April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Russian Blob

by alcazar - Jam Entry

You control a blob that can split itself into smaller blobs traveling across 3 levels.
Use your parts as platforms to travel. Try to avoid dangers.

We choosed to develop our game on a minimalist platform (compared to nowadays' technologies). You can download the sources. If you wish to compile, here are the tools:
- devkitadv (http://devkitadv.sourceforge.net/), compiler
- python, scripts for data conversion.
- tiled (http://www.mapeditor.org/), level editor
- usenti (http://www.coranac.com/projects/usenti/), graphics
- audacity, converting sounds to raw 8bit PCM @32.768kHz files
The code is (very) dirty as we rushed...

HOW TO LAUNCH THE GAME :

Run the emulator and drag'n drop the .gba file on it
(or just use the "File" menu).

Android users : you can download the awesome Tiger GBA : http://www.apps.tigerplay.info/
Linux users : you know how to do it, right?
Mac users : sorry, you'll have to find a GameBoyAdvance emulator for yourself.


HOW TO PLAY :

Directional pad : go left or right.
A: jump
R: split yourself
L: regain your previous form
Select: retry from last checkpoint (if you get stuck)
Start: go back to title screen

Note : you should configure the emulator to bind the keyboard to GBA keypad

And for NERDs, use a Flash card to play on a real GBA !

CREDITS:

Game and Level Design: Ahmed Majdoubi
Sound: Swann Menage
Visuals: Miryam Houali
Code: Marc Gilleron & Alexis Payen de la Garanderie

We're all five students from the French video game school ENJMIN (http://enjmin.fr)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#6Innovation(Jam)4.22
#10Overall(Jam)4.11
#49Audio(Jam)3.83
#55Humor(Jam)3.36
#68Fun(Jam)3.56
#125Graphics(Jam)3.77
#133Mood(Jam)3.41
#184Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

haloflooder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

VERY well made, entertaining gameplay. I'd probably buy a game like this in the stores....if they still sold GBA games xD

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Wow! This ludum dare is bringing impressive games!! Keep it up!

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

Alexis: I wish they still sell (and produce) GBA games... It's my favorite handheld console: the power of a SNES and Megadrive united, what else could we dream of ?

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great! I wish I had a gba to play it on the real thing.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05am

awesome game. 5* innovation for making a gba game. I will definitely check out that source code. ;)

MemphisTen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

feines spiel!

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very cool! Well polished, interesting mechanic, and awesome delivery method :)

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Alexis:
@ilovepixel - we'll make a video of the game on real hardware asap (once we have taken some sleep :)

@Daniel H - you're welcome. However, I warn you we didn't comment much, hardcoded some - ehm many - stuff, and didn't spent to much time on clean code

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Ha, I used to have a gba flashcard! Mad props for making the game for gba!

I love the audio! I had a good laugh for the silly voice-over on every action. Also the music is great.

Great game mechanics too! I enjoy this type of puzzle!

richy486 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

Good stuff, apart from running on gba which is cool, the graphics are nice, though the bottom of the blobs look weird when not touching the ground (any particular reason you chose blobs?) I love the Group, Split, Die sound effects and the mechanics are cool too.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

I got this working via mednafin, and this is fantastic!

I got stuck at this part, unfortunately: http://i.imgur.com/NSLyXpC.png

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

This is fantastic. I mean it. It's not the best in certain aspects. Early fun was great, and new puzzle solving methods were always needed. In the long term, the game lost its fun. I wanted to play it to finish, but I felt like I was working for it. SO MANY LEVELS for a 72 hour game. Still great. 5/5 For sure.

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36am

try splitting yourself mid-air, and use your characters as platforms to have the tiniest stay out of trouble.

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

Everything is just fucking awesome. Excellent mechanics, ridiculously fun audio (tho a bit annoying after the 7635th "JUMP !"), random yet great theme & graphics... GBA. You guys blew my mind.

Jarrett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43am

Awesome game guys :)

When I saw the screenshot I had to play it. The SP is my favorite system!

Only thing I'd say is that a nice end screen would've brought satisfying closure.

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Sound design is genious. The game is awesome too.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Great game! Well done, fun game-play too! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice job guys ! .. GOOD LUCK

ps3master72 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:52am

awesome game!

nurabsal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50am

flashed it and played it on my cart just for you <3

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18am

Really nice guys, great idea to submit a GBA game, keept it up!

vidarn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Great stuff! Interesting game mechanics and really fun level design. I had a blast playing this. The dithering of the sprites were a bit heavy in my opinion, but that's just nitpicking.

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Ahmed: GBA is the best :)
Hope that you enjoyed
Thanks guys for comments
@nuransal: the game is really better on GBA :)

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Wooho!!
A GBA rom!!!
What can I say, you rock!! :D

May 1, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I'd really like to play it, but I can't even download it. Error404. :(

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The server hosting my VM was apparently down.

It seems back now, sorry for the inconvenience.

alcazar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Hetzner (who actually hosts my VM) reported us a DDoS attack.

What I don't get is that you report error 404 when in fact, the server was simply unjoinable and didn't return any error code.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Really nice entry!
The level design is good and the game is fun. Very good take on game mechanics.
I didn't expected the sound effects to be so funny. I had a good laugh when I first died!

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:27pm

The split and group mechanic works very well, and I'm very impressed with the variety of puzzles you managed to come up with using it. Crazy! Really cool that you developed for the GBA, I really wished I had a flash card so I could've played it as it was intended. One thing that was a little frustrating was that the check points felt a little irregular. It was frustrating when you had to redo an old puzzle several times even though you died at one further ahead. Nice graphics and awesome sound effects and music, great job!

alcazar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Ahmed: PsenFilip & Bytegrove , glad that you like it

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:53pm

The idea of a GBA game was very original, like its concept. The sound effects are hilarous! I really enjoyed it :D

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Awesome! Nice job!

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:15pm

After you finish it, the first level just keeps looping. Thank you very much, for making such a great game.

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:12am

GBA game on Ludum Dare it's really awesome!!! Плюс за то что из России :))

palsina says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Not only it's a GBA game, it has a good concept and good level design. Great work!

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Good to see that the gba scene is still active!

bms says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Awesome! maybe you could put some in game hints for extra player friendliness.

Hellequin says ...
May 22, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Awesome game and awesome Concept ! Do you know guys where can i buy a GBA flashcard??? ^.^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]