April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Digging For A Potato

by kewry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Survive until you buy the last potato on Earth!

Controls:
Movement - WASD
P - Pause and edit controls

Instructions:
Move around while avoiding to run out of fuel or being destroyed by digging too deep.
Sell minerals on the Green Cross Shop
Use the money to upgrade your hull and fuel tank
Buy that potato!

Notice: Game seems to have terrible performance on Google Chrome due to OpenGL usage, please use another browser instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#277Humor2.69
#432Audio2.91
#470Fun3.08
#674Overall3.06
#713Theme3.38
#816Mood2.62
#844Innovation2.75
#1095Graphics2.30

Comments

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35am

Good job, I feel ashamed. The world needs more games with digging.

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

I ate the only potato in the world... I'm so selfish. :D

Aaants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

That's one pricey potato! Nice work :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I really like digging games like this! Great job, i enjoyed :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Love the idea of mining diamonds to eat potato. Could have done with more signalling that you are low on fuel/hull.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

*ashamed* Economy, upgrades, and mining all in such simply fun package.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Not very good at it, but definitely enjoyed it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Fun game! Potato! :)

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Pretty cool, I haven't played a game like this before. Also love the music

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

interesting game, but it is far from being fun to play. I die without much reason. Moving through previously dug tiles costs as much fuel as digging through a tile. I have no sense of how much my thing is damaged and hence don't know when I'm close to implode or something.

You got an interesting game idea though, and with a few improvements it can easily become a success on kongregate.

PS: sorry if I sound a bit harsh.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Fun concept. With a bit more polish, such as adding more feedback for showing when you have low fuel or damaged hull, it could have been more enjoyable.
The music was a bit repetitive.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Thanks for the feedback and all messages so far! It really helps out.

@ananasblau harsh is good sometimes :D

@Nanolotl I made the music using Otomata then sticking in the pieces together quite near the submission time so it didn't come out so good, also I'm terrible at art/music making so this theme helped quite a lot :D

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04pm

a minimal iDigit! very promising, i would love to see a more refined version of it.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I was unable to read any of the text. Silly linux with web.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Haha, it's very nice for a while!

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Fun digging game. Could not figure out how to get more fuel but who cares I was just keep playing it over and over. Nicely done.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Very nice minimal game, does a lot with a little. I was disappointed there were not more expensive upgrades, I was fully upgraded as soon as I figured out what was going on. Still, nice work!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

liked it, it's addictive :D

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Good game, it kept me retrying to do better

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Very nice, reminds me of Motherload. I didn't get the potato though, it told me I dug too deep even though my hull was fully upgraded. Oh well...

cr4zyt3rry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

really cool!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Agree doesn't work on Chrome. IE seemed ok.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I enjoyed this one very much... a lot of fun, with some more stuff this game could be really awesome...
I died too many times for not noticing the hull damage, maybe an alert sound whenn you're down to 25% or so...
Great job!

TheSheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

The text on all the buttons and in the game is unreadable in the web version, which makes it rather hard to figure it out.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Cool game! I was running in Chrome and the performance was excellent. Would love more feedback for when you're about to die. Keep up the great work.

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14pm

A very fun game, even though it's rather easy to beat. Enjoyed it while it lasted!

(NOTE: Don't you ever make me download Chrome ever again. :p)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Turned out very fun to play :)
Kudos, man!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Nice digging game, I liked it a lot but I was not very good at it :)

jhrrsn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

This game is excellent. It's so therapeutic to play, and well thought out. I left guilty when I ate the last potato and the game was over

plop says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:23am

The lack of warnings made it kind of unreasonably hard (hard in a not-enjoyable way) but it's a pretty good game other than that. The lack of warnings does give an element of planning ahead :P

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:03am

Nice game! The audio was really cool. The game is beaten a bit too quick, but its fun anyway. Good job!

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:18pm

This game is cool, I enjoyed it. That potato may have been expensive but it was worth it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]