April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Theory

by Jens Nolte - Jam Entry

If the game crashes with a SharpDX.SharpDXException (probably all ATI Radeon and maybe some NVIDIA Geforce cards) there is a problem with the anti-aliasing. Please try the "no antialiasing"-version. Thank you!

We could not complete the game in time, so there is no goal. Have fun blasting some some ships and asteroids.

Requirements:
DirectX 11
.NET 4.5

Basic keyboard controls:
F5: Fullscreen
Alt+F4: Exit ;)

Keyboard controls:
Rotate: Mouse
Primary fire: Left mouse button
Secondary fire: Right mouse button
Movement: W/S/A/D
Up/Down: Space/C
Roll: Q/E
Boost: Shift

Gamepad controls:
(Xbox 360 Controller-compatible only)
Rotate: Right stick
Primary fire: Right trigger
Secondary fire: Left trigger
Movement: Left stick
Up/Down: DPad up/DPad down
Roll: DPad left/DPad right
Boost: LB or RB

Tips:
- You can double your forward speed by pressing the boost key.
- Always keep moving!

Credits:
@urahziel: Modeling
@jens_n: Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#91Graphics(Jam)3.90
#287Mood(Jam)2.87
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#419Innovation(Jam)2.46
#457Theme(Jam)2.67

Comments

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

I've got DX11 and installed .NET 4.5 but couldn't get get this running (insta-crash). Hope you get a chance to update this with a fix - looks fun!

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54am

Thx for the feedback - I have released Version 1.1, now featuring an exception handler. This won't fix your problem, but should show an error message which might show what is broken.

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Here you go: http://imgur.com/cuCoii8
Hope that helps!

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Hard to debug without access to the machine... I guess you have an ATI graphics card? I have put up a new version without anti-aliasing which might solve the problem, because it was configured for Nvidia-cards.

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Neither version works for me

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Could you pass me the error message?

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Game doesn't run for me :/

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I can't run the game either. Here's the error I get:

http://whilefun.com/img/misc/SpaceTheoryError.jpg

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Very Nice Graphics!
Too bad you didn't get to sound or scoring, i'd love to see something with more 'aim' using these graphics. They have a pretty nice mood to them.

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

@whilefun: You are missing the .NET 4.5 requirement:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653

psychomonster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

soorrryy not running :(

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Love the graphics!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

The controls for this work very well, particularly rolling. The ship models are also very nice.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Can't run either version on windows 7 :(

AA version:
---------------------------
Space Theory: Unhandled domain exception
---------------------------
SharpDX.SharpDXException: HRESULT: [0x80070057], Module: [Unknown], ApiCode: [Unknown/Unknown], Message: The parameter is incorrect.



at SharpDX.Result.CheckError()

at SharpDX.Direct3D11.Device.CreateTexture2D(Texture2DDescription& descRef, DataBox[] initialDataRef, Texture2D texture2DOut)

at qx3d.Renderer.DirectX11.DepthStencil.Rebuild()

at qx3d.Renderer.DirectX11.Factory.CreateDepthStencil(DepthStencilDescription description)

at qx3d.Engine.Viewport..ctor(IRenderer renderer)

at qx3d.Engine.Engine.CreateViewport()

at qx3d.Program.Main(String[] cmdArgs)
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------


Non-AA version:

---------------------------
Space Theory: Unhandled domain exception
---------------------------
System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'System.Threading.Tasks.Task`1<!!0> System.Threading.Tasks.Task.Run(System.Func`1<System.Threading.Tasks.Task`1<!!0>>)'.

at qx3d.LudumDare26.SimpleApplicationHost.Load(IRenderer renderer, String buildFilename)

at qx3d.Program.Main(String[] cmdArgs)
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I get the same error as Joror, also in Windows 7.

zazery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:19pm

No problem running it on Windows 7. Controls are intuitive but feel a little sluggish. It's hard to tell when you hit something or how much health you have left. I like the ship design and the graphic style of using AO and flat shaded low-poly ships.

Jens Nolte says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:09pm

@Joror, @JumbocactuarX27: I have issued a new version (it's still 1.2, I just forgot to include the .exe.config file in the zip file). If that does not help try reinstalling .NET 4.5 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653), you might still have an earlier version (developer preview or similar).

@zazery: We decided to exclude a GUI for extra minimalism, but I agree that ship color is not the best health indicator :D
Also all ship and asteroid hitboxes are spheres (we definitly ran out of time) so most things do not really "hit" each other.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

The flying feels smooth, but sadly the enemies just hang around in space. With flying enemies and a bit more speed this would be brilliant :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Aww man! I really wanted to play this but alas, I am on a Mac.

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice aesthetics but I was missing the game, though. You should definitely put it in somewhere. The feeling is great for both the ship and space. Continue this!

vico87 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice graphics! Some audio (no matter how minimalistic) would make it a lot better.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

It looks beautiful, but I got the same error as Joror.

Jens Nolte says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

@Dietrich Epp: Please try the "no antialiasing"-version, the normal one is broken on ATI cards.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:02am

This looks cool, I'd like to play it but I'm getting the same problem as Joror in Win7 64-bit. I have both pre-reqs installed.

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:18am

Could have used some audio :)

eShredder says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:26am

*Feels bad for having a Radeon GPU*

Anywho!
The no-AA version worked fine and smoothly, up until I flew all the way to the sun and turned around. Rendering all asteroids in one screen had a bit of a hit on my frame rate. Not a lot, it was still very much playable. I don't believe it dropped more than 5-10 fps, ending up on ~50. So some kind of LOD depending on distance to the rocks could be nice.

The controls were smooth and dandy. Being able to "jump" and "crouch" were a nice touch.
Although, the added force on the lasers (going left made them go slightly left) made it really hard to aim.

I really liked the easy going graphics. Nice colours and shapes, all together.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:44am

I really love the graphics, would like to have a crosshair and more missiles :)
Are you going to submit the code soon?

Jens Nolte says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:18pm

@eShredder: Actually small objects are already removed depending on the distance (which gave about a 2x performance boost when viewing the whole scene :D)
Still there is so much room for additional optimization, e.g. hardware instancing would help a lot.

@juaxix: Crosshair is mostly implemented in my dev build and more missiles are already implemented on the T3-Ship - you just cannot upgrade your ship to get it because upgrading is not implemented :p No source code release, sorry.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice work on this! It would be nice to see what you do with more time!

May 5, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Sadly it seems like I can't start it, because I've got a laptop with a Win XP 32-bit. :(

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:42am

The version with anti-aliasing disabled seems to work. Beautiful models, but I just get shot by a bunch of ships. Maybe I manage to take one or two down, but then I have to quit and relaunch the game. It would be nice to be able to keep fighting by picking up health powerups or something. Interesting that there are two clusters of asteroids, it makes the game feel that much bigger.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:27am

Shoot em up goodness!

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I'm getting over 200 fps, but 0 draw calls and nothing seems to be happening. Just a black screen.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]