April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run

by starpixie - Jam Entry

Arrow keys move, Z uses your melee weapon and X shoots.

Run is a exercise of moving towards nothing, shedding your possessions in an attempt to just survive in a ever increasingly hostile world.

by

starpixie - coding
riffft13 - coding, level art and design
teleskye - character art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#341Graphics(Jam)2.94
#354Innovation(Jam)2.71
#417Audio(Jam)2.00
#448Theme(Jam)2.71
#498Overall(Jam)2.47
#521Fun(Jam)2.06
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

onzephyr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07am

Nice mechanic. I like the idea of a player losing their items in order to progress instead of gaining. few of the zombies would bug out and spin in circles otherwise I didn't have any issues during play.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18am

Pretty tiles and interesting mechanic. Sometimes the zombie AI was a little iffy, but it held my interest. Fantastic work!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:25am

I enjoyed this. I started playing the game by fighting the zombies around me but quickly learned, as the title certainly suggests, that running was the best option. Well-designed in that sense. It wasn't very difficult, and a new obstacle or two would have kept my guessing. Great work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18am

Beat it. A health bar would be a welcome addition.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18am

I like the concept of leaving behind stuff. Still, I don't think that is an issue for the player since running away is still the best strategy.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:18am

I felt like the grabby terrain was the true enemy at times, but the game maintained tension and losing items throughout rather than gaining made for an interesting play experience. Might have been nice to have a level with all items before you start discarding stuff. Also very nice tiles!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:28am

Fascinating concept - it deserves to be fleshed out into a full-fledged game.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Interesting :p
I like your concept!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Sadly I can't download your game. :( Seems like the link is broken?

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Same here, it seems the link is broken. :(

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Same here, link is dead. Update that link!

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:17pm

As the others, broken link.

michail says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I like your graphics and concept. Maybe it would be a good idea to use mouse for shooting? Then you could shoot in any direction, not only horizontal/vertical. Also zombies AI could be better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]