April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Efficient Body

by ronsho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use your body to break open red balls. The body parts you don't consistently use disappear/atrophy and die, leaving you only with the body parts you use the most.

This requires the Kinect. It may require downloading of Kinect SDK, so let me know if you have any issues. I think the Zigfu for Unity package compiles everything you need, though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#176Innovation3.64
#294Humor2.67
#548Mood2.89
#717Audio2.43
#923Graphics2.58
#970Theme3.08
#1097Overall2.62
#1141Fun2.26

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47am

I was certainly intrigued, but I couldn't figure out the controls. I never got past the 1st area (which I presume is possible given the screenshots). Missing something?

ronsho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Was the Kinect working?

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I don't have a kinect so I can't play this but wanted to tell you I really love the concept and would like to try it out. Seems really cool.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Can't play (no kinect) but props for doing that!

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

It looks cool and I can't wait to try it! I just have to get around to connecting the Kinect to my PC I guess..

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Hey, great concept! I've already worked with Zigfu + Unity before on my computer, so I'm not a reference to tell if the package. But I can tell it works with Kinect for PC as well... hehe

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

This looks really neat from the video. I don't have a Kinect, so I can't play it.
I like the drawing of the character too. Nice work.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

I love the idea. Sadly the relationship between my connect and my room is poor on a good day when connected to a 360.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

Wasn't able to play, but rated based on the video. Cool idea and great style.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

Interesting...

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30am

I could not fully rate due to not having the requisite hardware/adapter to connect our Kinect to a PC, but I did rate in some categories (eg theme) that I could tell from the video. From watching it and playing similar Kinect games, isn't it a bit odd watching the balls move away from you instead of watching them move toward you?

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

@Spiridios haha yeah, I guess it is. I just decided to start with a mirror image of the player, I guess because it is about the player's body. But it definitely adds to the difficulty, since if the player were deflecting balls coming from the other direction, they'd probably see them coming from farther off. Interesting point!

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

New thing!but a little weird

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

Finally, a game that gives me boobs!

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice art, a bit macabre but fun :D

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:38pm

What the hell is this? A penis? Tits? O.O
+1 for using kinect =)

Rubi Bautista says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:38pm

this is really crazy, but in a good way. I have no kinect but I congratulate you on the concept

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:48am

At first, I was like "Just what IS that thing?". Then, I remembered I have no Kinect. The concept is interesting, but apparently I couldn't rate what I couldn't control. Good luck.

MartianWatts says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:27am

I like the idea, it's weird and was difficult to test it

f7f5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Can't rate it - I don't have Kinetic. But nice to see an original idea!

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This is quite hilarious!

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:32am

Sure wish I had a kinect right now. Thanks for the video. Nice work.

Jesse111 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:42am

I can't fairly give this a star rating, due to not owning a Kinect, but I want to say congratulations on working in an uncommon medium. I hope enough Kinect users give it a try to give you your due!
Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]