April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

People

by BenW - Jam Entry

Arrow keys or WASD to move. Please make sure you can hear the game since the sound is an important part of it. Also be sure to play through to the end, it's worth it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.36
#6Theme(Jam)4.44
#9Mood(Jam)4.25
#37Overall(Jam)3.86
#47Innovation(Jam)3.80
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#137Humor(Jam)2.76
#174Graphics(Jam)3.63
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

This is truly beautiful. The instruments coming in and out, and the ending are especially good. Way to go!

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

Nice! I don't understand why people are following the player or fleeing, though. I also wished I could press shift to run by the end :). And white hurts.

cardboard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

Very relaxing. I was half expecting the game to end with everyone getting paired up with someone else and there being an odd number of people, meaning you have nobody to make pikmin-like noises and disappear with, but it didn't work out that way :)

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

That was beautiful. ;___;

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Really nice atmospheric game, designed well too. Quickly developed feelings for the characters and the ending made me smile! Nice job!

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Great chatter going on from the people, the footsteps, the music, everything. Everyone needs a black man in their life, apparently.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

Very uplifting.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

It was a happy game in my eyes, though to understand exactly the point took me a small bit of time. It was fun though, and the sound added a whole lot to the experience. How fun it was might be a bit questionable, it definitely did its minimalistic qualities quite nicely, but it rounded itself out with a good mood that made it a rather charming experience.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

;___; this is the nicest game content-wise I have played so far. That was far too cute...

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Unique, simple and beatiful

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Simple, very atmospheric and a nice message to it. work of art :D

KevinLaity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19am

Simple and cute! Couldn't help but see it through to the end

meat_popsicle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

There was a lull in the middle where I didn't perceive it as going to end, but I kept going. Glad I did. :)

robc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30am

Great atmosphere - the way it slowly builds up was quite rewarding.

euske says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24am

This reminded me a bit of a flash game called "Loneliness".

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

That's a great game! I like how the people is interacting each other, maybe it's a little bit repetitive.

Griz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I don't know why other people are joining my group, nor why they are leaving it later. One way or another it was fun.

jackspinoza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:14pm

what a great game, this is what I like. It really effected me, ok so the message is a bit romantic and silly like that but it really worked for me. I'm going to share (the love) with my friends because it is such an optimistic thing. love love, wonderful.

Norgg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

A (somewhat twisted) interpretation:

1: Oh no, everyone hates me, they're all running away.
2: Yay, there are other people like me out there after all.
3: But they're all finding partners... with the people who don't like me and going off to live their lives.
Eventually: All my friends have left to go be with their partners and live in isolation. Guess I better get together with the last person left, even though at first they showed me nothing but scorn. <3

I liked it.

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:26am

Notes:

- Oooh.
- I HAVE A POSSE.
- CHASE THEM DOWN, LADS!
- Wait. Why are they pairing up!? MY POSSE, NOOOoo!
- Stringed instrument kicked in. Synthesized, or real? I cannot tell.
- The echo chamber/churchy effect is nice. Surprising how much that adds to something with such simple visuals.
- Ohh. The grey ones wave their arms to signal.
- Another layer of instrument added. I like it.
- Why are you afraid of me, little grey people? I am here to help! My posse means no harm!
- The sounds these little people make are adorable.
- There are yays all around.
- Another instrument! This excels.
- Aww. None in my posse will pair up with this little grey one. I'm sorry! I blame Ben!
- They all got paired up! WE SAVED THE LITTLE PEOPLE RACE!

Things I would change:

- I would only fix the compression on the title image. This is great otherwise.

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:59pm

This is very cute, and moving, help others to find their soulmate and then finally...

lekochen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

That was poetic. Love it so much.

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:36am

Interesting concept, I wish there was more of a goal in the game though. Like a best time recorder or something. I don't know, anyways, I loved the concept, very cool! :D

BenW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:58am

If it were any other theme than minimalism I probably would have added a few more UI elements like a timer or crowd counter of some sort. As it stands though I kind of like it without any of that since speeding through the game isn't really the point. I'd rather people just enjoy the experience.

DkCub23 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:05am

Very simple, interesting, and addicting! I wasn't sure at first if I was supposed to avoid the light gray people or not, but after I realized what to do, it was a great game. Great music, and adorable ending, too.

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:35am

This game made me think a lot.
Pretty interesting!
Good job :p

madlee says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:38am

this game is deceptively good. The music, the animations, the feels. It all came together really well. Excellent job!

robcozzens says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:11am

That was beautiful!
By far the most meaningful entry I've played... it's like the game version of a good poem.

BenW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:51am

It's funny that you say that because the following Ezra Pound poem was my inspiration for it.

In a Station of the Metro
The apparition of these faces in the crowd;
Petals on a wet, black bough.
— Ezra Pound

Thijsku says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very nice game! I love the concept. The graphics are nice and simple, and the audio is fantastic. One of my favourite entries so far! ;)

Good job.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Truly charming!

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Really really great piece!!!

wzl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:31pm

So adorable. Love every bit of it.
"yey" <3

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:58pm

The game sure fits to the theme.
It is very very relaxing, sounds great. A philosophical and unique experience.

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:51pm

That little people looked so happy, yay!

neurochems says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I've played through a bunch of the entries now, and I keep coming back to this. Great work.

May 4, 2013 @ 6:41am

First I felt like Jesus, then like Hitler, then I just felt love. Yay! <3

KevinZuhn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I am like a rolling thundercloud of stormy love!

rezoner says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Beautiful experience. Lacks of some difficulty but who cares - ambiance and aesthetics of this game rewarded me enough for a patience. Very good sound. Also thanks for your comment. Cheers :)

May 5, 2013 @ 11:57am

Love the rising music :)

SaintKairu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Fantastic. The combination of the music and the simplicity of the game makes this very lovely to play.

kill0u says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Really nice :)

lasergans says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Simply beautiful. Very moody :)

kyyninen says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Simply adorable :')

ahm99 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:18am

I loved this game, this one has to be in the top ten. I played it through twice. In the end, I spent a great deal of time trying to figure what they were talking about XD. Awesome job :)

uberneen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:30pm

This was very relaxing to play. I enjoyed the subtlety of the gameplay and the music. The background voices really cement the atmosphere in the beginning.

May 10, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Cute, and not really hard to complete... :)

Tifu says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:59pm

First few seconds of game: "Well aren't I popular!" *realises mechanic of game "awww no I'm not :("
Nice atmosphere, love the sounds "yay!"

krangGAMES says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:36pm

This was amazing, excellent job :)

SuperDisk says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:42am

Is there any way to win?

TheSheep says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:32pm

I played to the end but nothing special happens, it just restarts. Nice graphics and sound, but very boring.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Very beautiful game , good work :)

May 12, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Extremely poetic concept and adorable design, loved every bit of it.

While the game went on I pictured myself as some sort of a leader who made people hook up with eachother, and feared that there ironically would be noone left for me. :c
Luckily the ending was way better than that, good job! ~

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:01pm

awww very poetic game. and - while choosing kinda the same aesthetics - the complete opposite of my entry ;)
5/5 overall!

Fadobo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:31am

Very cool experience :)

Typedeaf says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:29am

This was a really cute game with very cute animations! ^^

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Really sweet. Took some patience to stick with it until the end. The audio worked really well.

Simon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Very very interesting. I loved it.

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Yay. :3

I love how it starts off not being obvious what you're trying to do, but then it becomes pretty clear once people in your crowd start pairing off with others. Really a sweet little game.

ethankennerly says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:11pm

The lilting cyclical music enchanted me. Finding persons fascinated me! At times I was not sure what the goal or meaning was.

May 18, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Simply adorable!

May 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Extremely good design for a very simple concept, well done!

I enjoyed herding the people who were not ready to be matched up XP

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:42am

Quite a lovely relaxing game that makes me feel fuzzy inside. :)

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:01am

Cute idea :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Great game. Beautiful and poetic. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]