment here to come back to this since I can't play it today but I want to get to it tomorrow. I participated as a last-minute decision after hearing about this from you guys this Thursday so I gotta seek you all out.

Misael.K says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for all the comments so far.

@stqn: They are more of a collage made by myself than a simple painting, and I saw some other entries use Mondrian's paintings (minimalism and whatnot). I suppose I could check with someone to see if everything ok, though.

@hissssssssss: If you're willing to get your hands dirty, download the source and change line 24 to
SCREEN_SIZE = (1024, 768)
The game works fine on a lower resolution. Can't go lower that that, or else some backgrounds won't fit.
I'll upload a "small res" Windows and Linux version tomorrow.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

By the way, the game runs fine on Mac OS X. And I used PyGame as well for my entry. I took the liberty of making you a Mac OS X binary. http://bit.ly/PerfectionAchieved_MisaelK

Very interesting game. I think I know classical artwork and Edgar Allen Poe better because of this game. I don't know if this kind of game is common in schools, but I think I appreciate the art more as I'm looking at it - even if I am trying to find something to remove!

Great music. I especially love the distortion and how it grows into something gentle, then creepy, then gentle again.

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:11am

Thank you very much, Arcana, for the Mac OS/X binary! I appreciate it a lot.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16am

Could'nt make it past the first screen!
Still, I like the idea!

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:24am

Simple. And very nice.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:06am

I love the music. It sounds a bit like blade runner sounds sometimes. Can you tell a little about tools and sounds your using ?
Fun to play and I was surprised to succeed the Poe stage with my low level of english !

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:24am

OHC REPRESENT! :D

Thanks to Arcana for porting to OSX. Pro music. I really liked the arps. It has that blurry Misael.K style we all know.

I really like this take on the theme. Also it's so mean that you can click on things that SHOULD be there. It took me a long time to realize that.

Also your feedback on my game was so good and insightful! Next time I am seeking you out to test my game ahead of time.

Congrats on finishing!

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:11am

@Misael.K: The instructions on how to change the resolution, and the low res version, are much appreciated! How nice of you.

You used some of my favourite paintings in this game, and I love the idea of pulling superfluous things out of them. Awesome job.

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05am

seems interesting, i just have problem with the window (on Mac): buttons and notifications appear under the Dock Bar, even if i minimize it. Nice music, anyway, and the quote at the start was a good inspiration ;)

TeamEagle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09am

It was quite unclear to realise you'd have to not click everything off. I was under the impression to just find everything also because you can't 'unclick' what you removed. An idea might have been to just put an alpha on what you clicked so you can enable it again by clicking on it.

:)

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16am

I even opened to base image side-by-side with the game, but still couldn't get past the first one! Well done, anyway. :)

johnfn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Oh and by the way, you should definitely switch this over to a Jam entry instead of Compo because you're using premade assets.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Great job adding stuff that seems like it could belong but is also absurd in some way.

I ran from source, and there were only a few changes that make it compatible with Pygame 1.8.1. I uploaded a patch to http://stor.a-o.in/doc/pygame-1.8.1.patch :D

wrongcoder says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:44am

Very interesting idea. Unfortunately, I couldn't make it past the first painting, and at a certain point it started to feel like a hunt the pixel game. Spot on for theme, great music.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I like it!

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:18am

Clever concept. I'll admit it threw me off at first that not all the clickable objects were meant to be removed - that was a nice touch (and it makes me wonder how the heck you edited "The Birth of Venus" and "The Scream" so skillfully)!

The only problem I have is that the solutions are easy to Google, but that comes with the premise. XD

May 12, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Interesting variation of the hidden object genre. Great music. I got stuck at the poem :(

TheColorMan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:54am

Wait - is the reason I can't get past the first painting because paintings are NEVER perfect? :o

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:33am

Interesting ide :) Fits the theme very well!

Infin8 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:41am

Loved the Audio! Also went at it like a normal hidden object game and got stuck :( . Only the lower res version works on my windows 8 machine

Mach60KAS says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:47am

This was a pretty cool concept, although I fear that using others' art may be breaking the compo rules. Still, well done!

MathiO says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Hey this was very interesting. I like that you need to keep some things instead of just finding everything and removing it. On the first painting I came to a mind-blowing but false realization, it took me a while to solve and so I thought you were implying that nothing is perfect! Not quite, it seems, but I enjoyed it on the whole. Oh and very nice music, quite fitting to the mood.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]